jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 11.16.2009 November 16, 2009

Posted by Toy Lady in Musings.
trackback

PhotobucketEarly Sunday morning, after we returned from our LONG Sunday morning walk, the walk that should have tired him out for the better part of the day, Jarly evidently decided that he was done with his chewy-rope.  He grabbed it, flung it around the room, stepped on it while he tugged on it, and just generally spread it all over the living room.   Apparently he was trying to tell us something – I’m just not quite sure what!

But it’s dead now.  And the floor has been vacuumed.

Photobucket

We had to haul out both Dutch ovens for this weekend’s cooking project.

Photobucket

It drives Peeps nuts when I swap the lids on them.

That amuses me.

Photobucket

PhotobucketI was doing some baking the other day, and I carelessly reached into the oven and burned the back of my hand.  Ouch!

After I spent the better part of the morning complaining about how much it hurt (which it did!) I remembered an old remedy for burns.  I went to the supermarket and got a tube of diaper rash ointment.  Just a little smear on the burn, and it immediately stopped hurting.  By the next morning, I’d forgotten all about it until I saw the blister.

AND the store brand ointment doesn’t even smell like a baby’s behind!

Photobucket

I did something this week that I never, ever, in a million years would have thought I’d do.

Photobucket

I actually put clothes on our dog.

I know.

But here’s the thing – when he has his swim sessions, the pool is heated to 92 degrees.  And winter is coming.  Winter where we’re going to be leaving the warm, humid pool area to go out into the, well, into a Rochester winter.    Since it’s virtually impossible to be sure he’s completely dried (it’s very hard to dry a dog that just doesn’t want to stand still, you know), it only makes sense to put a warm, fleecy, wind-resistant jacket on him, doesn’t it?

It was either that, or we wrap him in a blanket and carry him to the car, and that just ain’t gonna happen!

Photobucket

Photobucket

Don’t forget this week is the Third Thursday of the month!  Please feel free to join us for November’s Third Thursday event – just “borrow” a recipe from someone else’s blog and tell us about it!  I’m testing recipes for my Thanksgiving food assignment – this should be fun!

Complete details are here, and remember, the more the merrier!

Photobucket

So Peeps and I were in the car the other day, when a “blast from the past” came on the radio:

As the daughter of a mechanic, I always wanted to see a real “junkyard dog!”  You know what’s funny, though?  When I finally did meet one, it wasn’t all that mean at all – but the herd of pigs that lived in the same junkyard was a different story!

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  It’s looking like we’ve got a crazy week ahead of us, so this week, we’re trying to do as much work ahead of time as we can – create a couple of serious short cuts for ourselves!

Monday – Since we spent the better part of Sunday afternoon making a double batch of pork sugo, we’re of course going to enjoy it right away!  And since this is probably the busiest day of the week for us (or at least it’s right up there with Dog Swim Day!), dinner will be merely a matter of cooking pasta, grating cheese, reheating sauce, and tossing a salad.

Tuesday – Back when Peeps and I had our meal-prep business, one of our more popular offerings was Cinnamon-Honey Chicken Tenders – chicken with a cinnamon breading and a cinnamon-honey butter sauce – and it’s delightful!  I will of course share the recipe with you later on – be sure to check back!

Wednesday – It’s the dog’s swim class, so we’re going to need something we can put in the slow cooker – and some of Peeps’s frozen BBQ fills the bill!  Once we get home, we’ll cook a batch of rice and reheat some of the mustard greens that we stashed in the freezer last week, and we’ll be good to go!

Thursday – Back in October, when we made our Swedish cannelloni, Peeps made a lot of potato sausage.  I mean a lot.  We have about half of it (cooked) in the freezer, and he brought home some fresh pasta sheets, so it looks like we’ll have a repeat.

Friday –  Of course, it’s pizza night.

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. Elizabeth @ Type A Mommy - November 16, 2009

I saw you on Org Junkie today when I was posting my menu and couldn’t pass up visiting your blog – I just love your blog title! And your post had me cracking up once I saw your mismatched dutch ovens and the story behind them. Totally something I would do. Nice to “meet” you, I’ll definitely be back!

-Thanks, Elizabeth! You know, it doesn’t take an awful lot to amuse me, does it? 😉

2. Melinda - November 16, 2009

ok i have some catching up to do but i will plan my Thursday menu accordingly NO MORE FOOTBALL !!!!! James has been in town so i am totally off schedule but he leaves tomorrow and after biz town i have the WHOLE week to catch up so i will see you in cyber land and catch up on your blogs this week. hope you missed me as much i missed you
btw Jarly looks very handsome in his coat and he will need it, darn i miss cold weather…

Melinda – hey! I was just thinking about you the other day and wondering what you were up to! I’d love to have you join us for our Third Thursday, too – yay!


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

