jump to navigation

And Now For Something Completely Different September 11, 2009

Posted by Toy Lady in Food, Information, random stuff, Third Thursday.
trackback

OK, now that’s going to be stuck in my head for the rest of the day.  Yikes.  Let’s try this again.

Ahem.

Remember a couple of months ago, when I asked if anyone might be interested in a Dark Side of the Fridge blog event?  Although there seemed to be a collective yawn, to be honest, I’m kind of used to that.  However, there was a spark of interest, so I’ve spent the past couple of months thinking and planning and trying to come up with something that would challenging enough to be fun, and anyone who chose to participate can pretty much go at his or her own pace.

Introducing . . .

Photobucket

The Third Thursday of the month – wherein we “borrow” a recipe from someone else’s blog – either duplicate the dish as posted, or feel free to change it – whatever you want to do.

Fall is going to be here soon, and I’d love stretch and get out of my comfort zone – to try things that are NEW! and EXCITING! – before cabin fever sets in!

Check the “Third Thursday” tab at the top of the page for specifics – and come on, play along – it’ll be fun!

And why am I bringing this up, you ask?  Why, because next Thursday, September 17, is the Third Thursday of the month.  So go through all those bookmarked blogs and the recipes you’ve printed out from Smitten Kitchen and 101 Cookbooks and Tartelette and Orangette . . . or any one of a hundred others out there.

Not feeling quite up to that much of a challenge?  I don’t blame you – me neither!  Just find something you’re comfortable trying, something you’ve seen and thought, “hey, I could do that!” – and just do it!

Any questions, suggestions, just leave a comment either here or on the other page.  Or send an email.  I’m easy to get along with like that.

Comments

1. anne - September 11, 2009

I’ll play along :). I don’t have a blog, but you can do what you will with the results. I am vegetarian, so if anyone else out there in Dark Side Land finds any winners, I’ll be grateful. My carnivore husband will be grateful for anything non-veggie! I need new ideas!!!!!!!!!!

– Yay, Anne! It’s good to hear from you! And we’ll figure the whole not-having-a-blog thing, fear not. 😉

So. . . you’re looking for meat stuff for hubby? Or veggie stuff that he won’t miss the meat in?

anne - September 12, 2009

He’s really good about eating whatever I cook, so veggie stuff unless it’s a really spectacular meat dish that he must eat before he dies. Oh, wait. That didn’t come out right. 😕

– lol Anne! I won’t tell! 😉

You know we’re pretty carnivorous around here, too – though I do manage a little arm-twisting on occasion and get a meatless thing or two in. Have you ever checked out http://www.101cookbooks.com/index.html ? Also, http://kitchen-parade-veggieventure.blogspot.com/ often has some interesting-looking veggie dishes . . .

2. Melinda - September 12, 2009

i think i am in, we usually try new stuff on Fridays ( we call them Friday Finds) i don’t know if i will start right away though if that is ok with you, until November. you know that darn football practice makes it hard to really do and plan anything. maybe i will try a quick recipe or crock pot does that count? yea actually that might work.
and on a different note you need to send peeps to my blog, jimmy bought a new guitar today and he is really excited about it, i have no idea why it is just another one to his vast collection of garage sale finds but it is a fender and i know peeps maybe able to explain to me in adult talk what all that crap, i mean stuff means. there is a picture of it on the site he actually let me take a picture of him with it because he can not let the thing go.lol hmm wonder how he is going to get back to SA?
anyway talk at you soon let me know if crock pot or quickie is ok. meliinda

– No problem, Melinda – I remember how hard it was trying to plan around Little League and Boy Scouts with 1 kid – I don’t even want to THINK about trying to do it with more! It’s bad enough now with Puppy Swim Class on Wednesdays. . . Just go ahead and play along when you can – with whatever you want! Have you ever looked at http://crockpot365.blogspot.com/ for crockpot recipes?

I know probably even less than you do about the guitar stuff – Peeps said “oh, he got a bass” – so, yeah, OK. 😕

ANYWAY, yeah, here’s a link to your blog – http://scrapinmommyto3boys.blogspot.com/ – if there’s anyone out there who knows about guitars and Fenders and such. . . .

3. sjbraun - September 13, 2009

I’m gonna try – although you know it’ll be a challenge for Hamburger Helper/mac ‘n cheese lovin’ me 🙂
Susan

– It’ll be fun, Susan! I’d love to have you join us. And there’s nothing wrong with mac & cheese, either. 😉


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

