jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 08.17.2009 August 17, 2009

Posted by Toy Lady in Musings, random stuff.
trackback

Photobucket

Happy Monday once again!  You know, as much as I love summer – the sunny skies, the warm weather, the air conditioning – it just seems like all we ever do in the summer is work, work, work!  Every time I turn around, it seems, there are, at the very least, green beans to be picked.  And it’s always just a few too many for one meal . . . which means freezing them.

I’m almost, but not quite, starting to look forward to fall, when we can just sit on our butts and catch up on missed TV . . .

Photobucket

We happened to look out the window the other day to see Harley Kitty giving some strange calico cat WHAT FOR!

I have no idea what the kitty argument was about, but I’ve seen our neighbors’ cat at work, and I don’t think that old calico wants to get on the wrong side of her.

Heck, I don’t even think I want to get on Harley’s wrong side!

I, um, went to the Public Market this weekend.  Stuff is really starting to come into season, isn’t it?

Photobucket

I mean, I know it maybe seems like a lot of produce for two people, but, with the exception of the citrus, I’m pretty sure it’s all local.  And besides, Peeps didn’t tell me not to get carried away . . .

Photobucket

And besides – DUDE! – a quart basket of tomatillos for two bucks!

I’ve never had tomatillos . . . I hope I like them, because we’ve got a boatload of them!

We’re either going to make a salsa verde or wait for cooler weather to make a pork & tomatillo stew . . . what to do, what to do?

Photobucket

I also got some corn on the cob at the market – I can’t remember the last time I actually ate corn on the actual cob. . .  .   I was going to pass it by again this week, but the farmer insisted it was EXCELLENT corn this year.

For the past couple of years, I’ve been sticking to the safer method of grilling the corn, then cutting it off the cobs.  All the lovely, lovely flavor of grilled, buttered corn, and none of the risks of corn on the cob.  And let’s face it – in a good year, it’s still absolutely wonderful!

If you’ve never tried it, just shuck the corn, and place it on a hot grill.  While it’s cooking, you can brush it with salted butter, and when the corn shows signs of browning, it’s ready to either eat as is, or to cut off the cob and either enjoy now or freeze for later (like mid-winter) enjoyment!  It’s so quick and simple, not to mention delicious, plus I haven’t boiled water to cook corn in years!

Photobucket

Did you notice the melon that I picked up at the market?

Yeah, I’m kind of funny about melons – when they’re ripe and in season, you couldn’t ask for a better fruit.  But if they’re not in season, or if they’ve been picked too early . . . you can keep them.

With this one, I smelled melon as I walked by the stall at the market – that tells me they’re perfect – the best way to tell if a cantaloupe is ripe is by the scent.  I knew then that I would be more than happy to pay the $2 for a perfectly ripe, homegrown melon.

And I wasn’t disappointed – I was able to cut it with a spoon – THAT’S how perfectly ripe it was!

Photobucket

Meanwhile, while I was playing with my melon and finding room for the rest of my veggie haul, Peeps spent the better part of the day smoking.

Smoking meat, that is.  We had picked up a couple of hams (around Easter time) and a couple of boneless turkey breasts (at Thanksgiving), so Peeps thought it would be great to smoke them all, along with a “club-sized” pack of chicken breasts, since there was plenty of room.

Photobucket

Apparently, Peeps isn’t the only one who thinks this is a good idea . . .

Do I smell something smoky?

I think the dog thinks “smoky” is a food group. . .

Speaking of the Big Baby, we’ll be starting his swim class this week.

His hip problems are, while slightly better, not good, so he’ll be starting hydrotherapy with a local guy who clearly loves dogs and enjoys working with them.  We are hoping for the best here – I know he’s in pain, and I don’t like it.

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  Once again, this week, we’re working on eating out of the freezer – we’re finding that, as things come into season or go on sale (or both!), we have no room in our freezer to take advantage of that – we’ve GOT to make room!

Monday – I stopped at Super Walmart the other day, and, you know, I couldn’t resist a quick walk along the meat department . . . where I found a skirt steak on sale – I’ve actually never worked with skirt steak, but I do know that it’s what’s used for fajitas  . . .  so I’ve got it marinating to go with some green, red and yellow peppers.  And who knows, we may even do a tomatillo salsa to go with it!

