jump to navigation

Faith & begorra March 17, 2009

Posted by Toy Lady in Cooking, Food, random stuff.
trackback

‘Tis St. Patrick’s Day, it is.

Tam o’shantersShillelaghs. Shamrocks.

And, of course, the wearin’ o’ the green.

Photobucket

OK, I’m done now.   I’m not really Irish, anyway.  Please don’t try to kiss me.  😳

Well, almost done.    I just can’t resist a little mournful a capella music now and then. . .

All right.  I’m back.  For real this time. 😀

And if you haven’t guessed yet, well, we’ll be talking about corned beef today.

We all love corned beef.  And not just for dinner, either.  Your basic corned beef on rye – hard to beat.

Unless, of course, it’s a reuben sandwich.  Or better yet, my reuben casserole.

Anyway.  St. Patrick’s Day.  Corned beef and cabbage.  Except Peeps doesn’t much care for boiled cabbage, and, while I’m good with it, I don’t hate NOT making the house smell like cabbage, so. . .

Photobucket

Corned beef and potatoes and carrots and not cabbage.

😛

Several months ago, I stumbled on directions for corned beef that looked, well, a little different, but not so much as to be weird.  I mean, it had all the basic players – corned beef, cabbage, potatoes, carrots.  And Guinness.

You know, I drank Guinness once, and I must say, I wasn’t really all that thrilled with it.  Can I say that on St. Patrick’s Day?  😳

I do like Harp, though.  😉

I didn’t exactly hate it.  It was just so filling.  I mean, who would drink Guinness AND eat? 😯

Anyway, this recipe also includes cinnamon, cloves and allspice.

Really?  😯

Hmmmm. . . So we had to try it.

And we loved it. Loved.  It.

And a couple of weeks ago, when we cleaned out the freezer, we also found a corned beef from, um, a couple of years ago. 😳

Don’t worry, it was still cryovac-ed and good as new.  And we knew what to do with it.  No pictures of the cooking process (forgot), but I’ll try to describe it for you – because that’s how much I care.  😀

Rinse the meat and pat dry. Brown it well in Dutch oven, then dump in the beer.  Add water to cover, along with an onion, some garlic, a bay leaf, and the rest of the spices.  Bring to a boil, reduce heat, cover and simmer until done, about 3 hours.  Then toss in the vegetables until they’re done.

How hard is that?  If you need measurements, the official recipe is right here.

Photobucket

So once everything was done, we pulled the beef out of the cooking liquid, placed it on a board, and covered with foil to rest.

It was a fairly small-ish hunk of corned beef.  Just enough for dinner for the three of us and another dinner a couple of days later.

So while the beef was resting, we tried to reduce the cooking liquid, but, unfortunately, I we were either too hungry or too impatient to wait – maybe both – but it just did NOT want to thicken.

Oh well.

Photobucket

That’ s OK, though.  Naked corned beef is best.  Or with mustard, if that’s your inclination.  Or horseradish.  If you really wanted to.  But I prefer my corned beef au naturel.  Or as naturel as corned beef is going to get, anyway.  And I really, really enjoyed the subtlety of the cinnamon, cloves and allspice – you can taste it, but only barely.

Photobucket

Plus, you know, as long as the veggies didn’t get too cold while we were waiting for the sauce that never thickened, there’s always butter to help make the potatoes and carrots happy.  😉


Comments

1. wonker - March 19, 2009

Interesting blog, I’ll try and spread the word.

Toy Lady - March 19, 2009

Thanks, Wonker, and welcome!


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

