jump to navigation

A Bloody Mary You Can Eat With A Fork September 15, 2009

Posted by Toy Lady in random stuff.
trackback

I’ve never been a huge fan of Bloody Marys.  I mean, I guess they’re OK, but they’re typically served with “brunch” (read: before noon), and who wants to start drinking that early?

Unless, of course, you’re talking about champagne.  I’ll drink champagne any time.  Did I ever tell you that Peeps and I were married at sunrise?  Yup, and once the ceremony was over, we shared a lovely toast with the judge, her husband, and Surly Boy (who was our Official Witness), then we phoned and woke up our respective parents.  We get more done before 6AM than most people do all day!

Where was I again?

Bloody Mary.

So every now and then, we like to make this crock-pot pot roast – no, it’s not the traditional pot roast that we also love – but this is pretty darned good.  And easy, which counts for something, to be sure.

PhotobucketWe found a hunk of beef chuck in the freezer (does it seem like that “cleaning out the freezer” is kind of a perpetual job around here?) – about 2 pounds or so.  Into the slow-cooker it went.

Then the sauce- marinade -juice-whatever:

  • 1 cup tomato juice I actually used some of the “V-14” juice we canned last fall.
  • 2 Tbsp. Frank’s Red Hot I didn’t feel like looking for the Tabasco sauce.
  • 1 Tbsp. horseradish
  • 1 Tbsp. mustard Dijon, of course.
  • 1 tbsp. white wine vinegar
  • 1 Tbsp. Worcestershire sauce
  • 2 tsp. salt kosher – and go light with it
  • a couple of cloves of garlic, chopped
  • 1 tsp. black pepper heaping

PhotobucketI mixed that whole mess together in a 2-cup measuring cup before pouring over the  beef.  In the morning before work.  Dude, THAT is the cool thing about the slow cooker!

Just let it cook on “low” all day, and when you get home from work, you’ll have nice, tender pot roast, full of lovely, tomato-y, horseradish-y flavor.

Yum.

PhotobucketPLUS you have some lovely, lovely sauce to spoon over your mashed potatoes.  Or rice.  Whatever.  Spoon it over something starchy, that’s all.

And if you’re really lucky, you serve your intensely-flavored Bloody Mary pot roast with some garden-fresh green beans – yum.

And here’s the Printable Version – if you try it, do let me know what you think!

Comments

1. origamifreak - September 15, 2009

mmm. I really love spicy tomato juice. If it has some vodka in it, so much the better… so I imagine if it had some beef in it, I’d also be pleased. LOL

– Our juice was really good last year – we used 14 vegetables (I SCOFF at V-8 now!), including jalapenos. They count as vegetables, right? 😉


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

