jump to navigation

Hired, part 2 June 12, 2009

Posted by Peeps in Work.
trackback

When I was a small child, my mother worked in a bakery that belonged to a family friend.  A really good bakery.

As an aside, every child should have a mother who works in a bakery.

Anyway, seeing as it was owned by friends, we would go over to the owner’s house from time to time.  Mr. Marker, the owner and head baker, was usually to be found sitting in a chair looking very tired and somewhat grumpy.  At the time, I thought it was my being around that caused this.  I knew even then that some people didn’t care for children.  I know better now.

I’ve been working for The Ravioli Shop for a little over a month now.  As I mentioned before, it’s a very tiring job.  Even with going to bed early, I still spend most of my time feeling as though I’m short on sleep.  I know Toys is suffering, too.

Probably the hardest part to get used to is the pace.  In pretty much every job I’ve ever had, there was some slack time.  Time to go get some coffee, chat with a co-worker for a bit, see if there was anything left from the lunch in the conference room.  That sort of thing.  Not here.

Bill, my boss, sets an incredible pace.  He is always doing something.  It’s a little disturbing.  Trying to keep up with him might just kill me.  Seriously.

He’s taught me a lot about bread and why he has me do things in a certain way.  He’s probably forgotten more about bread than I’ll ever know.  Although, I must admit that when I first started I used the word autolyse while talking to him.  The look on his face was kind of fun.

I’ve also learned a few other things since I’ve been there.  For instance; flour, like sand, gets just about anywhere.  And while it’s not quite as uncomfortable, it is an irritant.  Count on it.

Toys pointed out the other day that you can in fact have too much ravioli in the house.  A month ago, I would never have thought that to be possible.

I’ve discovered that’s it’s very easy to not notice things when you’re incredibly busy.  Now, I try to be an observant person.  I like to know what’s going on around me.  It’s a habit that’s saved me a lot of grief over the years.  And it makes me a little uncomfortable that I don’t seem to have enough time for it while I’m working.

I’ve come to realize that ravioli in little boxes doesn’t appear to be much, but when you have to shift, oh say, 150 of them, it adds up.  And gets a little heavy.

On the whole, though, it’s not bad.  Yes, I spend a lot of time being tired.  But I pretty much did that anyway.  It’s already gotten much easier than when I first started.  With a bit of luck, it’ll get easier still.  I hope so, anyway.

