jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 11.02.2009 November 2, 2009

Posted by Toy Lady in Musings.
trackback

Photobucket

Well, Halloween has come and gone. I don’t know about any of you, but we had a fairly decent night for it!  A fairly balmy evening – a little windy, but at least it was dry!

The moon was almost full – perfect for the little ghosts and goblins and witches to roam around beneath.

Photobucket

PhotobucketPeeps and I upheld our tradition and enjoyed a glass of, well, some sort of spooky wine.

For a long time, we could only find Vampire wine, and that, not easily.  Then we started coming across other labels – I guess the whole Halloween wine thing started really catching on a couple of years ago!

And this year, we found “Evil” wine, which was, surprisingly, not too bad at all!

Photobucket

I finally sent a “letter to the editor” to our local newspaper – and they published it!  I’ve been meaning to do that for years.  And if it sounds at all familiar, well, it should.  It’s basically an abbreviated version of my thoughts regarding trick-or-treating, as shared last year, which is an abbreviated version of my opinion as shared verbally for the past decade or so . . .

Not that it did any good!  I swear, there were even MORE “kids” sporting cleavage, beards and strollers than ever before.  And they don’t even say “thank you,” either.

Photobucket

Photobucket

We roasted a bunch of butternut squash over the weekend, and I decided to roast the seeds, as well.  (They’re just like roasted pumpkin seeds, only smaller – so tasty!)

And we made an interesting discovery.

You know the slimy squash guts that you have to clean off the seeds in order to roast them?  Yeah, well, Freak Boy absolutely loves that stuff.

He’s just weird.

Photobucket

PhotobucketThis Tuesday is local election day. Yay.

I have pretty much gotten to the point that my priority is “throw the bums out.”   I don’t care what party they represent, and I don’t care how great a job they tell me they’re doing.  They’re part of the problem, and they need to go.

Take, for instance, our local Town Supervisor race.  Under the current Supervisor, we’ve had the tax scandal that just won’t go away.

The police department is a shambles.

And while I’m not saying the Supervisor is bad – this all happened on his watch – and that’s just the stuff we know about!  What about the stuff we don’t know?

Throw the bums out, indeed.

The problem?   Well, his challenger is a true-blue, dyed-in-the-wool union guy.  And that can’t be a good thing.  Just ask GM.

Photobucket

Have I mentioned lately that I hate time-change weekend?

Photobucket

Yeah.  Why can’t they just leave us – and our clocks – alone?

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  We’re still working on clearing out the freezers – both to, well, get the freezers cleared out (duh!) and to save a little extra money for the holidays.  One thing I’ve noticed over the years is that Christmas sure has a way of sneaking up on us!  So with that, here we go!

Monday –  The Monday AFTER time-change weekend is always rough, isn’t it?  Peeps pulled some smoked brisket out of the freezer to just simply reheat n the oven – no muss, no fuss.  We’ve got some grilled corn in the freezer and chard still in the garden, which makes it super-simple!

Tuesday – Last weekend, we cooked a pork roast, which was quite good, if a little bland.  However, the roast was braised in lots of apple cider, and there was plenty left over, which gave us a chance to put together a sort of pork shepherd’s pie – it’s got pork and veggies and gravy, with a mashed potato and parsnip topping – where’s the bad?

Wednesday –  We’ve got Jarly’s swim class, so we made a pot of butternut squash soup – I’m hoping to have plenty for lunch and to freeze some for later!

Thursday – I finally dug the last veal breast out of the freezer.  It’s been sitting in the freezer for what seems like ages because I just didn’t have any idea what to do with it!  I’m going to try treating it like veal shanks – I’ll brown it in the morning, then braise it in the slow cooker with some white wine and chicken stock, along with the basic aromatics . . . we’ll see how that goes!

Friday – Pizza night!  Peeps brought home some tomato-roasted red pepper sauce from work last week, and it was quite good as pizza sauce – I think there’s enough left for this week too!

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other meal plan ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. Rona - November 2, 2009

I’m trying to come up with a Christmas budget this year. I cannot believe that the holidays are already here!
Your family is definitely going to have some delicious meals this week.

– I know – it seems that the older we get, the faster it approaches! I’ve barely gotten used to the idea that I’m scraping frost off my windshield in the morning!

2. Jen - November 2, 2009

We had a suprisingly polite bunch of kids in our neighbourhood ringing bells. Age schmage, if they dress up and get in the spirit then I give them candy. I just draw the line when they when they come with a pillow case and a cigarette hanging out of their mouth-that makes me mad!

– See, that’s the key – they should, at the very least, make an effort to dress up.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

