jump to navigation

Monday Musings – 07.20.2009 July 20, 2009

Posted by Toy Lady in Musings, random stuff.
trackback

So . . . I went to the market again this weekend.  I’m not sure, but I don’t know if I should be allowed to go alone.  😳

I, uh, came home with four bags of stuff.  😳 Photobucket

I did get coffee and lots of potatoes, both of which we needed.  And lemons.  We needed lemons.

I also managed to score , among other things, some nice beets (with greens!) and a quarter bushel of sour cherries!  😀

Now what am I going to do with 8 quarts of sour cherries?  Certainly, some cherry sorbet is in our future, as well as a pie that we’ll probably end up sharing the Harley Family.  Beyond that?  Well, they’ll go in the freezer for now, then, who knows?  😆

Photobucket

Oh yeah.  And asparagus.  Got a couple of bunches of asparagus.

The problem with asparagus is that Peeps is not a big fan – not after the asparagus episode last year.  I mean, I didn’t think 11 pounds of asparagus was really that much . . . but it kind of put him off for a while, I guess.  😥

Photobucket

The other problem with asparagus is that it’s kind of delicate – have you ever noticed that?  And in my excitement over the cherries (yay cherries!), I, um, kind of forgot just how fragile asparagus can be and, uh, sort of mashed most of the tips.  😳

Not to worry though!  Once I got home and saw what a mess I’d made of those spears, I cleaned them all, tossed with some olive oil and a pinch of salt, and roasted the buggers in the oven.  😀

Now I can just freeze it, and we’ll enjoy roasted asparagus at our leisure!  Hmmm . . . and maybe some on pizza. . .

Photobucket

Photobucket

We were doing our normal Sunday morning newspaper reading thing, and I saw a brief article about writing thank you notes, which, as far as I’m concerned, is quickly becoming a lost art.  👿

I mean, seriously, how hard is it?   All the times I sat with Surly Boy after birthdays and Christmases and made him write his thank you notes – it certainly didn’t hurt him!

And now, thanks to the magic of the internet, there are even sample notes!

I’m not sure if you can tell or not, but thank you notes are sort of a pet peeve of mine – or rather, it’s the lack of them that’s the peeve!  I think if someone goes to the trouble to send (or give) me a gift, it’s just T.H.O.R. not to even take 5 minutes to acknowledge it.  Sheesh.

Photobucket

July 20 marks the 40th anniversary of the first moon landing.

Photobucket

Even now, all these years later, all I can really say is “wow.”

Photobucket

Tuesday morning, I’ll be leaving to take Surly Boy to the Re-education Camp Young Pioneers Northlands Job Corps.  It’s a bit of a haul – we’ll be leaving early Tuesday, driving about 6 hours or so (with, of course, appropriate lunch and potty breaks) (he’ll probably be driving – I’ll mostly be holding onto the door handle), and we’ll hopefully arrive in Vermont safe and sound in plenty of time to get him acclimated and maybe grab some dinner before handing my baby over to strangers.  😥

Then, the next morning, I’ll be heading back home alone.  😯

I’m not sure what kind of internet service will be available to me on the road (they do they the internet in Vermont, right?) or if I’ll even bring my laptop.  And I don’t know what kind of shape Peeps will be in after a couple of days alone with the dog and the cat . . . so be warned, posting may be a little spotty this week.  You just never know. . . 😉

The good news is that this place is only an hour or so from the coolest B&B ever, so I do see a nice vacation in our future. . . 😀

Photobucket

Look who decided to enjoy a bit of sunshine this weekend – it’s Urban Jungle Kitty!

Photobucket

Seriously.  With the dog upstairs sleeping most of the day (the slacker!), she felt free to roam the downstairs (and get underfoot) most of the day, until I finally gave in and let her out.

Photobucket

I can’t hear you!

Photobucket

So after making sure the outside was pretty much the way she left it a year or so ago, the kitty did some exploring of the deck (and underneath it), then she just stretched out in a shady patch and enjoyed the nice weather.

Which, if you think about it, is pretty much the way to do it, isn’t it?  🙂

Photobucket

Photobucket

And another Monday, another menu plan, courtesy of Laura at Organizing Junkie.  This week is kind of odd, what with the Road Trip and Peeps being on his own for a couple of days . . . we’ve been busy all weekend, so we’re trying to keep it as simple as we can.