Tuesday –  I pulled some chicken out of the freezer and will throw together some kind of stir-fry – in addition to the peppers for Monday’s fajitas, I also got some snow peas and baby bok choy.  We’ve got a package of frozen linguine in the freezer, which, I guess, makes the stir fry more of a “lo mein” – plus it gets rid of something else in the freezer!

Wednesday – We start swim class with the dog, and we probably won’t be home until close to 6:00, so we’re going to want something fast.  While poking around in the freezer, we came up with a package of Sizzling! Asian steak – that will be quick and quite nice with some rice and garden fresh green beans, don’t you think?

Thursday – Again, swim class with the dog (it’s like having another kid, isn’t it?).  We’re still going to want something fairly quick and easy, so I pulled a seasoned pork tenderloin out of the freezer – rubbed with cocoa and other spices; served with some pan-fried potatoes and beets spiced with some complementary flavors, this is one of our favorites.  I’ll definitely share the directions with you later on.

Friday – Pizza night!  Again, the tomatoes are starting to come in with a vengeance, so I’m good!  I’ve been marinating halved grape tomatoes and using them on pizza, and they’re fabulous!  I’m not sure I want to do anything else on my pizza for a while . . .

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Comments

1. Shannon - August 17, 2009

All those fresh veggies look fabulous! Wonder if I have time to make it to the market this week???

Anyway, great menu!

2. Toy Lady - August 17, 2009

Thanks!

I try to get to the public market every OTHER week – if I go every week, well, I might go just a little overboard. . . after all, there are only the two of us!

I usually try to go early in the morning – the selection is the best, and I can get in and out before the crowds start coming in . . . but on the few occasions we’ve gone later, you really can’t beat the deals! For me, anyway, it’s SO worth the trip!

3. Mazco34 - August 17, 2009

Hey, while the Big Lug is getting water therapy, why don’t you slip the guy another $10 and see if you can knock #52 off of your 101 Things list?

Toy Lady - August 17, 2009

Well, yeah, that’s probably a good idea. Only . . . I don’t think the water’s deep enough for that (4 feet, I think).

And he’s a stranger . . . eeew. I figure, we can get the puppster swimming first, then Peeps and I can work on old Number 52 at the beach – if there are any problems Mighty Dog can come to the rescue!

Mazco34 - August 17, 2009

Just pretend that he’s someone else.

Someone who looks good when wet.

CANNONBALL! (Hey what happened to the water?)

Toy Lady - August 17, 2009

I think I’d really rather wait for Peeps and Jarly, actually. Besides, we don’t have to worry about all the water splashing out of the lake.

We don’t even have to worry about the dog drinking it all – though he’s tried.

4. Kimberly Kaye - August 17, 2009

All that produce looks so yummy. I plan on hitting the farmer’s market tomorrow night. I hope my finds are as good yours.

Toy Lady - August 17, 2009

I think that’s one of the best things about this time of year – everything is coming into season! I especially love the fresh ripe peaches and nectarines – they keep my breakfast smoothies from getting dull!

5. Katie - August 18, 2009

I’ll be interested in seeing your spice-rubbed pork loin…cocoa…not something I would have EVER thought to use.

Tomatillos are really great. Not that it’s the least bit summery, but I like to use them to make white chili (w/ ground turkey, white beans, and tomatillos in place of tomatoes). Just let the tomatillos cook until they break down (takes longer than it would with a tomato).

Toy Lady - August 18, 2009

The cocoa-spiced pork is SO good – I’m looking forward to enjoying that this week, and the recipe will definitely be up sometime next week!

And thanks for the tip on tomatillos, Katie – as I said, I’ve never had them, and I wasn’t sure whether to go with a chili-stew-type thing or a salsa, so I now I’m pretty sure I’ll go with something stewed!

Although . . . I guess there’s probably no reason I couldn’t do something really crazy and, say, pick up some more and do both!

Katie - August 19, 2009

LOL. Well, I hope you enjoy them either way.

Will def. keep an eye out then for the pork recipe.

Toy Lady - August 19, 2009

How’s Tuesday? Thursday is done, Peeps does Fridays, and Monday is Musings . . .

I’m so orderly I can barely stand it sometimes!

6. darnold23 - August 18, 2009

I hope you will join me for Crock Pot Wednesdays this week at diningwithdebbie.blogspot.com. Thanks for posting.

Toy Lady - August 18, 2009

Thanks, darnold23! I’ll certainly check it out!


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

