jump to navigation

Monday Musings – 05.18.2009 May 18, 2009

Posted by Toy Lady in Cooking, Food, Musings, random stuff.
trackback

Have I mentioned lately that the kitty cherishes her “me time”?  😯Photobucket

She just really doesn’t like being interrupted during her dinner hour, that’s all.  😉

Peeps seems to think this is more her style. . .

Photobucket

PhotobucketPhotobucketAnyway.  We found some fresh – local – asparagus at the market last weekend.  I would have to say that my all-time favorite way to prepare fresh asparagus would be to toss it with a little oil, garlic, salt and pepper, then grill it.  Dude.  This is so wonderful!  😀

And so much more flavor than simply steaming it . . . I’m just saying.

PhotobucketPhotobucketSpeaking of flavor.  😯

If that’s what you’re looking for, um, you probably don’t want to try these.  😯

Oh sure, in theory, they sound great – bagels made with cream cheese actually baked inside them.  Where’s the bad, right? PhotobucketWell, I’m not sure where exactly the bad is; I just know it’s there.  You simply canNOT place a frozen bakery product in the toaster, push the lever down, and expect a pre-cream-cheesed bagel to pop out without paying a price.

A very heavy price, actually.  😯

This is NOT a real bagel, and I have my doubts as to whether it’s real cream cheese, to tell the truth.

I’m just saying. . .

Photobucket

So you may recall that Friday night is pizza night, which is not just good for us; it’s good for the puppster too.  😆

While the pizza is baking, we fill a Kong toy with kibble, treats, and we seal it off with some soft cheese for him to have to work his way through. . .

Photobucket

We get to enjoy our pizza in peace . . . while the dog has some fun working his big old slimy tongue into all the nooks and crannies of his toy . . .

Photobucket

Photobucket

So.  This weekend was the first time in probably a decade that I’ve gone to the public market by myself – without Peeps’s voice of moderation.

He was working.  😉

PhotobucketAnd even though it wasn’t our “normal”   market weekend, I wanted to be sure to score some tomatoes the specific tomatoes I wanted before they were snapped up by other people.  😯

Oh yeah.  It’s a cold, cruel world out there, and she who hesitates is lost.

So.  I ended up with a half dozen of my beloved JetStar tomatoes, along with a half dozen San Marzano tomatoes, along with a half dozen each of two different varieties of basil.

Can I help it everything is sold in six-packs?  😯

Oh, and a few flowers, too.  😳

Photobucket

Our neighbors, the Harley Family, have a new member of their family.

Photobucket

His name is Tito. He’s a wee little chihuaha – the  most ridiculous – yet the cutest little thing.

He’s quite brave, but, ultimately, very tiny.

Though he also gets on quite nicely with Thunder the Rottweiler.

So far, Jarly’s just not quite sure what to think. . . is it a kitty?  A squirrel?  What?

However, I can’t help suspecting that  this isn’t the first chihuaha named Tito. . .


Photobucket

Speaking of ridiculous.  😆

Did I mention my trip to the market for tomatoes this weekend?

Photobucket

Yeah, well, I was leaving with  my tomato and basil plants, plus a couple of random flowers, all safely nestled in my market basket, when I saw . . . this.  😯

Full stop.

WHAT is THAT?

At that early hour, it looked like fuzzy little chili peppers, hanging from a basket.  😯

The lady at the stall called them “chenille” – but it didn’t matter.  I needed this plant.  😆

Photobucket

Remember Rod Blagojavich?  Yeah, well, it seems that he’s (ahem) bleep’n golden.  🙄

OK, just seriously?

PhotobucketPhotobucket

And here we are, rolling up on another week!   Last week’s rhubarb chili was . . . surprisingly tasty, and cold sesame noodles that we’d planned for Tuesday didn’t actually get made until Saturday, and they were still wonderful!   Here’s hoping this week is as tasty as last week was. . .

Monday – burgers, grilled potato wedges, and salad  – seriously, where’s the bad here?  😉

Tuesday – We picked up some more ramps at the market (they’re not going to last long!), and, since it’s supposed to rain that day, we’ll try doing something with some fresh pasta, ramps, Italian sausage – I guess we’ll see how this turns out.  😯

Wednesday – Grilling weather!  I’ve got some chicken breasts marinating in a lemonade-thyme marinade (really!), and, with it, we’re going to grill some romaine (which is definitely much tastier than it sounds!) and try some whole wheat Israeli couscous – this should be interesting, huh?  😉

Thursday – The forecast is for EVEN BETTER grilling weather, and Peeps hopes plans to be home from work early enough to throw some spareribs on the smoker.  Yum!  To go with the ribs, we’ll have some potato salad (and not just your regular old potato salad, either – my mother’s “recipe” – and I use that term loosely!) and we’ll cook up some beet greens, too, that I picked up at the market in between buying ridiculous amounts of basil plants and tomato plants. . . they were gorgeous, and local, and I couldn’t resist . . .

Friday – Friday is, as always, pizza (and Kong toy) night!  We’ve got nothing specific in mind, though there will, more than likely, be some Italian sausage left from Tuesday’s pasta dish, which will come in handy on pizza.   😉

Be sure to visit the Organizing Junkie for more of this week’s menu plan ideas!

Photobucket

Comments

1. judy - May 18, 2009

Hugs from your #1 out of state fan. 🙂 PUUUUUUURRRRRR

grandma judy

2. Toy Lady - May 19, 2009

Hey, Jude! It’s good to see you – and Kitty sends her love, too. And maybe even a face full of shedding fur. . . it’s that time of year. 🙄

3. sjbraun - May 19, 2009

Totally agree with you on the Bagelfuls … I bought a box because I had a coupon and they were on sale, but even then I tasted 1 with my kids and passed the rest on to my mom. None of us liked them 😦
Oooh, and the sandwich you’re making one post up – divine!!

Toy Lady - May 19, 2009

Thanks, sj. A bit of a step up from the bagel-thingies, huh? 😉

I bought them the same way – coupon AND on sale . . . and I ended up feeding them to my brother – he’d missed lunch and was STARVING. 😆


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

