jump to navigation

I remember October 9, 2009

Posted by Peeps in Musings, random stuff.
trackback

A while ago, I mentioned that I’m getting old.  It’s mostly not a problem.  Except when I start thinking.

When I’m busy doing something that I don’t have to think about (for instance, working), my mind tends to roam into all sorts of strange areas.  The other day I got to thinking about how much things have changed during the course of my life.  And not always in a good way.

It sort of reminds me of the email everyone gets the first week of school talking about how kids just starting college don’t remember this that or the other, because they’re so young.

I remember…

When a phone only made and received calls.  And each family generally only had one.

When sweats came in one color.  Grey.  And the only time you wore them was for serious exercise.

When radio stations wouldn’t play “Only the Good Die Young” by Billy Joel because it was offensive.

When you wanted your car to look cool, you put whitewalls on it.

When Coors could not be purchased east of Texas.

When the word “text” wasn’t a verb.

When you could smoke inside.  Pretty much everywhere.

When the phrase “serial killer” didn’t exist.

When olive oil was bad for you.

When TVs, radios and other appliances had knobs.  That eventually broke.

When a man’s pants fit properly.

When “The Galloping Gourmet” was the other cooking show.

When people envied rich people.

When I kept hoping that rap was a fad.

When no one in this country had every heard of tapas or sushi.

When “lite” beer did not exist.

When Middle Eastern terrorists only tried to kill Israelis.

When no one knew what trans-fats were.  Or cared.

When seat belts were an option in cars.  But ashtrays were standard.

My brain is a very odd place, but I’m almost never bored.  Got any I missed?

Comments

1. Mazco34 - October 9, 2009

Here’s a few:

When cartoons had “violence”. As if a coyote getting run over by a truck was really that harmful.

When “Anyone” could afford to buy tickets to a sporting event, and sit in the best seats, and it didn’t cost the same as a college education.

When your only choice for soft drink was cola, root beer or orange. If you wanted something dietietic you ordered black coffee.

Party lines – the telephone type, not the type with a velvet rope.

Peeps - October 12, 2009

Wow, I’m not old enough for party lines.

2. Toy Lady - October 9, 2009

Remember having to GET UP and turn the KNOBS to change the three stations (plus UHF) of the BLACK AND WHITE television that was on the rickety old TV stand with the wheels?

Or having to go outside to turn the antenna so we could even watch that old B & W TV. . .

Mazco34 - October 9, 2009

Geez,

You really did grow up in the midwest.

Toy Lady - October 9, 2009

What? Didn’t you city people have antennas antennae?

Mazco34 - October 9, 2009

We had an antenna, but it was on the roof. We picked up NYC stations just fine, and even got a few Philly stations.

Cable changed all that. Perfect picture for every TV, on every channel.

Even Philly stations.

3. anne - October 9, 2009

When we had to make popcorn on the stove, out of real popcorn kernels. And it was a treat, not a meal. 🙂

Kids rode the bus to school.

Getting in trouble in school involved chewing gum. And not the police.

Peeps - October 12, 2009

And small children respected adults?

4. Sue - October 17, 2009

when jeans were worn on the waist 🙂

I will do better to check here from this point forward. I miss you guys.
Sorry I was early Peeps, but they didnt let me choose a delivery date.
Though of you and Kris at a wine festival today.
LoH


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

