jump to navigation

In the news October 30, 2009

Posted by Peeps in news, random stuff.
trackback

Okay, so when things are slow here, and my decidedly boring life doesn’t provide me with anything to talk about, I have to go looking.  The news is sometimes a good place for it.

Locally, this story broke late Saturday.  Now, I can almost understand a football player in the heat of moment during a tense game losing control.  Almost.  But assaulting someone after the game was over is criminal.  Particularly since it was a referee.  Referees are not generally thought of as being tough athletes.

There is a world of difference between being competitive and being a poor sportsman.  This guy is not Lyle Alzado, for crying out loud.  Mr. Woods needs to be taught a lesson that doesn’t involve anger management classes or tolerance seminars or any other type of touchy-feely crap.  Hopefully, he will be banned from football for the rest of his life and spend a few years in prison.  At least a few years.  After paying all his victim’s hospital costs.

Nationally, the World Series has started.  And even though baseball is the all American pasttime, I can’t get into it this year.  I’m very conflicted.  Being from New Jersey, I’ve been conditioned to not like any sports team from Philidelphia.  At the same time, I’ve been a Mets fan all my life and can’t stand the Yankees.

So, it’s hard to care about the whole thing when I’d dearly love to see both teams lose.  Particularly since the Series is screwing up other things I want to watch on Fox.

There’s been a lot of talk lately about a big storm that dumped a lot of snow on Colorado this week.  Really?  Gee.

I spent three years going to school in Colorado.  It snows there.  Frequently.  And generally in large amounts.  Granted, it may be a bit early for it.  But not by much.  Why is this news?

Add to all this the normal forty minutes out of every hour of news about what the Obama Administration and its lackies in Congress are up to, and it’s no wonder why I want the World Series over so I can go back to watching House in peace.

Comments

1. origamifreak - October 30, 2009

LOL. Did you spell “lackeys” this way as a pun? If so, duly noted. 😉

Peeps - October 30, 2009

Actually, I did not. I was tired and not paying much attention. But I will leave it, if it amuses you.

2. judy - November 2, 2009

WOW. Not a good week I guess? I care about the snow only because it impacts my family in Boulder. Where did you go to school there? Boulder, Fort Collins, Denver, Greeley. Hope the next week is better for you!

Peeps - November 2, 2009

I went to boarding school in Carbondale, about forty miles west of Aspen. And snow was just part of life there.
It wasn’t a bad week, but sometimes things just get to me.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

