jump to navigation

October: The Roundup October 20, 2009

Posted by Toy Lady in Cooking, Cooking Challenge, random stuff, Third Thursday.
trackback

Here we are again – another month, another Third Thursday event.

Photobucket

You’ve already seen my attempt at Tuscan Grape Bread – it wasn’t perfect, but I’m glad I tried it!

This month, non-blogger Anne decided to join us via email – yay Anne!

Anne is a vegetarian, and her recipe for “Marvelous Mushrooms” comes from a  blog (Cooking 4 Carnivores) written by a vegetarian with a carnivore husband – a “blended diet family.”  Here’s Anne’ s dish:

I think I remember that you’re not particularly fond of shrooms, and neither is my DH.  This is portabellas, which he has already declared that he doesn’t care for.  But anything is better with garlic and cheese, right?  He said he’d try them, but reserved the right not to eat it all.  Well, he ate it all.  Phooey, I was looking forward to getting his share.  He made the curiously odd declaration, after the first bite, that it reminded him of escargot.  Um .. huh?  We concluded that it was probably the garlic (I’m a bit heavy handed), combined with the slightly slippery, somewhat chewy nature of the mushroom.  Anyway, he agreed that if I were to make these again, he’d eat them again.  In my house, that’s huge. 🙂

They weren’t quite as flavorful as I had imagined but we liked them and will probably be making them again.

Now, with the exception of the whole mushroom thing, this does not sound half bad!  Plus, be sure to check out the entry for “guilt free” garlic fries – french fries with garlic and olive oil – and no deep fryer!

Thanks, Anne, for joining us this month and for pointing us to a delightful new blog – one I’ll definitely look forward to visiting again!  Although we’re both carnivores in this house, I do like to keep our dining options . . . well-rounded!

So join us next month – we can use more participants!  Just borrow a recipe from someone else’s blog and show us what you’re doing!

Next month’s Third Thursday is November 19 – the week before Thanksgiving (AND beaujolais nouveau day) – check out the guidelines and send me an email, and we’ll see you right here!

