jump to navigation

Hired! May 15, 2009

Posted by Peeps in Cooking, Food, Home, Rochester, Work.
trackback

A couple weeks ago, Toys and I felt the need to treat ourselves.  We went out to James Brown’s Place for breakfast.  Now, we’ve mentioned the place before.  It’s very hard not to feel a lot better after you’ve eaten there.

Mr. Brown was there and not very busy, so he stopped to chat with us.  He asked where we’d been for so long, so I mentioned that I’d lost my job and was busy looking.  After he’d expressed his regrets for my employment status, his expression changed.

He knew a guy who was looking for help.  And he thought I’d be perfect.  Cool.  So, I gave him my contact information and proceeded to enjoy yet another wonderful breakfast.

A couple days later, the phone rang.  It was Mr. Brown’s friend Bill.  He wanted to see me for an interview.  We set up a time and place.

I arrived on time, dressed for an interview.  We talked for more than an hour, and I was offered a job.  The next day, I accepted it after talking it over with Toys.  I am now a proud employee of The Ravioli Shop.  I am not in one of the stores, being nice to customers.  I’m in the central kitchen preparing things.  Mostly bread.

Now, a few years back, Toys and I had stopped at the location near her office and picked up a few things.  One of the things I remember was the Semolina bread.  It was perfect.  It was incredibly good and didn’t last very long in our home.  And now, this is my responsibility.

It’s a part time job.  I do not have to be there all day.  I do have to arrive at 5:00 AM.  In the morning.  I’ve been getting up early all my life, but never quite that early.  Toys and I are both adjusting, as is the Big Lug.  Although, he’s still mighty confused.  Of course, so am I.

For this week, my boss Bill has been working with me on bread.  Every morning I need to bake the bread for both stores.  I have made more bread in the last few days than I have in my whole life.  Seriously.  However, all of my baking at home has done me some good.  I actually have way more experience than he thought I would.  Cool.

I just have to get used to a larger scale of things.  For instance, we’ve been making pizza at home every Friday for more than a year.  So, I’m not too bad with a pizza peel.  Which is a big help when confronted with a twelve foot long peel to get bread out of the oven.  Lots of loaves at a time.

In addition to bread, I’m helping fill boxes with freshly made ravioli, making fillings, packaging sauce and a host of other things.  In time, I should know how to do everything in their kitchen.

My boss is good person to work for.  He’s always ready to answer a question, and he’s organized beyond belief.  He sets a vigorous pace, and I have to work at it to even try to keep up with him.  Which is probably why my consumption of Tylenol is up.

So, I’m back in the food business again.  I suppose it was inevitable.  I played in the bakery that mom worked in when I was small.  Toys and I had our shop.  And now I’m making bread.  Lots and lots of bread.  Too bad I’m too tired to eat any of it.

Comments

1. Mazco34 - May 15, 2009

Hired!

So, now you’re swinging on the porch all day swatting at imaginary elves?

Just one more thing: He bought the flippin’ car!

Peeps - May 15, 2009

I’m too tired to swat much of anything right now.

2. Becky - May 23, 2009

Congrats on the new job! Mmmm, semolina bread!

Peeps - May 26, 2009

It’s mighty good semolina bread, too. And I make way better baguettes than someone we know.

3. Monday Musings on Tuesday – 05.26.2009 Edition « Dark Side of the Fridge - May 26, 2009

[…] Peeps’s new schedule, the dog and I have been taking our morning walk earlier than we used to.  Now one thing you need […]

4. Hired, part 2 « Dark Side of the Fridge - June 12, 2009

[…] been working for The Ravioli Shop for a little over a month now.  As I mentioned before, it’s a very tiring job.  Even with going to bed early, I still spend most of my time […]

5. Thing #83 – Home for the Holiday « Dark Side of the Fridge - July 8, 2009

[…] As you’ll recall, Peeps started his new job back in May.  So then Memorial Day rolled around, 4AM was our new regular getting-up time, and, […]


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

