jump to navigation

Monday Musings – 06.22.2009 June 22, 2009

Posted by Toy Lady in Musings, random stuff.
trackback

Awww. . . look at the cute puppy!  😆

Photobucket

I guess he’s getting tired of having a camera pointed at him.  I finally got a chance to fiddle around a little bit with the new camera Peeps got for my birthday – at least I’ve figured out how to get the pictures onto the computer.  Which, as it turns out, exactly the same as the old camera. . . I didn’t need to load the software after all.  🙄

And I love that Peeps went to a small family-owned business for my gift rather than a mass-market retailer- and that he knew I’d appreciate his doing that. 😀

Photobucket

Meanwhile, the other child is just not happy, I don’t think.  😥

Photobucket

I mean, she always seems to be in a state of general hacked-off-ness – we’re used to that.  🙄

While the dog was upstairs sleeping the other day, she slithered out of her dungeon and decided that maybe she’d like to go outside, which is fine.  A little fresh air will do her good, right?  😉

So the vet suggested, once we could get her harness back on her (which we FINALLY did!), to hook a leash to her and take her out for walks.

Yeah, she just loved that.  😯

(No, that look of disgust was not for my old, worn-out flip flops that I left near the back door.)

Photobucket

Oh, but wait!  The saga continues!  😯

OK, a little backgroundMore recent background, that is.  So.  When Peeps and/or I take the dog for his walk, we’ve been opening the basement door; sometimes we’ll leave a toy in the kitchen or a treat in the dining room . . . just a little something to . . . motivate her and remind her that there is Life After Dog.  🙄

When we get back from The Walk with The Dog, he flops down on the floor, and one of us will shut the door for her, so the dog doesn’t inflict himself on her.  🙄

So.  It’s Saturday morning, and I see Peeps off to work, and Jarly and I head out for our Saturday morning walk, since I have all the time in the world.  We get back, he flops on the floor, and I head for the kitchen to shut the basement door and refresh his water dish.  It’s all good, right?

Uh, not so much.  😯

Suddenly, I hear  something between the “pitter patter of little feet” and the “thundering of hooves” above my head.  And I’m alone in the house.  Except for the dog.  And the cat.

Crap.

Photobucket

So I dashed upstairs to see what was going on.  And what did I find, you ask?

The dog, leaping at the dresser, and the cat, hanging by her claws from the bedroom window screen.

Yup.  I dragged him out, shut the bedroom door, and she holed up in there until Peeps got home.  Then I took the dog outside and he “helped” her downstairs.

This has SO got to stop.  🙄

Photobucket

Photobucket

Sunday morning, we decided, since it’s been  a while, to take the puppster to the beach.  It HAS been a while!

Bright and early, there we were – the sun was just burning off the clouds.  But we still weren’t the first ones at the water, not by a long shot!  Someone else was out enjoying the sunrise in a little motorboat. . .

What a gorgeous morning!  It’s been raining off and on all week, and finally, the clouds started to break. . .

Photobucket

Oh, and for what it’s worth.  IF you’re going to have a screaming fight with your boyfriend at 3AM, please don’t do it in front of my bedroom window.

And certainly, don’t walk BACK and FORTH up and down the street screaming at him to EFFING GO HOME for an HOUR!  😯

Seriously.  Both of you just go home.  And sleep it off.  Please.  Some people actually would like to be asleep at that hour.  🙄

Photobucket

Speaking of shrews.  😆

Photobucket

So we took the dog to the beach, and imagine our surprise when we saw a frickin’ BEAVER swimming around in the tributary near the lake.  There’s been a lot of rain lately, and there there’s a lot water . . . but REALLY?  A BEAVER?  At the LAKE?  😯

Neither of us had ever seen a beaver live and in person.

We halfway expected it to start talking to us.  With a British accent.  😆

Photobucket

You may (or may not) have heard last week’s tragic story of the bear who no longer lives in the city.  You know, two days before that incident, I had actually walked the dog right down that street – it’s about 1/2 a mile from our house.  😯

I’m just glad Yogi didn’t decide to do his midnight tree-climb when we were in the neighborhood.  Poor Jarly barely knows what to make of any bunnies we come across on our walks – a bear would have totally freaked him out.  😯

Photobucket

PhotobucketAnd second, obviously, Rochester needs to work on its wildlife control!  As were were coming home from the beach, we had to pull over and wait for another DEER!  😆

That’s OK, Bambi’s mom, you just take your time crossing the street and nibbling on your grass.  Don’t you worry about the cars and the dogs FREAKING OUT when they see you. 🙄

Photobucket

But really . . . after the morning walk, a trip to the beach, then breakfast . . .

