jump to navigation

I’m actually quite lucky September 23, 2009

Posted by Peeps in Home, random stuff.
trackback

Toys asked me to take over today’s post so that she could do something special for Friday.  So, lacking any sort of idea for something amusing or interesting, here we go.

In spite of everything that could be improved in my life, I have one thing that always makes me smile.  My wife.

Toys is, day in and day out, the best person I can think of to be around.

I’ll never be rich, and there are days when it seems as though I’ll never even be solvent again.  But my wife is right there, telling me that everything will be okay.

Toys takes far better care of me than I deserve.  Even when I’m not sick.

She’s just fun to be with.  Whether it’s a Sunday spent in the kitchen together, or an evening on the couch making fun of television, we go well with each other.

My wife has an enthusiasm for things I’ll never have.  But all too often, it’s catching and we both end up wildly jazzed by an idea or a recipe or some other thing I would never have thought of.

Do we agree on everything?  Of course not.  That wouldn’t be natural.  But we agree on almost all of the things important to us.  And if she happens to think I’m nuts for something I care about that she doesn’t, well, she’s not the first one.

And she always puts up with me.  My moods, my quirks, whatever.  And I’ve been told by several people who I consider to be reliable that I would be very difficult to deal with on a constant basis.  But there she is.

I’m not half as nice as she deserves, but for some reason or other, she doesn’t seem to care.  I do try, you understand.  I do my absolute best.  But somehow, it always feels that I fall short.  I’ve had inadequacy issues most of my life. (shrugs)

So, while I’m filling in for her, I just wanted her and all of you to know that I love my wife more than I can begin to describe.  She’s my friend, my drinking buddy, my favorite person in the world.  Thanks, Toys.  For keeping me around and letting me be part of your life.

Comments

1. Mazco34 - September 23, 2009

Where’s the Geritol tag line: “My wife, I think I’ll keep her.”

And yes, you can be difficult.

I’m just saying.

Peeps - September 24, 2009

Geritol? You’re showing your age, dude. Even I haven’t thought of that in years. And yes, I know I can be difficult.

2. kath the cook - September 24, 2009

good on you! congrats for finding each other and better yet for appreciating what you have. keep on cookin’

Peeps - September 24, 2009

Thank you. We’ll keep trying.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

