jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 08.31.2009 August 31, 2009

Posted by Toy Lady in Musings, random stuff.
trackback

I was going through some of the photos I’ve taken in the past month, and I discovered a video I did of Jarly and Peeps walking on the beach right after the dog started having the hip issues.

At that point, he was barely walking – and it was better than it had been for the previous few days.  Is it any wonder, then, that we’re thrilled to see him up and around and swimming?

Photobucket

It’s just a good thing our boy is such a fighter, isn’t it?

Yeah, he’s only going to take just so much screwing around, I guess.  Heh.  That’s my boy.

Photobucket

Was it in poor taste that the blog that I posted on the day Ted Kennedy died was titled “Splish Splash“?

It was purely unintentional.  Um, sorry?

Photobucket

So I’m driving to work the other day, minding my own business. I’m in the right lane, there’s someone behind me and a BIG SUV right next to me, so I’m really not going anywhere.  Jerkboy decides to race me up the ramp, and, when I sped up and passed him (remember, there was someone behind me, so I didn’t want to slow down too much), he flipped me off!

Seriously?  It’s 6:15 in the morning, and you’re THAT big a JERK-HOLE?  Already?  I’d hate to see what you’re like after some caffeine.

Photobucket

He cut off the guy behind me, then rode my tail for a while.  Until I hit the brakes a couple of times.  Then he went off to harass someone else, I guess.  What a crappy way to start the day.  It must suck to be so angry.

Photobucket

So the other day (a different day), Surly Boy borrowed my car to drive down and see his dad while he was home, which meant he (the Boy, not his father) took me to work at 6:30-ish, and Peeps was to pick me up after work.

My co-worker has two small dogs which together, probably don’t measure the size of one of Jarly’s paws, and we occasionally find it amusing to bring him by the office for a visit.  That, and the whole idea of that Big Lug sniffing around the law office, well, you’ve gotta admit it’s funny!

So my two boys (besides Surly Boy, of course – he was with my car) picked me up, and we made a couple of stops on the way home, then it was REALLY time for a walk by the time we got home.

Rather than wait yet longer for me to change my clothes, Peeps went ahead and took Jarly for his walk, and I had a chance to spend some time with Stupor Kitty.

She really hates having her picture taken.  But she’s still awfully needy . . .

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  Surly Boy has headed back to school, and he’s arrived safely, but my brother will be staying with us for a few days . . . it’s a long, sad story, and one I won’t trouble you with.

So now that we FINALLY got used to cooking for two again, we’re back to cooking for three. . .

Monday – I managed to score some beautiful fresh fennel at the market this weekend dirt cheap, so we’re going to enjoy some lovely, lovely fennel & sausage risotto.  Along with that, and in the spirit of emptying the freezers, we’ll bake some of the dinner rolls Peeps made last spring  (that we forgot to bring for Easter dinner), but we’re going to dip them in butter, then either garlic or an herb blend.  Or both.

Tuesday –  Tuesday is Hobo Night with Thursday Night Smackdown, and, although we won’t actually be competing this month, we still enjoy playing along.  Check back Thursday and see what we’ll put together for under $5.  With fruit.  Interesting . . .

Wednesday –  Wednesday evening is swim class, so we decided to do something in the slow cooker that would be ready for us when we get home – we dug a small pork loin roast out of the freezer and will do a Thai-inspired dish (with peanut butter!) that we did a few years ago and loved.  Everything gets tossed into the crockpot, then, when we get home, we’ll just cook some jasmine rice and throw together a salad, and dinner will be ready!

Thursday –  The weather forecast, at this point, is suggesting rain for Thursday, so, although our grilling days are numbered, it’s always better to be safe than sorry, right?  We’ll just reheat some of the brisket that Peeps smoked this summer (he’s hoping for another smoking session next weekend anyway), and we’ll mash some potatoes and saute some collard greens – an entire comfort-food meal!

Friday – As always, it’s pizza night!  I am SO ENJOYING the fresh tomatoes  and fresh herbs on my pizza, let me tell you!  It’s easy to forget, sometimes, fleeting tomato season is, and it only makes sense to make the most of it – after all, in a couple of months, I know I’m going to miss those bowls (yes, plural bowls) of tomatoes on the counter, waiting to be eaten, given away, canned or dried . . .

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. Melinda - August 31, 2009

How did the big Birthday weekend go? hope it was great…..

– Hi, Melinda! The weekend went . . .as well as could be expected, I guess. The Boy spent must of his time catching up with old friends, and, of course, on his 21st, THEY were much more interesting than WE were! One of his gifts (a new cell phone with a “QWERTY” keyboard so he can at least TEXT me!) turned out to be defective, so I’m going to have to get that exchanged for him.

We did take him out for a nice dinner, which I TOTALLY forgot to mention! 😆

We were in the restaurant, and the waitress was serving our dinner, when three (THREE!) sheriff’s deputies pushed by, all with their hands on their guns. . . straight to the ladies’ room! And they never came out, either – apparently, there’s another way out! I have no idea what was going on, but at least there wasn’t any shooting!

So how was your weekend?

2. Katie @ Food Stuffs - August 31, 2009

Mmmm. I’m liking the sound of fennel and sausage risotto.

– Oh, Katie, this stuff is To Die For! Even though my husband doesn’t even like fennel, he likes this!

3. Lis*De*Dieu - August 31, 2009

Thanks for stopping by! The produce is so cheap right now, so the husband doesn’t usually have to stop me from going overboard 🙂

– Hi, Lis! I know what you mean about its being so cheap – that’s why I need to be supervised, I guess! 😕 There are just the two of us, and I’ll bring home enough stuff for an army if I’m not careful!

4. michelle - August 31, 2009

hey; thanks for the garlic advice! Have a great cooking week!

– Thanks for stopping by! Enjoy your week too.

5. judy - September 1, 2009

Hi! I am so glad to hear everyone survived the weekend! I know it was like a crap shoot and someone has to be the winner.

Loved Jarly swimming and of course MY KITTY looking fat but fine. Would love to just love her up for about 4 hours just to say I did.

The food as always get my juices flowing and I can even smell the fennel. I have always had an active imagination.

Glad you survive the MORNING JERK and wanting to let you know they are in the Albuquerque neighborhoods too! GEEEZE

Have a great week and share what you need too. We (your fans) have broad shoulders when we stand side by side. (hug)

j

– Hey, Jude! You know, Kitty would welcome your attention any time! 😉


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

