jump to navigation

Monday Musings – 03.16.2009 Edition March 16, 2009

Posted by Toy Lady in Musings.
trackback

Photobucket

I love when spring starts and all the snow melts away.  So does Jarly.  😀

It’s such fun to do a mouth-check when we get home from our morning walk to see what he’s trying to sneak into the house. 😯

We’ve instituted a “nothing you pick up on walks is allowed in the house” rule.  So normally, he just drops whatever-it-is on the mat before we come back in.  Unless, of course, it’s something really good.  😉

This week’s “found treasure” was a. . . hacky sack.  And the really sad thing?  He was such a good puppy and dropped it before coming in.  Then, the next time he went out, he snuck it in the house when he came back in.  🙄

Do you know what’s actually inside those things?  Peeps does.   Now.  😆

Photobucket

Fortunately (perhaps!) we ran into another closeout sale when we were shopping this morning.  😆

Photobucket

I think the puppy dog mints should come a little bigger tin, though.  I mean, have you ever heard the phrase “dog breath?”  Where do you suppose it came from?  ❓

Photobucket

My brother came by Sunday afternoon for a few hours, and this time, he brought his new(ish) puppy, a 6-month old shepherd-husky mix.  What a cutie – and so tiny!  She’s got that freaky one-blue-eye-one-brown-eye thing going on, which is kind of neat.  In a, you know, creepy sort of way.  😳

Photobucket

It was such fun watching the two dogs play!  At first, little Dani (short for Danica) was pretty nervous – she’s not used to other people, and certainly not to other, really big dogs.  The whole time the dogs roughhoused all over the living room, Jarly was extremely gentle with her, and the scariest thing that happened was that she got covered with dog slobber.  😆

Photobucket

Photobucket

Meanwhile, it looks like someone is losing her beauty sleep, what with all that yipping and thumping and running around upstairs.

Photobucket

She finally had to come up to the top of the stairs to investigate all the ruckus.  And I don’t think she was any too pleased with the upstairs being infested with dogs, let me tell you.  😯

Actually, I think she was kind of disgusted.  And especially so when she smelled more puppy on me, besides.

Photobucket

So it seems that I’ve managed, over the years, to get Surly Boy mostly trained in most areas.  I mean, the main ones are covered – he uses the big boy potty by himself and ties his own shoes.   rotfl.gif

Photobucket

He even, before he uses something up, knows to write it on the shopping list.  I know, right?  😯

But I don’t think, sometimes, he pays a lot of attention.   Imagine that.   😯

I mean, he does know that we bake bread at least once a week, right?  And that we bake 4 loaves at a time?  And that the freezer in the kitchen – the very freezer that the shopping list is magnetically stuck to – is full of various loaves of sourdough bread, Italian bread, potato bread. . .

Though to be fair, I think he meant store-bought sliced bread.  😉

Photobucket

Photobucket

Aw.  It looks like somebody just had a little too much fun.  🙂

A gorgeous (almost) spring day that just begs for being outside, a good romp or two with Thunder, a couple of decent walks plus a new puppy-buddy to wrestle with.

I guess he just fits right in around here, huh?

Old and busted.  😆

Photobucket

Photobucket

And it’s that time of the week again – time for our weekly menu plan, brought to us courtesy of Organizing Junkie.  Again, in the spirit of Eating Down the Fridge, we’re still working on cleaning out some of the older “stuff” from the freezers.

This week, though, since Laura will be out of town, Menu Plan Monday is being hosted by $5 Dinners, so once you’re through here, be sure to check out some of the other Monday Menus for inspiration!

Monday: Grilling weather!  Yay!  Since we still have something like 8 packages of pork loin chops in the freezer, well, we’ll be grilling some lovely, lovely Honey Dijon pork chops.  Along with that, I think we’re going to oven roast some sweet potatoes, which is our new favorite way to cook sweet potatoes.  We’ll round it out with a green vegetable of some sort – a player to be named later, I guess.  😳

Tuesday: Back in December, I had picked up a couple of veal breasts and stashed them away in the freezer – it’s time to pull one out.  I’m not sure what Peeps is planning for it this time, but I’m sure it will be lovely.  Probably with lemon and white wine, along with some potatoes .  Again, the veggie player will be named later, though we do have some squash from last fall that’s starting to reach the end of its, uh, shelf life.  😀

