jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 07.27.2009 July 27, 2009

Posted by Toy Lady in Musings, random stuff.
trackback

We finally got to see the Harry Potter movie this weekend – it was not bad.  This is the movie from, I think, the 6th book, and it was . . . dark.  Very dark. indeed.  😐

However, we also saw the trailer for the new Sherlock Holmes movie.  Before I say anything about it, let’s recall Sherlock Holmes:

A classic character.  The analytical mind.  Disciplined.  A tortured genius.  Not this:

A pervy action hero.  Really?  😯

Photobucket

The herb garden is in full swing – it has been for the past several weeks, actually.  😀

PhotobucketHowever, what brings a song to my little heart is the first of the season’s tomatoes!  This year I put in two grape tomato plants, which I actually like much better than cherry tomatoes – they taste more like tomatoes, I think.  And they’re a little earlier than “real” tomatoes – my Jetstars and San Marzanos are still solid green, but I managed to pick a few grape tomatoes which, along with some fresh basil, oregano, thyme, rosemary and marjoram, and a bit of goat cheese and leftover roasted asparagus, were quite nice on last Friday’s pizza.

Yay tomatoes!  😀

Photobucket

PhotobucketI have been trying to spend a couple of hours each Saturday  morning systematically going through the kitchen – emptying each cabinet, throwing old stuff out, washing, scrubbing, you get the idea.

This past weekend was the stove – I scrubbed the daylights out of the stove – inside and out; although this is a self-cleaning oven, I’ve never been all that impressed with the job ovens do cleaning themselves, and, well, if you want something done right, you do it yourself, right?  😕

I just have one question – what on earth did people do before they invented Easy Off?  😯

Photobucket

Photobucket

Woo hoo!  Little baby broccoli!  😆

Photobucket

Photobucket

And it looks like the neighborhood cats have been playing tag in my green beans.  👿

I know it’s not OUR cat – she barely comes out of the basement.  That’s not true – she’s been doing much more hanging around upstairs when she thinks the dog’s not looking.  But she certainly doesn’t vandalize my garden.  😯

BUT I still picked my first green beans this weekend! 😀

Photobucket

Photobucket

We were shopping at BJs, and we found the perfect bed for the Big Lug.  He’s been sleeping on an old quilt, covered with a fleece blanket, which is fine, except that he’s managed to get through the quilt into the batting, so periodically, I find bits of white fuzz all over the bedroom floor. . . 🙄

This is a Large Orthopedic Bed, and it fits just perfectly into the corner of the bedroom where he sleeps. 😀

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for our weekly menu plan.  I’ve got to say, this Rochester summer so far has been, well, less than ideal.  It’s plenty warm, for the most part, but we’ve had an awful lot of rain, which makes one of my favorite summer cooking habits  – grilling – tricky.   We’ve learned (the hard way!) to check the weather forecast at the beginning of the week, and to try to be as flexible as we can in our meal planning.  Surprisingly, forecasts, especially in upstate New York, do change.  😯

Monday –  Monday is (so far) the best day of the week, rain-wise.  We pulled a package of white hots out of the freezer to grill, and Peeps is going to put together a batch of potato salad,  and we’re going to cook the beets that I got at the market LAST week.  After all, next Saturday is market day again!  🙂

Tuesday – It’s supposed to start raining, so we pulled a package of pork BBQ out of the freezer, which we’ll just heat up on the stove.  Along with some of the fresh green beans from the garden (yay garden!) and the rest of Monday’s potato salad.  Really, does it get any simpler than that?  😕

Wednesday – Remember how last week, we did empanadas from leftover stuff (beans, BBQ ribs, cheese)?  Well, it turned out that we had LOTS of filling, and we made LOTS and LOTS of empanadas, so we have plenty left for the two of us for another dinner. . . and I want to get them out of the way.  Stop back tomorrow, and I’ll show you how we did them – they really came out . . . not bad.  😀

Thursday – I’m taking a couple more vacation days this week – I’ve got a dentist appointment Thursday morning, so I may as well take the whole day – and the next, right?  😉

Anyway, since I’m taking the whole day, I thought I’d put together some honest-to-goodness from-scratch chicken enchiladas, along with some Mexican rice that we’ve enjoyed before.

Friday – Friday is out wedding anniversary, so we’re going the put pizza night off until Saturday and go out and celebrate – we never go out.

A friend recently visited a local restaurant and reports that it was “wonderful from start to finish.”  Um, sounds like my kind of place!  Besides, I haven’t had a chance to wear my pearls in absolutely AGES!  😆

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. Audrey - July 28, 2009

We made chicken enchiladas last week. We love mexican food. We actually had left over chicken from the enchiladas so we are using the meat to make quesadillas tomorrow night.

Toy Lady - July 28, 2009

Hi Audrey! We love Mexican food, too! I didn’t realize, until we had the menu all planned, that we were doing empanadas one night, and enchiladas the next! 😕

I guess now there are going to have to be some quesadillas in our future, too. I love them – especially the really cheesy, will kill you dead kind. 😉

2. Becca - July 28, 2009

I love good local restaurants. They are so much better than any chain could ever be.

Toy Lady - July 29, 2009

Exactly, Becca!

Besides that, I’d much rather support a local business – my neighbors, so to speak – than some faceless corporation.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

