jump to navigation

Time to be lazy July 24, 2009

Posted by Peeps in Cooking, Eating Down the Fridge, Food, Home.
trackback

Most people who know us know that we enjoy making things from scratch whenever we can.  We make our own mustard these days.  Along with salad dressings and other assorted things that would be just as easy to buy.  Which reminds me, I’m going to have to make up a batch of Italian sausage soon.

However, there are times that we like to have things done for us.  While trying to make room in the freezer for something, we ran across a package of hash browns that we got a while back.  Probably with a coupon or when it was on sale.  Or both.
Photobucket
The “use by” date on the bag was four years ago. Huh. Maybe we should do something with this. We also found some breakfast sausage that’s probably just as old.
Photobucket
So, Toys thought we should have sausage gravy over hash browns for dinner one night. Like the day she came back from Vermont, and neither of us felt like fussing. Fine with me. I’m never going to turn down sausage gravy.

I started the hash browns according to the package directions.  Now the bag says they’re seasoned.  Right.  Whatever.  So, I included some dried minced onion, some garlic powder, black pepper and cayenne pepper to make sure it was seasoned.  And let them cook.

Time to assemble the sausage gravy.  I probably should call it by one of it’s more proper names like white gravy or country gravy or sawmill gravy.  But then I’d have to explain myself.  I don’t feel like it.

Chop the sausage into small bits.

These go into a pan to brown. Once the meat is completely browned, do not drain the grease from it. You’re going to need it. Add flour to the pan with the sausage. How much? About as much as there is grease from the sausage. Eyeball it. That’s what I do.

Let that cook, stirring, for about five to seven minutes to make sure there’s no raw flour taste in the finished dish. Oh, and you may want to turn over the hash browns at this point.

The crisp parts are the best.
Once the sausage/flour mixture is ready, it’s time to add the milk. For this amount of sausage, I decided on two cups of milk. Slowly pour in the milk, stirring constantly. Once all the milk is in, stir frequently until liquid is just simmering.
Photobucket
Once a simmer has been reached, turn off the heat and let rest for a couple minutes. Which gives me enough time to toast some bread. The semolina bread from work. Yum.
Photobucket
I would like to point out that this dish, while easy, is far easier if you don’t have a huge dog lying at your feet the entire time.
Photobucket
That’s it. Ladle the sausage gravy over the hash browns and serve with toast and a large glass of milk. It doesn’t get much better than this.
Photobucket

Comments

1. Mazco34 - July 24, 2009

At least you have a huge dog lying at your feet.

I don’t.

Toy Lady - July 24, 2009

😥

Maz, when are you getting another dog?

2. Mazco34 - July 24, 2009

We saw 1 at a local shelter; blue heeler, age unknown as of now. She just had a litter of 7 pups 4 weeks earlier.

They don’t separate mom & kids for 8 weeks, so we have to wait until mid-August when they release her.

So far, we’re the only people who have shown interest.

We also saw a 9 yr. old at another shelter. Looked a lot like our old dog. C & I thought maybe we might take him and make the last years of his life memorable.

Toy Lady - July 24, 2009

Tough decision, to be sure. Myself, I’m partial to male pets – females always seem to be more moody (witness our CAT). Go figure. 😉

I didn’t realize how much I’d missed having a dog around until we got The Big Baby – it had been close to 15 years since I’d had one. 😯

3. judy - July 26, 2009

Peeps, that sounded like a delicious supper! I haven’t had “white” gravy in a long time Hum….. I am sure the other half really appreciated you doing this.

Peeps - July 27, 2009

She managed to choke it down. Even though her mother called in the middle of dinner and kept her on the phone for half an hour. It was pretty tasty.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

