jump to navigation

Monday Musings – 06.15.2009 June 15, 2009

Posted by Toy Lady in Musings.
trackback

I’m finally starting to feel more . . . human again.   Not 100 percent yet, but certainly 75.  😉

Partially, I’m sure, due to the fact that I finally got to the drug store and got some real Sudafed – you know, the stuff they hide now because of all the meth people.  Stupid druggie jerks – gotta go and ruin it for everyone.  🙄

Photobucket

Photobucket

Finally!  The peas are starting to blossom!  It seems like I’ve been waiting FOREVER for them to come into season!  😆

Before we know it, we’ll be shelling peas and trying to keep from eating them all out of hand!  As far as I’m concerned, there are very few vegetables that can match fresh sweet peas for, well, just for their sheer wonderfulness.  😉

Photobucket

Good ole’ Jarly.  He does love our morning walks, especially now, with meteorological summer here.  He especially likes bikes.  Little kids on bikes and big kids on big bikes.

I don’t want a pickle
Just want to chase a motorcycle.

Oh, that’s not the right lyrics?  He thought it was.  😳

Photobucket

OK, I have just about had it with that cat.  No more feeling sorry for her.    She’s a troublemaker.  An instigator.    A BITCH KITTY.  😯

The other morning, I was getting my lunch together, and up-my-butt puppy was in the kitchen right next to me, when he moseyed over to the basement door and just kind of looked.

HE DID NOT SAY A WORD.

I told him to “back” and he looked away – at me.  Good boy!  I so hate that  “Bark!  Bark! Scramble! Growl!  Hiss!”  first thing in the morning.  It should be noted that AT NO TIME did he bark, or even stick his furry nose through any kitty doors.

So I walked over and got in front of him (just in case) and “encouraged” him to move OUT of the kitchen– and while I was shuffling him away from the door, THAT CAT, in a COMPLETELY UNPROVOKED attack, reached her arm through the kitty door and took a swipe at the only thing she could reach – MY FOOT.

She actually drew blood.  Again.  🙄

Poor Kitty my . . . Aunt Fanny.  😉

Photobucket

Photobucket

Speaking of  the up-my-butt puppy – when I’m not handy, he’s more than happy to be up-Peeps’s-butt puppy. instead  🙄

It’s ever so much fun for him to work on pizza while stepping OVER the giant furry island.  😉

Photobucket

Photobucket

And really, as far as that goes, when HE’S not hanging around underfoot, we’ve started leaving the basement door open so his sister the kitty can visit, and she hangs around underfoot too.  🙄

The other day, I’d actually forgotten the basement door was open until he started glancing that way, then looking mighty curious.   😯

WHY can’t they just get along?  😥

Photobucket

PhotobucketJust in case anyone was wondering, we tried freezing a pan of Peep’s Death Potatoes and you’ll be glad to know they froze, thawed, and reheated perfectly.  😀

We all know what this means, right?  Pounds and pounds of potatoes, along with gallons of whipped cream and sticks on top of sticks of butter – and tins and tins of death potatoes in the freezer, needing to be simply thawed and baked.  Terrific.  🙄

Photobucket

PhotobucketSo we were both feeling up to doing some yard work this afternoon – Peeps was working on putting together a grill, and I got my car cleaned out (it was disgusting!), some weeding done, and the tomatoes staked.  Hey, you can’t stake them too soon, you know!

PhotobucketSo anyway, poor Jarly NEEDED to be outside with us, which is fine, but as the afternoon wore on, and he started running out of shade to lie in, he just didn’t want to be where we weren’t.  😦

He really could have gone up on the deck for a drink of water, though – he had a big old dish full of fresh water up there.  🙄

Photobucket

The poor thing.  After a full afternoon in the back yard, when we got back in from our (somewhat abbreviated) walk, he was plain tuckered out.

Photobucket

He went straight upstairs to the bedroom and just crashed out in front of the fan.  After a couple of hours of resting, he was finally ready to come downstairs for dinner.

Photobucket

PhotobucketSo I came across something really nifty the other day – a mezzaluna.  I do have one, but I think it’s more intended to be decorative than anything else.  I’ve never actually used it.  But this one came with a wooden board with a matching indentation, and it was reasonably cheap, so I figured I’d give it a try.  After all, I have a feeling I’m going to be chopping a LOT of herbs this summer.  😯

Photobucket

OK, this thing is awesomely cool!  It’s got two cutting blades, and you just rock it back and forth on the herbs, then scrape the herbs back into the hollow, and rock some more.  😆

I finely minced a pile of parsley, chives and tarragon – together – in about 40 seconds!  I can’t wait until I really get good at this!  😆

Photobucket

Photobucket

Sometimes, I think our Jarly boy gets bored with his kibble, and really, who can blame him?

We keep a bowl of cooked diced carrots in the fridge to perk it up – a scoop of carrots, 10 seconds in the microwave, and he’s usually ready to wolf it down.

I say usually, though, because sometimes the carroty goodness alone doesn’t do the trick – then I bring out the good stuff – a heaping tablespoon of plain, nonfat yogurt!  We never fail to have a clean plate then!  😆

Photobucket

Photobucket

You know, last week, we essentially worked at eating down the freezer AGAIN – trying to use stuff that’s either in the freezer or the fridge, and we did fairly well.  In fact, when we did our weekly shopping, we actually only spent about $10 – and most of that was stuff like milk and the like!  It was certainly nice to have a bunch of pre-made meals last week, so we didn’t have to worry about it when we were sick.  I’d say that the manicotti was definitely a HUGE hit, and we are planning to make that again – and freeze some for later!

