jump to navigation

Peanut Butter – Not Just for Cookies! September 15, 2009

Posted by Toy Lady in Cooking, Eating Down the Fridge, Food, random stuff.
trackback

I love peanut butter.  Smooth or crunchy, in cookies or sandwiches – or even pies, it’s right up there as one of my all-time favorite food groups.

Harry Reese is my hero.

So anyway, you’ve got to know that when, a few years back, we found a recipe for a crock-pot pork dish featuring peanut butter, well, I was all over it!

And with our current schedule, i.e., puppy swim class on Wednesdays, leading to our not getting home until nearly 6:00 (gasp!), what better time to dig out that recipe and see what we can do with it?

As an aside, how do people with multiple kids and multiple activities do it?  I only had one kid, and he only had one activity at a time – I can’t imagine running to and fro like that on multiple evenings!

PhotobucketSo anyway.  Pork.  And peanut butter.  Plus garlic.  And some other stuff besides.

We get up pretty early in the mornings, so putting stuff together in the slow cooker, well, that happens early too.  So the couple of pictures I did remember to snap are less than exciting.  I guess you’re going to have to use your imagination.

Sorry.  Try not to be too disappointed by missing out on my lame attempts to chop garlic one handed while trying to take an artsy shot with my other hand.

So here’s what we do.  Take a hunk of pork – we dug a pork loin out of the freezer – about 2 pounds or so.  Next time, I think I’d use a small-ish pork shoulder roast, since it’ll be cooking all day.

So take your hunk of pork and stick it in the slow cooker.  Combine the following before dumping over the meat:

  • 2-3 Tbsp. peanut butter I used smooth, but that’s because we’re now a two-PB household.  If we didn’t buy smooth peanut butter for the dog, all I’d have would be crunchy, and that would probably be OK.  Probably.  Is it weird that we buy separate peanut butter for the dog?

Photobucket

  • 1 Tbsp. (ish) of minced ginger I used one “cube” of frozen.
  • a couple of cloves of minced garlic
  • 1 tsp. crushed red pepper
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar Light or dark, it probably doesn’t matter.
  • 2 Tbsp. white vinegar
  • 1/4 c. soy sauce low sodium
  • 1/4 c. oil  Canola, vegetable, peanut oil – whatever.

PhotobucketBy the way, you know how they talk about a dog’s amazing sense of smell?  Yeah, they’re not kidding.  Old Slacker Boy can be crashed out several rooms away, recovering from our Morning Convalescent Only Half A Mile Walk, and as soon as I open the jar of Jif, he’s right there, in the kitchen, wanting to lick the spoon.

Our puppy’s a peanut butter junkie just like his mom!

Photobucket

The whole mess – meat and sauce – goes into the crockpot, again, to cook on low for the better part of the day.  Again, next time I’d use a pork shoulder; pork loin does tend to dry out.

Once we get home from swim class, the meat is done, so we start some rice.

Jasmine rice is amazing with this.  I’m just saying.  This may actually be one of my favorite crock-pot recipes.

Photobucket

Printable Version.

Comments

1. Mazco34 - September 16, 2009

What are you trying to do?

A fork fed Bloody Mary one day then Peanut Butter and Pork the next.

I may have to go to Forno’s just to fight back.

– That reminds me – I still have some veal in the freezer for yet another attempt at the Siciliano . . .


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

