jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 10.12.2009 October 12, 2009

Posted by Toy Lady in random stuff.
trackback

Photobucket

That goofy dog does love his tennis balls!  Currently, he’s got 5 of them knocking around the house – he keeps “losing” them, so we give him a new one, then he “finds” the old one . . . ultimately, he chews all the fuzz off of them, spreading it all over the carpet, and I end up throwing away naked tennis balls.

Oh well – it amuses him, anyway.

Photobucket

What fun it is that the main form of communication Surly Boy and I currently share is text messaging! (The Place is, basically, on the other side of the mountains, so cell phone reception is spotty, at best.)

So the other day, I we had this conversation:

Boy:  Hey.  Next package you send me something can you include some cd’s?
Me:  Blank CDs?
Boy:  No, some of my music.  And if you want some soap would be great.
Me:  Are the CDs in your room?
Boy:  They might be.  The one I really want is Otep.
Me:  If I can’t find it, I’ll send Kenny G.

Heh.  He’s just so easy to mess with!

Photobucket

PhotobucketYou’ll recall that when we go on our afternoon walks, we like to open the basement door so the anti-social basement-dwelling cat gets a chance to actually see daylight without canine molestation.

She almost seems offended that we expect her to play with a kitty toy, doesn’t she?

She totally bats that thing all over the place when no one is looking – don’t let her fool you!

Photobucket

Speaking of the afternoon walks.

Photobucket

Boy, those leaves are just coming down fast and furious, aren’t they?  It seems like just last week, they were barely starting to turn colors.

Oh, right, that was just last week.

Photobucket

Photobucket

So a few days ago, I noticed that our around-the-corner neighbors, the Harley Parents, have decorated for Halloween.  Unfortunately, while all innocent-looking in the daylight, the group of ghosties, in the darkness of the pre-dawn hour, almost resembles a Klan gathering!

Fortunately, there’s no bonfire on the front lawn!

Photobucket

I just want to go on record as saying this:

If there is anything in the world more ludicrous than awarding the Nobel Peace Prize to Jimmy Carter (other than giving it to Al Gore!) it’s got to be awarding the Nobel Peace Prize to Barack Obama.  He hasn’t actually ever done anything.

He wasn’t even in in Oslo to vote “present” for Pete’s sake.  What’s next?

Remind me, if I’m ever nominated, to just say “no thank you.”

Photobucket

Yes, this is a dreadful photo, but I use it to illustrate the great speed and agility shown by our blob of a kitty.  I think she’s getting to the point where she has had Enough.

Photobucket

Photobucket

If we slow it down a bit, what we see is an enormously pissed-off kitty – with good reason.  It’s gotten to the point where every time I open that basement door, HE (and you know who I mean!) sticks his big fat nose through the doorway and barks his fool head off, harassing her and keeping her from her dinner – it’s just more fun than a barrel of rabid monkeys, let me tell you!

She’s finally taken up boxing – and she’s getting good, too!  He shoves his nose at her, and she takes a good swat – which is just what they both need.  She’s actually drawn blood – and he’s backed off!

Photobucket

Photobucket

And a quick reminder – this week is the Third Thursday of October!  Please feel free to join us for our Third Thursday event – just “borrow” a recipe from someone else’s blog and tell us about it!  Complete details are here, and remember, the more the merrier!

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  We’re still, believe it or not, trying to get the freezer cleared out – it almost seems that for everything we take out, we put two back in!

Monday –  The weather forecast is calling for a reasonably nice day, so we pulled the last of our Better than A-1 Steak from the freezer to toss on the grill – at this time of the year, every day we can grill may be the last for a while, so we try to take advantage whenever we can!  We’ll serve the steak with some rice and either sauteed green beans or tossed salad.

Tuesday – We’re actually going to finish up the Swedish cannelloni we made last week for our Hobo Night dinner – it was actually surprisingly good – just the thing for a chilly October evening.  And whichever vegetable we don’t have Monday, we’ll have Tuesday.

Wednesday –  Swim class for the dog again.  (Boy, this dashing home from work and packing the kid dog up for his activities – I’ve sure missed it the past few years!)   It actually makes for the perfect soup night – this week, we’ll be recycling the rest of the corn filling we made for the sort-of-but-not-really ravioli a while back. We added some more vegetables, some whole corn, and we’ll see how it turns out!

Thursday – I did get a turkey roasted over the weekend, so this week, we’ll be enjoying proper hot turkey sandwiches.  Do you have any idea how difficult it is to find a good hot turkey sandwich anymore?  Yeah, I guess if you want something done right, you really do have to do it yourself, don’t you?

Friday –  As always, Friday is pizza night – it’s so nice to just relax with fresh homemade pizza, watch a movie or some TV, and give the dog his favorite Kong toy – everyone’s happy!

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for literally hundreds of other ideas.

Comments

1. origamifreak - October 12, 2009

Maybe Miss Thang is offended in that pic not by the purple cat toy, but the adjacent Naked Tennis Ball… 😉

– You think that’s it? Maybe because it smells like dog slobber? Eeewww. . .

2. judy - October 13, 2009

Well, you knew I would have to chime in and here I am. Two separate mentions of “my” cat and i sincerely hope that she has had enough already! I think DOG might have to figure out that he just might shed more blood if he does not make a pile of peace with her. Love that Kitty. Thanks as always for a fun read. Did you find The Boy’s CD?

Of course I can smell the wonderful food all the way to Albuquerque where I once again this past week got up at 4:30 am to sit up on a hill with my DD watching the balloons lift of for the Festival. It was 29 and I froze my old butt off before I got back in the car. I will not pay the price of admission and parking to freeze down on the field when the show is never guaranteed to go because of the wind factor and NO REFUNDS of either expense. If I could just revive that money tree ok, but it didn’t even leaf out this year. So I enjoyed what drifted over our heads and drank my home brewed coffee and took the next 24 hours to thaw out. I am just too old for this crap.

Have a good one guys and girls. Hugs and pats and smiles and ear scratches for my girl. 🙂

– Hi, Jude! I thought you’d be proud of the kitty! 😆
And yeah, I found his CD – it drives him nuts when I call it “Opec” – I think he thinks I just can’t remember the name and keeps correcting me.
Getting up early to watch balloons lift off – there are a lot worse ways to spend your mornings, you know!


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