Monday – We pulled some boneless pork chops out of the freezer, and I thought I’d try something like this chicken, only not exactly.  We had a bit of the infused oil left  from last week (in the refrigerator, of course!), so I put a splash of that in, along with some salt and pepper and a little chopped rosemary and fresh sage (yes, I used the cool new tool!).  That can marinate for a day or so, and we’ll toss it on the grill and see what happens.

Tuesday – We have some salmon in the freezer, and about half the spice rub from the Pastrami-Style Salmon a couple of weeks ago, so we may as well use that up!  We’ll probably do some sort of potatoes on the grill, and, of course, salad.  😀

Wednesday – Our local supermarket ran boneless chuck steaks on sale a while back ($2 a pound!), so we picked up a few and divided them up with a couple of different marinades before throwing them in the freezer.  All we’ll need to do is thaw and grill – I’ll show you what we did later on.

Thursday – Well, we’ve got the pork, fish, and beef bases covered this week, so we’re gonna have to do some chicken, aren’t we?  :lol: I’ve got an idea brewing in the back of my mind, but I haven’t quite figured it out yet.  Think chicken breasts rolled with fresh spinach (from the garden!) and a little ham . . . browned in a little butter, then finished in a garlicky-sour cream sauce and served with angel hair pasta.  Interesting, or disgusting?  😕

Friday –  As always, pizza night.  Last week’s calzone, using leftover manicotti filling, was quite nice.  This week, though, we’re back to traditional pizza – Peep’s will be covered in lots and lots of lovely melty cheese and piles of pepperoni, and I’ll be doing my best to keep the fat content as low as possible on my own pizza – while keeping it just as delightful!

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Comments

1. Heather Solos - June 15, 2009

Due to the heat, this week’s pizza night is sub night. There is also a trip to the Asian grocery store in my near future. My stepdaughter wants to make spring rolls and I’m not about to squash her interest in cooking.

I’m on the lookout for a stove (Freecycle, habitat store etc) for the garage so I can make stocks in the summer without skyrocketing the AC bill.

Toy Lady - June 15, 2009

Heather, I’ve never made spring rolls, but that’s on my “mental list” of things. . . along with those wonderful steamed dumplings!

Putting a stove in the garage is a great idea! So many of the older houses in my area actually have second kitchens in the basements; unfortunately, not mine. 😕

Mazco34 - June 15, 2009

Heather,
Shame you’re not in NJ.
I have a 1950’s Caloric in my basement taking up space. My wife and I would love to have someone come take it off our hands.

2. Rachel from springpad - June 15, 2009

That all sounds great – we don’t haeve a pizza night in my house, but we did make homemade pizza the other week and it was delicious! And not too bad for you, if you make it the right way… You should check out springpad’s weekly meal planner, it’s a great way to organize all of your menus and recipes (like this one, yum! http://bit.ly/3D6top) and I think you’d really like it.

And definitely check out my meal plan if you’re interested!

Toy Lady - June 15, 2009

Rachel, thanks for stopping by!

My husband enjoys putting together a sourdough crust for pizza night (I’m trying to convince him to blog on it!), and Friday is the evening we pull out the TV trays, fill up the dog’s Kong Toy with lots of heathy doggy yummies, and put our feet up and relax in front of a movie!

And believe it or not, I have checked out the Spingpad website and am intrigued! I haven’t had a chance to fully explore it, though – I’m hoping things will settle down in the next few weeks and I’ll be able to figure out what’s what!

3. Mazco34 - June 15, 2009

Diced carrots for your monster? That’s really neat.

When my dog gets cat-like fussy, I put a few drops of ketchup on his food with a touch of warm water and he gobbles it up.

My wife prefers to make sure that the dog gets his full serving of vegetables. She opens a can a V-8 and puts a little on his food and she has the rest.

Toy Lady - June 15, 2009

Ketchup? Really? I guess I can see that – it’s pretty sweet. But still. 😯

The carrots work nicely for us – it’s kind of like I have to jump-start him or something:?

I give him one carrot, and he eats it, and it’s like, “oh, hey, yeah, I could eat!” Of course we usually cook them in either chicken or beef stock, which doesn’t hurt. 😆

And honestly, even better than carrots is the yogurt. He LOVES a spoonful of plain yogurt (or, in a pinch, cottage cheese) stirred into his kibble.

4. judy - June 18, 2009

I see that Stupor Kitty is not on the top of anyone’s list this week so I will just ask you to scratch her ears and let it go at that. Hopefully next week will be better for everyone.

j

Toy Lady - June 18, 2009

Oh, she’s doing just fine, Jude, fear not!

I’m afraid, though, she’s not too happy with me right now. The vet suggested putting her on a leash and walking her, and we went out to the back yard last night. At least no one saw her in her harness and leash – but she was NOT happy! 😯

judy - June 18, 2009

Now I can truly believe she would not be happy about THAT. I will be looking forward to finding out how that is going as the summer goes along!

j

Toy Lady - June 18, 2009

Yeah, me too. 😕


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