MondaySurly Boy has asked if we would take him out to Tahou‘s for a plate before he goes away, and, well, we ran out of time, so Monday it is.  We’ll probably actually grab a garbage plate for a late lunch, then go see the new Harry Potter movie, then home for a slice of cherry pie (see above about cherries!).

Tuesday – Peeps will have to fend for himself – the Boy and I will be leaving in the morning, and Peeps will be on his own.  I’ll call him, though, to make sure he’s eating a healthy dinner.  😀

Wednesday –  Well, in order to make room in the freezer for some of those cherries that I HAD to have, we had to rearrange the freezer a bit.  And by rearrange, I mean, some stuff got uncovered that we’d forgotten about, so we decided that now’s as good a time as any to use it!  Namely, some frozen hash browns and breakfast sausage – how’s sausage gravy and hash browns sound after a long day in the car?  😉

Thursday – I’ve been working on figuring out empanadas.  Juan and Maria deep-fry them, and they’re To Die For, but really, that’s the last thing I need.  This is Take Two of Baked Empanadas. . . using stuff lying around the kitchen.  😀

Friday –  And as always, it’s pizza night.  This week, I think I’ll use some of the handy-dandy roasted asparagus – after all, it’s just sitting there all tasty and roasted and all.  Maybe I’ll pick up some feta cheese to go with it.  😀

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. Mazco34 - July 20, 2009

The Edison Job Corps is on the grounds of the old Camp Kilmer in New Jersey. They have armed security and a big barbed wire fence.

I have no idea what goes on in there and I don’t want to know.

I always thought it some kind of detention center, not a volunteer type place.

Break a leg, Surly Boy.

Toy Lady - July 20, 2009

Nice. Just what I need to hear.

For what it’s worth, this is one of the reasons I didn’t just let THEM provide him with a bus ticket and send him on his way. If it’s obviously a detention center, re-education camp, brown-shirt training facility or anything else hideous, he’ll at least have a way home.

😯

Now I’ve got something ELSE to worry about. Thanks, dude. . .

2. Becca - July 21, 2009

Do you always do pizza on Friday night? That is kind of fun!

Toy Lady - July 23, 2009

Look, Becca, Peeps found your comment! 😀

3. Toy Lady - July 21, 2009

I’m pretty sure I accidentally deleted a comment from Becca – Becca, I’m sorry – it’s nothing personal. 😥

I’ve got the lap top and I’m in a motel in Lake George after having spent ALL DAY in the car taking The Boy to his training place in Vermont . . . I meant to scroll down and the stupid scrolly thing on the stupid laptop must have deleted. . . ACK!

Anyway, yes, we do have pizza pretty much every Friday, and it is a real team effort – on Tuesday morning, I start the sourdough before I go to work, then when Peeps gets home, he makes up the dough, then shoves it in the fridge to “retard” for a few days – we’ve found that the extra time in the fridge makes a wonderfully flavorful crust that’s easy for him to work with!

It really is fun, too, for me to “experiment” with various toppings and combinations on my pie – like, who ever would have thought to try BBQ’d rib and garlic scapes on pizza? 😆

4. judy - July 22, 2009

I am so ready to hear what the PLACE was really like? I am sure you will fill us in soon. AND

What a wonderful cat you have who comes upstairs and goes OUTSIDE and enjoys a snooze on the deck! Who could have guessed how far she could come. Thanks for the great pictures as always. I remain her greatest fan. I like you too!

judy

Toy Lady - July 22, 2009

Oh yes, Jude, I’ll be filling you in on THE PLACE – fear not.

And as for the kitty, I knew you’d be thrilled. I tried to tell her she was too tubby to go out – what if some dog tried to chase her or something? But she was having none of it, so out she went. 😯

She did stick close to safety, though, so that’s good – and my Evil Plan is for her to start to miss the freedoms that she used to enjoy . . .

5. judy - July 22, 2009

I must comment that I watched the previews for the Julie and Julia movie and I must see it too! Especially since the dtr and I just saw the two of them in Doubt last week. Great duo and the movie looks hilarious.

Toy Lady - July 22, 2009

I know, and doesn’t it look great! I actually found that blog about a month before she finished her “project” – it was hilarious!

6. Audrey - July 23, 2009

I’m having pizza tonight. I haven’t had pizza in sooo very long.

Toy Lady - July 23, 2009

Hi, Audrey, and welcome! So how was your pizza? 😀

We’ve been doing homemade pizza every week for several months now – I can’t remember the last time we ordered delivery!


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