PhotobucketWho’s the tiredest puppy of all?  😆

Photobucket

Photobucket

And with that, we’re at Menu Plan Monday. It seems that we’ve had so much going on this past week, but when I think about it, it’s mostly that I’ve been busy at work.  🙄

We did, however, slap together a chicken-spinach-ham roll thing that was, well, if I can brag a little, pretty NOT HORRIBLE.  😆

I’ll tell you about it later on in the week, and we’ll see what you think . . . OK?  But meanwhile, we have some fun stuff coming up for next week.

Monday – Peeps’s day off, and he’s  been itching  to try his new grill/smoker. . . so we picked up some spare ribs that he’s rubbed and will smoke, along with some fresh beet greens I picked up at the market and maybe some . . . rice?

Tuesday – We were watching America’s Test Kitchen over the weekend, and they did a show on Backyard Steak and Potatoes.  It occurred to us that we have (A) a backyard, (B) flank steak in the freezer, and (C) I had just picked up not one, but two bags of new baby potatoes at the market.  AND it’s supposed to finally quit raining so we can grill . . . YAY!

Wednesday – When we were planning the week’s meals, we were looking for something with chicken.  Peeps and I were both thinking the same thing (isn’t it kind of weird when that happens?) – why not do our grilled tandoori-style chicken? We so love this, along with some basmati rice, and maybe a bit of salad. . . YUM!

Thursday – Last Saturday, we’d planned to try another Cook’s Illustrated recipe, this time for Spanish tortilla – a stovetop dinner with potatoes, eggs, a little chorizo and some scallions . . . along with a lovely bottle of albariño.  Something came up and we weren’t home  for dinner that evening, so we missed out.  😥

However, since it’s supposed to be raining (again!) on Thursday, and we have everything we need, PLUS the wine is still chilling, we’re going to try this dish this week.  I have high hopes . . . I will let you know.  😉

Friday – Pizza night.  Last week’s pizza night involved some leftover grilled chuck steak, a bit of random cheese, and a lot of fresh herbs, and it was DELICIOUS!  I can hardly wait to see how this week’s pizza will end up!  :rofl:

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Comments

1. judy - June 24, 2009

Well, you know who I am going to talk about AGAIN AND AGAIN. I have finally figured out I love her because I relate to her getting OLD. We move more slowly, are resistant to change, hate new noises, are achey all over everyday. Exercise comes slower and food does not have the same appeal. I think if a “stranger” moved into my house my reaction might be the same except I am a ‘HUMAN” AND SHOULD GET PAST IT.

Stupor you are the love of my life and I know your people love you too but they have each other and the DOG and it is hard to figure out where your #1 position went. Kind of like when my kids got a life and didn’t really need me any more either because getting older makes them a little uncomfortable because they don’t know what to expect.

The food as usual is wonderful sounding AND I use the same butter! Isn’t it tasty? Works sounds like Hell for you this week.

Take care and as always thanks for keeping me up to date with my girl.

judy

Toy Lady - June 25, 2009

Hey, Jude!

I guess I need a new rule – no responding until I’ve had at LEAST one cup of coffee. 😕

I dunno know what happened, but it’s gone. 🙄

You know, Minerva Kitty’s not really that old (that’s her real name – Stupor Kitty’s just a nickname) – about 8, I think. And she’s always been a bit of a brat. Back when she was a young kitty (a couple of years old, I guess), we thought maybe she’d like some feline company. My sister-in-law brought over a wee little fuzzy kitten that needed a home, and she BEAT IT UP. 😯

She didn’t actually hurt it – just snarled and hissed and slapped it around, but still.

And she knows can always sleep in the bed with us – no dogs on the furniture!

We’re still being patient with her, though – sooner or later she’ll come around – I’m still hoping, anyway. I don’t necessarily need them to be BFFs, but they should at least be able to be in the same room. Or on the same floor of the house. 🙄

And the dog has evidently decided that it might be a good idea to check the upstairs for kitties when we get home from our morning walks now, but I doubt she’s going to get taken by surprise that way again any was soon! 😆


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

