jump to navigation

Monday Musings – 06.08.2009 June 8, 2009

Posted by Toy Lady in Musings, random stuff.
trackback

Poor Peeps.  He’s really not been feeling well lately.  Maybe he’s got swine flu. 😯

But probably not.  😉

One thing we do know, though – it’s probably not lupus.  😆

Photobucket

Have I mentioned the herb garden lately?  It’s growing like gangbusters!  😆

PhotobucketMost of the garden is perennial and has come back this year – the only things we actually needed to plant were rosemary (unfortunately not perennial in this part of the world) and basil.

We also added some thyme and marjoram this year – and this point, there seems to be a battle among the oregano, the chives, and the tarragon for supremacy!  😉

Photobucket

Photobucket

Remember last weeks just-barely-sprouted green beans?

Yeah, they’re coming along quite nicely, thankyouvery much.  😉

What I love about bush beans is how FAST they are – we planted them two weeks ago, and a week later, they were sprouting, and just one more week, and they’re actual, honest-go-goodness plants.

Of course, in a month, I’ll probably be writing “what was I thinking planting all these stupid green beans.”  😯

Photobucket

Grape tomatoes are starting to blossom, too.

Photobucket

Normally, this early, I’d pinch the blossoms, but these tomatoes were a little more mature than tomatoes usually are when I get them.

Photobucket

We just heard about this new animated show on ABC and thought maybe we’d check it out this week.  I’m not sure, though, whether it will be worth the time – it strikes me as kind of funny, but it’s written by the same people who brought us Beavis & Butthead and King of the Hill – neither of which we ever cared for.  But we’ll see.  😀

Photobucket

Photobucket

Since Peeps is working on Saturday mornings now, I’ve been going to the public market by myself.  While it may seem like the perfect day – to be able to buy any and all veggies or flowers without any restraints, but it’s less fun than you might think to go alone.  😥

Last time I went some annual flowers to put in a strawberry pot – these little white guys are so cute!  😀

Photobucket

PhotobucketThis week, I found some Jarly Johnny-jump-ups at the market – they were 3 for $5!  Somehow, we have one plant growing, essentially, wild next to the driveway.  I bought three different ones – in different colors – that I planted next to the garage.  Eventually, I’m going to have a nice little flower bed.  Really!  😉

Photobucket

PhotobucketOur neighbor is a landscaper.  Every year, on the last weekend in May, she does a big job and always ends up with a bunch of extra flowers.  This year, she had a bunch of impatiens to get rid of, so . . . I’ve always liked this flower.  I guess it’s because the name kind of reminds me of . . . me.  😀

Photobucket

So.  Kitty decided she was going to try to make a break for it this morning.  😯

She slithered out the back door, and I was worried she had run away.  😥

However, a couple of hours later, there she was, at the dining room door, looking to be let in.  It’s all good.  🙂

Photobucket

Photobucket

And here it is, another week starting!  Last week’s Korean Beef was, as always, fabulous, and the Margarita Shrimp was a nice change, as well.  I’ll tell you all about that later in the week.  I do love grilling season!  😆

Alas, the weather forecast this week doesn’t look quite as friendly as last week’s – so we’ll be taking the opportunity to get some more stuff out of the freezer!

Monday – Last fall, we roasted a couple of pork shoulders and, since there are just the two of us, we were able to shove a bunch of it in foil tins in the freezer.  This is our last one – so in the fall, we’ll be ready to roast some more!  I also had one pan of chestnut dressing in the freezer that should go nicely with the pork, don’t you think?  😀

Tuesday – My brother may or may not be here again for dinner Tuesday (he’s kind of hard to pin down sometimes), so we thought we’d do a pan of manicotti, using America’s Test Kitchen’s technique, which is SO SIMPLE!  However, much as I love ATK, I’ll be using my own filling, which I’ll tell you all about next week.

WednesdayTuscan grilled chicken – we found this recipe for grilled chicken, sausage and sage a while back, and we’ve been tweeking it just a bit here and there – we just use chunks of chicken breast – yes, I know, I’ve got thighs in the freezer! – and Peeps does just enough infused oil for the dish.  I’m not sure how long homemade infused oil is safe, and the last thing either of us needs is acquaintance with botulism!  😯

Thursday – We have tickets to see the “encore performance” of Glenn Beck‘s comedy tour, so we’ll find a nice quiet restaurant for dinner first.  He’d just better be good – our current bedtime is just about the time the show starts.  🙄

Friday – Pizza night!  Or maybe, if there’s enough filling left from Tuesday’s manicotti, we may just have Calzone night instead.  😉

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Comments

1. judy - June 10, 2009

I cannot believe that Stupor Kitty actually went out in the world alone for two hours and then came home. On her own, in one piece and wanted in where the dog lives. Has she finally gone round the bend? I for one am glad she came back. I would not want to read: Kitty gone forever yet. 😦

Nice musings and the growing looks great. I already had 3 flowers on my one tomato plant in the pot. I nearly cried. ha ha

Have a great week and I hope Peeps is feeling better soon.

judy

Toy Lady - June 10, 2009

Hi, Jude!

I know, right? She’s been acting like she wants to go out for a while now, but we’ve been restraining her. I never know if she’ll come back!

But she did – so maybe things will start to get a little more normal over the coming months – she can get some fresh air and exercise, and start to feel a little more confident. . . keep your fingers crossed!


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