Wednesday: At last!  Stir fry!  We went to the public market this weekend, and we picked up loads of fresh veggies, all for stir-fry – broccoli, bean sprouts, red peppers, carrots – even though I couldn’t find baby bok choy this week, it’s all good.  I think I’ll use the last package of chicken breasts – it seems like forever since we’ve had chicken!  😯

Thursday: No dinner plans yet for Thursday – my parents are coming in for an RPO concert, so we’ll probably go out for dinner.  Somewhere.  🙄

Friday: As always, Friday night is pizza night.  No specific ideas yet, but I suspect I’m going to have some bean sprouts and red peppers lying around. . . 😉

Saturday: We don’t typically plan meals for weekends, though we really should.  But we really don’t.  But, well, here’s the thing.  We were in the supermarket, and there was one  (only one!) package of boneless short ribs on sale!  I don’t know why, but Tops is the only place we’ve ever seen boneless short ribs, and that’s only once in a while.  And last fall, when we picked up several of the Asian pears that we use for the marinade for Korean Beef, we actually made an extra batch or two of the marinade and froze it – why do you suppose our freezer so full, anyway!  😉

So when we saw the ribs – on sale! – of course we knew it was time for the Korean Barbecue, and since the week is already full, well, Saturday it is.  😀

Photobucket

Comments

1. Mazco - March 16, 2009

Danica? Someone has a crush
http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/features/2008_swimsuit/danica-patrick/

Boneless Short Ribs – C has this amazing recipe for boneless short ribs but we can’t find them anywhere either. It’s a conspiracy.

Toy Lady - March 16, 2009

Actually, they tell me that Danica is some race car guy or something. I don’t know, exactly, but I’m pretty sure it’s not this Danica. 😳

Though that would be pretty funny, given where Jarly’s name came from. 😆

And I don’t mind boning the short ribs – wee little bones make a nice nibble for the puppy, but if someone else is going to do it for me, well, I’d be an idiot not to, right? 😯

2. JustAnotherSAHM - March 16, 2009

Mmm oven roasted sweet potatoes – I truly think that is they only way to cook them.
Enjoy!

Toy Lady - March 16, 2009

Thanks, SAHM, and welcome! I’m already looking forward to dinner tonight, and it’s not even lunchtime. 😳

3. watcat - March 16, 2009

Hi this blog is great I will be recommending it to friends.

Toy Lady - March 17, 2009

Thanks, watcat, and welcome!

4. judy - March 17, 2009

pitter patter my heart beats for Stupor Kitty as always. Really, she is looking better I think. Maybe climbing those stairs is working for her. And as we all know, curiosity “kills” the cat so of course she had to come up and sniff what was going on. Even if she didn’t like what she observed, it got her up the stairs.

I know you will love her up from her ‘aunt’ cause I just love her.

The food as always sounds wonderful and yes, Jarly just looks plum worn out from all the fun. That can happen to all of us.

Have a great week good people.

judy

Toy Lady - March 17, 2009

Judy, S.K. sends you hugs! 😉

One of the main reasons we’ve kept her food and water at the top of the stairs is to “force” her to come up there, at least for that! You’re right – the exercise certainly won’t hurt her. 🙄

You know, that poor tired puppy overslept this morning! I guess it takes a good 24 hours for him to recover. I’m telling you . . . old and busted. 😆

5. Rona - March 17, 2009

Our teen made some delicious and moist Baked Chicken Breast for dinner last night. I love that our family takes turns making dinner.
Tuesday is my day off and I enjoy setting some time aside to visit MPM bloggers.
Thanks for providing some inspiration for future menu plans. Happy St. Patrick’s Day!Enjoy your week.

Toy Lady - March 17, 2009

Hi, Rona, and welcome!

Isn’t it great when our kids get big enough to help? Every now and then, my Surly Boy will make dinner, and it’s just so good to know that he can, you know?

I hope you’re enjoying your day off!

6. Thing #83 – Home for the Holiday « Dark Side of the Fridge - July 8, 2009

[…] brother also brought his dog over – she’s been here before, and she and Jarly had a great, exhausting time playing.  Though I just don’t know.  I […]


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

