jump to navigation

Third Thursday: September September 17, 2009

Posted by Toy Lady in Cooking, Cooking Challenge, Food, random stuff, Third Thursday.
trackback

Photobucket

Here we are – the the third Thursday of the month – our very first Third Thursday!

“So,” you’re wondering, “what’s she going to do?”   I’m glad you asked.  I’m going to share Chocolate Mole from David Lebovitz’s blog.

It’s kind of funny – often, I find myself “landing” there – either through searching for something in particular, or some other blog will link to his, and I always enjoy reading about his adventures – the man lives in Paris, for Pete’s sake!   Every time I end up on this blog, I always get caught up, looking at the pictures, reading about his “sweet life,” checking out the recipes, dreaming about someday going to some of the places he describes . . . *sigh*

So.  While the mole itself is a sauce, we kicked it up a notch and decided to combine the sauce with a smoked pork shoulder – how amazing is that going to be?  Yeah, pretty amazing.

PhotobucketSo Peeps, ever one to humor my whims, threw an extra pork butt on the smoker when he had his Grand Smoking Session over the Labor Day weekend, even though that meant he actually had to pull out the old smoker!

He didn’t mind, though.  Not really.

While the pork did its smoky thing for the better part of the day, we went to work on the sauce.

We essentially followed the directions – to the letter.  I figured this guy is making mole sauce in Paris – he must know what he’s doing!

Photobucket

I love the idea that, to make a big enough batch of sauce for an entire pork shoulder, we still essentially start with several pinches of spice:

1/4 teaspoon each of cinnamon, ground cloves, dried oregano, and ground cumin, coriander and anise seed.

Yes, that would be a quarter teaspoon of each!

We also picked up a package of dried ancho chiles – I’d never used them, and I was surprised by how large they are!  Because they were dried, they did need to be reconstituted – dump them in a bowl with about a cup of hot water.  I wonder if I could use fresh, maybe roasted, poblano peppers instead.  Huh.  Anyone have any thoughts?

So while the peppers were rehydrating, we sautéed a chopped onion in a little oil, then added a clove of garlic, then the spices.

PhotobucketAnd out comes the blender.

And into the blender: 1/3 cup of almonds, the onion mixture, 1/4 cup of raisins, a couple of peeled and seeded tomatoes (goodness knows we can spare them!) a Tablespoon of toasted sesame seeds, a bit of salt, pepper and one square of baking (unsweetened) chocolate, melted.

Then, blend, baby, blend!

The recipe recommends, after removing the stems and seeds, passing the re-hydrated chiles through a food mill to get rid of any skins that may be tough.  Since we were using the Super Blender, we didn’t bother – we just tossed the peppers in, skins and all – de-seeded and de-stemmed, of course!  A little more water was needed to reach a pourable consistency, and we were ready for the pork.

We shredded the pork, poured the newly-minted mole sauce over it, and left it in the fridge for a few days.  Actually, we divided it up and froze a few meals worth, and kept some out in the fridge for dinner a few days later.

Photobucket

What we were basically going for was a taco-esque sort of thing – shredded pork, steeped in chocolate mole, wrapped in a nice flour tortilla.  We found, a while back, that shredded cabbage stays crispy much longer (and much crispier!) than even iceberg lettuce, so that’s what we went with.

It’s certainly different – not your typical ground-beef-seasoning-mix taco filling, that’s for sure!  And it’s also nothing like the mole-type marinade that we’ve made in the past.  But there’s a richness – added to the smokiness – that’s intriguing.  It definitely benefited from the little hit of acidity that a freshly-squeezed lime brought to the party right before serving.  And I’m glad we tried it – I’m looking forward to enjoying the rest at a later time.

Remember, if you’ve tried something from someone else’s blog this week, let me know – the roundup is next Tuesday!

Comments

1. sjbraun - September 17, 2009

Oh, you fancy lady … mole? I have never even heard of it! However, I am a big fan of Paris, and I must say it looks yummy!
Here’s my entry:
http://girlsinwhitedresses.wordpress.com/2009/09/17/quick-and-easy-ranch-chicken/
Susan

– It was really good! There’s still a little bit left – I may have that for lunch some time over the weekend. And thanks for your link – I’ve been buried today, but I did take a quick look – it looks good!

2. origamifreak - September 17, 2009

mmmmmmmmmole….
(I’ve only ever had the turkey and chicken varieties.)

– Me too, mostly. Until now. . . I mean, smoked pork. Obviously. 😉


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

