jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 10.26.2009 October 26, 2009

Posted by Toy Lady in Musings, random stuff.
trackback

Photobucket

So you know I took a few days of vacation time last week, which was a nice break for me.  Mostly.

I did some painting in the kitchen, including the basement door.  Poor kitty – she wasn’t quite sure what to think, with the door open half the time, and the dog within smelling distance!

She did all right, though – she mostly just hung around the kitchen, watching what was going on.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Of course, it didn’t hurt that she was fairly safe from molestation from her canine counterpart!

He was less than thrilled with the barrier blocking the doorway, but we didn’t have any problems with his charging the gate, or trying to jump it, or chew on it or anything.

And who knows – it may just be the beginning of a new era of peace and tolerance.  Right?

Photobucket

PhotobucketWe had a decent day last week and decided to run out and pick some apples.  It was nowhere near as glorious an apple-picking day as we had last year, but we did OK.

We simply intended to pick about what we did last year – 20 pounds or so of Granny Smiths.

Which we did.  Then we picked a bag of Fuji apples, a bunch of Jonagolds and some 20-ounce apples.

Yeah.  All in all, we ended up with, rather than 20 pounds of apples, more like 40.  That’s a lot of applesauce, huh?

Photobucket

You may have seen the original of this video floating around in the past week or so, but this updated version is just plain funny.  This poor guy shouldn’t be out on his own, that’s for sure!

Photobucket

PhotobucketWent to the public market Saturday, and I scored something “new” and “exciting!”  New and exciting to me, anyway – Peeps was somewhat underwhelmed by the idea of Jerusalem artichokes.

Which, surprisingly, are neither related to artichokes nor are they from Jerusalem.  Go figure.  They’re actually a tuber in the same family as sunflowers – and are also called sunchokes.

I have no idea yet what I’m going to do with them, though.

Photobucket

PhotobucketI also picked up a basket of red chili peppers and more garlic – we’re almost out of the homemade sriracha sauce that Peeps made last year!

Although the original Huy Fong chili garlic sauce is readily now in our local supermarkets, it’s just good to be able to make our own, too.

The really cool thing is that for less than $2 ($1 for the peppers and $1 for the whole basket of garlic), he can make enough sauce to last the better part of the year.

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  We’ve had a busy couple of weeks, what with my being on vacation and trying to do way too much, but we’ll be settling down to normal for a while – at least until the Thanksgiving holiday!  We’re still working diligently on getting the freezers cleared out – which is harder than it sounds!

Monday –  Peeps has been wanting meat loaf for a little while, so meat loaf it is!  Along with that, he’ll be making a pan of au gratin potatoes and I’ll cook some beets that I picked up at the market Saturday.

Tuesday – We had a package of lobster ravioli filling in the freezer that Peeps had brought home from work, and it just has to go!    We’re going to try shaping it into patties, breading it, and making lobster cakes . . . alongside a crisp salad with some lemon vinaigrette, it should be just about perfect.

Wednesday –  Wednesday is the dog’s swim class, so I made a leek and potato soup that Peeps will put in the crock pot when he gets home from work.  By the time we get home, it should be hot and ready to eat – yum!

Thursday – As part of the “cleaning out the freezer project,” we dug out a pan of BBQ’ed turkey from the Fourth of July weekend. . . it’s time for that to get eaten, wouldn’t you say?  I’m going to make some oven-baked sweet potato fries and steam some green beans from the freezer – what a great dinner, huh?

Friday –  Pizza night – yay!  I steamed a bunch of artichokes last week , and we never got around to finishing them . . . so I salvaged the hearts, and those are going on my pizza.  I do love artichokes!

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Comments

1. Gretchen - October 26, 2009

Wow your menu looks really delicious!

– Thank you!

2. origamifreak - October 26, 2009

Wow, how funny. I just put a T of the Huy Fong chili garlic sauce in my soup today (microwaved greens, zucchini, miso, and seitan).

One thing that strikes me as peculiar is that the bottle doesn’t say anywhere on it “refrigerate after opening.” So I guess nothing wants to live in that toxic cocktail of salt, garlic, and pepper? It tastes good to ME – so why wouldn’t it taste good to microorganisms? Just sayin’

My dad used to grow Jerusalem Artichokes. He liked to shred them and put them in breakfast ‘pancakes.’ It was Nasty.

I’m sure you can find a much more suitable use for them! LOL

– We always keep the sriracha refrigerated – I was going to check the jar of Huy Fong (for myself!), but honestly? I wasn’t in the mood to do the cat-dog-snarl-lunge dance and go to the basement for it! I’m a great believer, though, in “better safe than sorry.”

So. . . I shouldn’t put the Jerusalem artichokes in pancakes? Duly noted. 😉

3. judy - October 26, 2009

Awe…. I see the Kitty and the Dog. I will be interested in seeing how the gate idea might work more than once! Dog look big and Kitty is just worming into my heart AGAIN.

HAVE A GREAT WEEK YOU GUYS. j

Aw, Jude. You know she (hearts) you. 😀

But I don’t know about that gate. It certainly wouldn’t stop him if he charged it! So far, though, he’s respecting it. . .

4. kath the cook - October 26, 2009

the sunchokes are really good grated into salads – not a lot of flavor but a nice crunch – kind of radishy but not as spicy. I would also think about a slaw kind of thing…….

That actually was one of my thoughts! The other was to do some sort of a gratin – there’s certainly plenty!

I just don’t want a repeat of the turnip experience – I roasted some and made a slaw with some, and both were . . . disgusting. 🙄

5. kathleen - October 27, 2009

So, wow, the drunk guy.

That was a fantastic way to start the week! If nothing else, he has perseverance.

And 40 pounds of apples?!? That’s an awful amount of apple pie, and apple crisp, and apple pancakes, and applesauce, and apple butter, and apple chips, and apple fritters…

Enjoy!

– I almost feel sorry for the drunk guy! Or I would if he wasn’t such a colossal idiot. . .

Yeah, we started out just to get about 20 pounds of apples. That was just about right last fall – enough for eating fresh, a little baking, and then when they started getting a little, well, elderly, the rest made fine applesauce. We just got a little carried away. 😳

But hey – apple pancakes!


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

