jump to navigation

Monday Musings – 04.13.2009 Edition April 13, 2009

Posted by Toy Lady in Musings, random stuff.
trackback

PhotobucketKitty has her checkup this week .    She does seem to be feeling much better, though.  We’re encouraging her to play with her toys more  – it’s good exercise, you know.  And it’s clear that Miss Tubby Butt can use the exercise!  😯

For some reason, though, she seems to think it’s not dignified to chase a jingly bell around, I guess.  🙄

Photobucket

Photobucket

I got a call last week from my sister – my mother had been in an accident.  We’re still not sure what, exactly, happened, but she was on her way to a doctor’s appointment and suddenly wiped out several guard rails with her minivan.  😯

The only thing she remembers is having someone sticking an oxygen mask on her. . . though the hospital ran a battery of tests, there’s no indication of anything, uh, physical.

Fortunately, the damage, while ugly, was so much less than it could have been. . .

Photobucket

What do you think?

Photobucket

Time to take down the Christmas wreath?  The greenery is actually a little faded.  😳

Photobucket

We spent Easter with the family, and after we got home, we eventually found ourselves a little . . . peckish.  I decided to fix myself a nice peanut butter sandwich – after all, once you pass the age of about 12, how often do you actually enjoy a good PB&J?

Not so much, huh?  And it’s still good, too.  😀

PhotobucketJust ask Mr. Peanut Butter Junkie.  I smeared just a bit of peanut butter on his big nosey nose and had a ball watching him work at licking it off with his ginormous tongue. . .

Sick?  Maybe a little.  But funny?  Absolutely.  😆

He loves it, don’t worry.  And after all, he gets a snout full of peanut butter to enjoy.  😉

Photobucket

Photobucket

And here it is, time for Menu Plan Monday once again!  Does it seem like the weeks are starting to fly by lately?  😯

So anyway, we’re getting used to cooking just for two again, and we do have the occasional leftover.  I guess I’ve come to the realization, though, that there’s no reason to cook food we don’t like. . . so we don’t mind leftovers.   😀

So without further ado, here’s this week’s menu plan.

Monday –  Kitty goes back to the vet at 6:00, so we need something quick and painless – we’ll either eat dinner early, or late.    As it happens, we have one last package of smoked pork in the freezer.  And I made a batch of baked beans over the weekend.  And we picked up several miniature cabbages at the public market, which is perfect for a small bowl of coleslaw.  Dinner Monday is, essentially, a simple matter of heating the pork and simply serving the rest. . . perfect for an evening with an appointment right smack in the middle of dinner!

Tuesday –  We were talking to Surly Boy, and he mentioned an Indian dish that sounded interesting – Chicken Makhani.    While I’ve never had this, anything commonly known as Butter Chicken can’t be bad at all, don’t you think?  😉

Wednesday – The entire week is looking to be stellar for grilling – mostly sunny and temps in the 60’s, so we’ll be breaking out the grill for some Chinese BBQ’ed Pork – the last time we made this, we made extra and shoved it in the freezer.  Yay us!  I also picked up a pound of green beans at the market, and I’ll be sauteeing them to go with this definately Chinese-style dish.

Thursday –  Again, more grilling!  This time we’ll grill a couple of salmon fillets – salmon is good for us! – and I’ll be trying a recipe for Brussels sprouts.  I very much enjoy Brussels sprouts – Peeps not so much.  We’ve got to fix that.  😉

Friday –  Pizza night!  Last week, I enjoyed pineapple and red onion slices on my pizza – I’d never had pineapple on pizza, and, belive it or not, it wasn’t half bad.  Not something I’d want every week, but surprisingly tasty.  Who knew?  😯

For some more interesting and different meal planning ideas, check out Organizing Junkie.

Photobucket

Comments

1. angela - April 13, 2009

sounds like you will be busy and food will be great thanks for recipes

Toy Lady - April 14, 2009

Angela, thanks for stopping by! Be sure to check back – we frequently write about and illustrate various recipes we try! 😀

2. Rona - April 13, 2009

I love Baked Beans!
You have some terrific meals planned for this week.
Happy MPM!

Toy Lady - April 14, 2009

Rona, welcome. 🙂

We love baked beans, too, and homemade is so much better than canned! More work, yes, but that’s why we make LOTS! 😆

3. judy - April 14, 2009

Well here I am…a very happy camper and you know why. I love to see her looking better! Hope all went well with the checkup. Please give Kitty a big love from me.

I know how excited you must be to grill. Sounds like my son in Colorado although he grills all through the winter. He is TOUGH. 🙂

Have a super week. ok?

j

4. Toy Lady - April 14, 2009

Hey, Judy! Yes, Kitty’s looking and feeling much better. The vet said we did a “good job” with her butt. Great. 🙄

What we do need to do, though, is get her some more exercise. The vet suggested that we put her old harness back on and (ahem) walk her around the yard. 😯

Yeah, I’m sure will go over! 😆

5. judy - April 19, 2009

You never know…. she might truly enjoy being OUT. I think I would be after a year in the basement, even with a harness. Oh well, you will do what is BEST. I truly believe that. (Stupor Kitty, e-mail me if you want to talk.) pats and belly rubs, for the CAT not the peeps. 🙂

Toy Lady - April 19, 2009

Hey, Jude!

I actually tried putting her harness back on, and it doesn’t fit anymore. 😳

I wonder if there’s a Richard Simmons for kitties. . . 😉

However, I am NOT giving the kitty a belly rub – I value my skin too much! 😯


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

