jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 10.19.2009 October 19, 2009

Posted by Toy Lady in Musings, random stuff.
trackback

Photobucket

I’ve been enjoying a few days of vacation time this week – I’ve been working for the same attorney for enough years where I basically have vacation to burn.

So what better thing to burn my vacation time on than painting the kitchen?

Rather than try to match the existing “manila” color, I thought I’d go with “twinkle” this time.  Doesn’t that sound nice?

Photobucket

Photobucket

I guess we know it’s fall – the saffron crocuses (crocii?) are blooming.

It looks like almost every one of the the bulbs we planted last year has split, so we’re going to have at least twice as much saffron as we did last year.

How cool is that?

Photobucket

Photobucket

We cleaned up the garden, getting it ready for the winter season.  There were still a few green tomatoes holding on, which will be awesome fried.

And I also pulled up what carrots we had left – they’ve had the entire summer to mature, and by golly, they’re actually looking like real carrots!  Who’da thunk?

Photobucket

PhotobucketThere’s one house we pass on our evening walks that seems to go just a bit over-the-top for Halloween.  I mean, really.

Unless someone here is suffering from the DTs or something . . . in which case I apologize for judging.

But otherwise . . . really?

Photobucket

Photobucket

OK, but this lift kit seems to be just a bit overboard, too.  I mean, what, they put a tractor frame on a pickup truck?

What, they’re towing something out of a marsh?

We, um, don’t really have much of a marsh problem in the neighborhood, you know.

Who actually drives something like this, anyway?

Photobucket

PhotobucketI’ve been quite busy during my vacation – and one of the things I finally got to was making chicken stock.  Remember a while back when I boned the all those chicken thighs?  Yeah, well, I took the bones and tossed them in the freezer to make stock from later on.

Well, now it’s later on.

Now that the stock is strained ,we’ll chill it overnight, then reduce the 10 quarts to 7 and can the lot of it.

Photobucket

So the other day, I woke up, as usual, to the Tin-Foil Hat Show, though since we’re now getting up even earlier than we used to, we miss out on the last hour or so of callers.

Photobucket

The guest host did, however, mention that You Too can carve your very own Death Star from a pumpkin . . . and he provided a link to step-by-step directions.

How awesomely cool, huh?

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  Fall is on its way, but we seem to be enjoying a couple of Indian summer-ish days, which is always pleasant.   Any chance we have to use the grill could be the last, so we’re taking as much advantage as we can!

Monday –  Don’t tell anyone, but it’s someone’s birthday.  And he wants to do some burgers, so that’s what we’ll do.  We’ve been very happy with grinding half really lean beef with half pork shoulder . . . it’s so much tastier than pre-ground beef from the supermarket!

Tuesday – The forecast promises that the decent weather will hold, so we’re going to marinade some nice pork chops in an olive-oil and herb mixture, to be tossed on the grill with some pan-roasted potatoes and what’s probably the last of our green beans for the season.

Wednesday – While he’s grinding the meat for Monday’s burgers, Peeps is going to grind some extra for me to make moussaka – we’ll be using both eggplant and potatoes – I love the combination of meat sauce, veggies and bechamel – opa!

Thursday –  We have part of a carton of buttermilk in the fridge from something else (WHY do they insist upon selling buttermilk in QUARTS when they KNOW no one ever needs more than a CUP?), so we’ll be pulling out an old favorite – chicken, marinated in buttermilk, rolled in bread crumbs and baked – check back next week for the actual recipe, along with freezer directions!

Friday – As always, Friday is pizza night.  Maybe, if I’m lucky, one or two of the tomatoes we salvaged from the garden will ripen so I can use it on my pizza.  Either way, though, I’m still going to enjoy as many fresh herbs as  I can – while I can!

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Comments

1. sjbraun - October 19, 2009

Happy Birthday, Peeps! (It IS Peeps, right?)
Oy vey, that spider house is majorly creepy!
I, too, need to gather in the rest of the green tomatoes, and we have a lot (not that I’m complaining). Youngest daughter and I gathered a bucket full last night and got about 1/3 of the way done.
Have a good week!

– How sad is this? I salvaged the green tomatoes, set them on the deck while I pulled up the plants and raked, then totally forgot all about them when I came in. I hope I can still, um, salvage some of the salvaged tomatoes after the Really Hard Frost we had last night. . . 😦

2. Mazco - October 19, 2009

Happy Birthday, Doc, and Jane too.

As for the double saffron, well there’s just one thing to say:

– Perfect!

To be honest, last year, I think we used all we had grown in risotto, and it really didn’t seem too impressive. Maybe this year, we’ll actually have enough to make a difference.

Either that, or I got crappy saffron bulbs. 😕

3. bluegrassgal - October 19, 2009

Now I miss Salt Lake and Fort Worth…not many Greek Food Festivals in our neck of the woods in Kentucky! *sigh* :O) (Oh, BTW, my MPM post is at http://bluegrassgal.wordpress.com/2009/10/19/menu-plan-monday-h1n1/).

– Hi, BGGal – welcome! I keep missing the Greek Festivals here – but I do love Greek food! I haven’t made moussaka in years, so I’m really looking forward to it this week! I have a cousin in Kentucky (whom I haven’t seen in 20 years!), but I’ve never been there. . . I hear it’s wonderful, though.

4. origamifreak - October 19, 2009

Wow, just LOOKING at that house with the spiders all over it made my skin crawl. It’s in your NEIGHBORHOOD? I think the thought of that down the street would give me nightmares. Seriously. There were whole parts of The Return of the King that I just couldn’t watch… LOL

I once carved a Maori mask on a pumpkin. It was a lot of work but in the end it looked pretty cool, heh heh.

I planted autumn croci but I think they’ve all died. 😐

– You do know they’re not real spiders, right? 😉

I’ve just never had the patience for pumpkin-carving, even when Surly Boy was small. It never came out the way I’d envisioned, and it always made such a mess. I’ve come to accept that I’m not terribly artistic, I guess, but I am kind of a perfectionist – if it doesn’t come out exactly right, I don’t want to do it at all. 😳

I thought my croci had died (witnessed by the dug-up bulbs I kept finding all summer!), but surprisingly they came back! Even one that are partially exposed are sporting little green tufts of leaves.

5. judy - October 19, 2009

just a quick hi and checking in. Fall sports schedules keep me hopping. Watched two baseball and one football game today. I am beat. YEA BRONCOS. 6-0.

the last of our tomatoes are picked including some green ones so may try to fry them.

Enjoy the rest of your time off.

jud

– Thanks, Jude. You know, it just seems to me that if it’s football season, then it shouldn’t still be baseball season. Ya know? I just don’t get it. 😕


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

