jump to navigation

Never Surrender March 20, 2009

Posted by Toy Lady in Family, Home, Information, news, Politics.
trackback

The infamous “lost post” – a little later than planned. . .

The news from Washington just keeps getting better and better, doesn’t it?

Failing banks.

Trillion-dollar bailouts and tripled national deficit.

90% tax rate on contractually obligated corporate bonuses.

Speaking of taxes – tax cheats and lobbyists running the show.

Gitmo detainees being released.

Photobucket

It’s like all around us, from Albany to Washington, the government is simply out of control.  Raising our taxes to spend money on stuff we neither need nor want. . . And THEY represent US?  😯

Photobucket

Uh, thanks.  With a government like this, we won’t need to worry too much about foreign enemies, do we?  🙄

So along comes Glenn Beck and the 9-12 Project.

Photobucket

It’s really quite simple, actually.

We need to go back to the beginning.  The principles – and the values – the country was founded upon.

Nine basic principles (which seem to have gone by the wayside in the past couple of decades):

  1. America is good.
  2. I believe in God and He is the Center of my Life.
  3. I must always try to be a more honest person than I was yesterday.
  4. The family is sacred. My spouse and I are the ultimate authority, not the government.
  5. If you break the law you pay the penalty. Justice is blind and no one is above it.
  6. I have a right to life, liberty and pursuit of happiness, but there is no guarantee of equal results.
  7. I work hard for what I have and I will share it with who I want to. Government cannot force me to be charitable.
  8. It is not un-American for me to disagree with authority or to share my personal opinion.
  9. The government works for me. I do not answer to them, they answer to me.

These are principles that our parents, or at least our grandparents, would never have thought twice about.  It’s just that the way things were – these things just went without saying.

And maybe that’s part of the problem.  Because these basic, core principles were so inherently understood for so long, they just sort of stopped being taught.

Add to the principles a set of values, and we start to remember what made this country great in the first place:

  • Honesty
  • Reverence
  • Hope
  • Thrift
  • Humility
  • Charity
  • Sincerity
  • Moderation
  • Hard Work
  • Courage
  • Personal Responsibility
  • Gratitude

Sound familiar?  This list kind of reminds of of the Boy Scout Law.  😕

A Scout is:

  • Trustworthy,
  • Loyal,
  • Helpful,
  • Friendly,
  • Courteous,
  • Kind,
  • Obedient,
  • Cheerful,
  • Thrifty,
  • Brave,
  • Clean,
  • and Reverent.

OK, it’s not exactly the same, but it’s pretty darn close.  And I, for one, would not object to a few more Eagle Scout-types in the government.  I’m just sayin’.

It all goes back to the Founding Fathers – the beginning of the country.  The United States.  When the country is divided, well, that’s the path to civil war.  To destruction.  When our congress stops representing OUR interests and does little more than abuse power of the sake of its own power, it must be stopped.

We. The. People.

It’s NOT “they the congress.”

We’re not helpless against our government.

The first part of Glenn Beck’s “We Surround Them” special is below, with YouTube links available to the rest of the show.

If you don’t care to watch the entire show, a pretty decent summary can be found here.

Glenn challenges us to think about who we are:

Are you a 9/10 American with your head stuffed into the sand?

Are you a 9/11 American, fearful and immobilized?

Or are you a 9/12 American, strong, united, and plenty intelligent enough to know what you want for your country and to know that we’re headed in the wrong direction to preserve our Constitution and the freedoms sanctified therein?

And if all else fails, well, I guess it’s Pitchfork Time.  😯

Comments

1. Mazco - March 20, 2009

>>90% tax rate on contractually obligated corporate bonuses.

I’m confused. You object to the taxing of the AIG bonuses? Do you want bailout money to be given to people who failed to perform?

But in the sentence immediately before you object to the bailout.

You have me baffled. I guess it must be that I was expecting the usual Friday entry from Peeps. You know, Monday Musings from Toys and Peeps on Friday. And the 13th was last week.

Toy Lady - March 20, 2009

Sorry, Maz, don’t mean to confuse you. 😕

Yes, I objected to the bailouts – uh, how much government taxpayer money was handed over to failing businesses? Of course I object to that.

But, if it’s even possible, yes, I object even more to the government involving itself in a legal contract and singling out a relatively small group of people to retroactively tax into the ground. I object to that a lot. Once the government starts meddling in the affairs of private business and private citizens, it can only continue to get worse.

Pitchforks, I’m tellin’ ya.

And Peeps did the potato thing yesterday, and I copped out Wednesday, so. . . you’re stuck with me today. 😀

2. Mazco - March 20, 2009

You’re still my regular Monday Morning Thing?

Sorry, watched Roadhouse the other day and it kinda stuck in me. (Like them pitchforks)

Toy Lady - March 20, 2009

Monday Morning Thing? Yeah, I guess so.

Unless, you know, the revolution happens or something. . .

3. anne - March 20, 2009

****wild applause!!****

Toy Lady - March 20, 2009

HI, Anne – thank you and welcome!

4. sjbraun - May 19, 2009

Preach it, sister! I agree 100% and am just appalled at what’s going on in Washington. By the time the average Joe realizes it, it’s going to all be a done deal. Just one recent affect for me: my credit card is going to start me a $30 annual fee and lowering the rewards it gives me. This is in response to Obama requiring credit cards to lower the interest rates offered to those having trouble paying their bill. That’s change I can believe it!!! … /sarcasm off.

Toy Lady - May 19, 2009

Ya know, it’s amazing how much the government could “help” us by just leaving us the heck alone. . . wouldn’t that be nice?

BTW, did you hear about the banks trying to give back the TARP money? I guess they’ve found that even if they’re soft, fuzzy handcuffs the government put on their wrists, they’re still handcuffs. . . 🙄


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

