jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 09.14.2009 September 14, 2009

Posted by Toy Lady in Musings, random stuff.
trackback

There is seriously not a lot going on around the Fridge lately.  Everywhere I turn, people are dealing with Back to School this and Back to School that . . . I feel so old!  Old, yet free – I don’t care about Back to School!  The only way it affects me anymore is that I need to make sure I leave for work early enough in the morning to beat the school buses and crazy people on the highways . . . Heh.

Photobucket

PhotobucketI made my own granola last weekend.  From scratch.

It was not bad, especially for a first effort, if I do say so myself.

Sure, I’ve got a ways to go, yeah.  But I’d eat this.  Which is a good thing, too, since I’ve, um, got a good-sized container of it.

But still.  Granola with coconut, nuts, dried cranberries and dates.  Yum.  Yeah, I’ll be working on trying this again.

Photobucket

PhotobucketThat’s our boy – the neighborhood watch puppy.

He stations himself at the window so he’s sure he doesn’t miss Thunder (or anyone else) coming home. . . it’s almost embarrassing.  I feel like we’re stalking our neighbors.

Sheesh.  He’s like Mrs. Kravitz.

Photobucket

PhotobucketSo I made my pizza with the little “pearlini”  cheese – the wee little fresh mozzarella balls.  I wasn’t so sure at first – they were balls of cheese, after all, and they tended to roll around on the pizza. . .

I just wasn’t sure what I’d end up with.

PhotobucketFortunately, the little mozzarella balls melted nicely, and my pizza with fresh tomatoes, olive oil, basil, mozzarella and a little more olive oil, plus a bit of shaved romano on top worked out beautifully.  I may do this again, every week until the fresh tomatoes run out . . .

Photobucket

PhotobucketSo . . . it’s summer.  Fruit and vegetable season.  I have bowls of peaches and bowls of tomatoes, topped with piles of red peppers alongside another bowl of jalapeños. . .

You know what that means?  A kitchen full of fruit flies, that’s what.

I guess I’m going to have to work harder to use up this produce, huh?

Photobucket

We managed to catch some video of Stupor Kitty celebrating the dog’s walk.

She’s not much of a dancer, is she?

Photobucket

PhotobucketA quick reminder – this week is the Third Thursday of the month (already!) – feel free to join us for our Third Thursday event – just “borrow” a recipe from someone else’s blog and tell us about it!  Complete details are here, and remember, the more the merrier!

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  I’m not sure if I’m mentioned that my brother is staying with us for a few weeks (job loss, sad story), and we’ve decided to make it our mission to at least TRY to teach him how to, eventually, feed himself . . . this will be fun!

Monday – Since it’s still decent weather for grilling, we’re going to do relatively simple burgers for dinner.  I picked up some beautiful red-leaf lettuce for salad at the market, as well as some sweet potatoes that will be great roasted – where’s the bad?

Tuesday – Still good for grilling, so we’re going to do one of our favorites that we’ve neglected all summer – pork chops marinated in a honey-dijon sauce.  The sauce includes, in addition to the honey and the mustard, a goodly portion of tarragon which, surprisingly, works wonderfully with the pork.

Wednesday – Once again, we’ve got puppy swim class.  For the past two weeks, we’ve been cooking in the slow cooker, and it’s worked out beautifully.  This week, we’ve already made a vegetable-bean soup and will simply reheat – even easier!

Thursday – And again, in the spirit of clearing out the freezer, we dug out a beef roast that we froze last fall (how does this stuff get buried?), so we’re going to do roast beef, along with some potatoes and we’ll do something with our own garden carrots.  Yay garden!

Friday –  It’s pizza night!  I will probably go for a repeat of last week’s winning pizza – fresh tomatoes, olive oil, fresh mozzarella and herbs – it was DELISH!  Peeps and The Brother will more than likely enjoy their favorite – extra cheese, pepperoni, and maybe a bit of roast beef, assuming there’s some leftover for them!

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. sjbraun - September 14, 2009

I love that you’re going to teach your brother to cook … heck, I have tried many times to teach my 41-yr-old sis to cook – just no interest on her part, which saddens me, as I hate to see people eat PopTarts and Campbell’s soup as a lifestyle. Good luck to you, and your brother!
Susan

– I’m trying! Unfortunately, he’s not terribly interested, either. Like you, it just pains me to see him NOT taking care of himself, and, just like the rest of us, he’s not getting any younger. For now, we’re getting him to try eating “new” foods – maybe that will spark his interest!

2. anne - September 14, 2009

Aggggggggggghhhhhhhhhhhh!!! I even picked out my recipe for Thursday. But I’m going out of town Thursday evening and won’t be back till Sunday. I won’t have time to make it. 😕 I guess I’ll keep it till next month. Or maybe I’ll just make a test batch, just to be sure. 😉

– Aw, Anne, I’ll miss you. *sniff*
I hope you’re at least going out of town to do something fun. 😉

anne - September 15, 2009

I’m going to Dayton Ohio with my friend to walk in the Air Force Half Marathon. Yep, it’ll be fun!!

– Yay Anne! That does sound fun!

3. judy - September 15, 2009

Well you can guess why I checked in! Love that Kitty and just to have her upstairs and moving all… well you’ve come a long way baby! The dog is a hoot looking out the window! Good pictures. Thanks as always.

judy

Oh, Sunday with DD we went to the raspberry farm we found last year and spent an hour picking our own raspberries. The weather was perfect at 9:00 a.m. and as far as you could see were fields of berries with us pickers cleaning out the last of them. $4 a pint is not bad but it really is labor intensive work. I would hate to make my living doing that but for a fun run in with nature it can’t be beat. They freeze very well which is a good thing too.

j

– Mmm, raspberries! When I was a teenager, we had raspberries on the farm, and more raspberries than we knew what to do with – I remember the shock, once I left, when I saw how much they cost in the stores! I keep wanting to pick some . . . maybe next weekend if there are any left. 😕


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

