jump to navigation

Back in the ranks May 1, 2009

Posted by Peeps in Home, random stuff, Work.
trackback

The ranks of the unemployed, that is.  I was informed last week that the people I worked for are closing their doors.  I know what that feels like.  All too well.

Before I moved to Rochester to be with Toys, I had a steady job.  I’d been there for thirteen years.  Was it a great job?  I’m not sure there is such a thing.  I worked at a law firm.  I was surrounded by lawyers and other assorted idiots.  I put up with a lot.  Or so I thought at the time.  Aside from a very few fun people, it was a job.  But I was somebody.  Only in a very minor way, but I was important.  And, of course, getting to yell at lawyers once in a while is fun.

The job market here in Rochester is not great.  It took a while to find something when I first got here.  And realized how good I had had it.

I got a job doing customer service work.  I cannot begin to describe how horrible this was.  And while customer service work is bad enough, it’s way worse when it’s for a security company.  Deranged, paranoid people calling and wanting things fixed right this instant.

Most people don’t like being yelled at.  I certainly don’t.  But being yelled at on almost an hourly basis is ridiculous.  Particularly when you can’t yell back.  I’m sorry, but I’m from New Jersey.  It’s in my genetic make up to yell back.

Five years of that.  Five.  It’s a wonder I didn’t get an ulcer.  Or end up in jail.  You can’t begin to imagine how awful a place is when it makes you start to miss having lawyers around.

Then came the chance of a lifetime.  Toys and I opened a business.  It was exciting.  And more frightening than I can possibly explain.  And sadly, it didn’t work out.

Our shop was open for about a year and a half.  And then we closed our doors, because we couldn’t afford to stay open any longer.  It was not a good time for us at all.  Toys had kept her job, to keep a roof over our heads.  And I went back to looking.

Last summer, something finally turned up.  One of the ads I responded to on Craig’s List was actually not a scam.  And here I was with a new job.  As a process server.

I was a little hesitant at first.  Process servers are not quite up there with dentists or the IRS, but very few people like them.  Fortunately, I only had to serve people in debt.  They should pretty much know that this is coming.  I didn’t have to deal with serving divorce papers or house foreclosures or anything like that.

I enjoyed this job.  I got to drive around all over the place and see the sights.  Did I meet some unfriendly people?  Sure.  But nothing ever happened.  And I didn’t have to put up with office politics.  Or stupid co-workers.

And now they’ve closed.  I feel bad.  I know what it’s like to have all your dreams shattered.  So, it’s back to looking for a job.  Not one of my favorite things.

If you hear of anything, you’ll let me know, right?

Comments

1. anne - May 1, 2009

Oh, that sux. I’ve never been in that position, but currently we are both self employed, so no workee no payee. Hope you can find something soon. And maybe it’ll be something where people don’t yell at you hourly. 🙂

Peeps - May 4, 2009

Thank you so much. I’m looking hard, but it might come down to dealing with at least some yelling.

Mazco34 - May 4, 2009

Hey, we never called it yelling. It was simply, “Venting.”

Peeps - May 4, 2009

Well, we certainly vented enough. But there were a few times that I distinctly remember yelling. Not that they paid any attention.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

