jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 12.07.2009 December 7, 2009

Posted by Toy Lady in Musings, random stuff.
trackback

So, you do know what today is, don’t you?  It’s the 68th anniversary of the attack on Pearl Harbor.

Remember:

Those who cannot learn from history are doomed to repeat it.

Photobucket

Photobucket

We were out doing some shopping this weekend and found some fuzzy kitty toys, so we had to remind the Kitty that we didn’t forget that she loves her kitty toys.

She’s wrecked one already.  Not really wrecked it – she pulled it off the string that it dangled from, that’s all.

That’s a sign of happiness, right?

Photobucket

PhotobucketWe finally had our first snow this winter – not that I’m glad or anything.  It was just, you know, waiting for something you know is going to happen any minute, but you just don’t know when, and you don’t know how bad it’s going to be.

This was not bad – notwithstanding all the Rochester drivers who were apparently SHOCKED to see snow on the first of December.  In Rochester.  Shocked, judging by their lack of winter driving skills.

Fortunately for all of us, the snow had all melted by the end of the same day.

Photobucket

PhotobucketPeeps and I have been tossing most of our spare change (except the pennies)  into an old tin; since we’ve started spending mostly cash instead of plastic (credit or debit), we have a lot more change weighing down or pockets and purse lately.

My purse is more than heavy enough as it is.Photobucket

Since it’s a reasonably painless way to save money, we thought it would be kind of neat to cash in the change to use toward Christmas shopping.

Then we realized that we can cash in our change at a Coinstar machine, and if we opted for “gift certificates” rather than “cash” the coin sorting would be free.

And an Amazon gift certificate is almost exactly like cash.

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  Between trying to get the freezers emptied (again!) and old recipes sorted and organized, we’ve been challenged to come up with some creative (and not too unhealthy!) meals.

Monday – I’ve been meaning to make this wonderful Skillet Chicken and Rice dish again for ages!  It’s been a couple of years, but, as I recall, we absolutely loved it!  Check back later on, or drop me an email, and I’ll tell you all about it!

Tuesday – We pulled a package of sauce for pork sugo from the freezer.  All we’ll need to do is cook some pasta, toss it with the sauce and plenty of parm, and bake until heated through. . . and, of course, make a salad!

WednesdaySwim class again – so it’s crock pot night!  My brother asked if we could make some chili this week, so we’ll do that instead of soup.  Hmmm. . . I wonder if I’ll have time to make cornbread?

Thursday –  We enjoyed the cinnamon-honey chicken fingers so much a couple of weeks ago that we’re going to do another old favorite chicken finger recipe – this one has more a parmesan-herb coating.  Completely different, yes, but just as delightful!  Be sure to check back, probably next week, for more details about that dish, too!

Friday – Where would we be without pizza night?  It’s a great thing to just unwind on a Friday night with Peep’s fabulous sourdough crust topped by whatever toppings my little heart desires.  Plus there’s always a bit left for breakfast Saturday morning, which like a bonus!  This week, I’m going to start extra sourdough starter, so he can make extra dough, and, based on something I read over on Michael Ruhlman’s blog, I want to try a loaf of sourdough bread – using the same dough!  How cool will that be?

We don’t normally plan the weekend meals in advance – it all depends on what kind of week it’s been for us, or what’s going on (basically, what kind of mood we’re in!), we did dig a leg of lamb out that’s been in the freezer far too long, and we dug out a recipe that Peeps has been holding onto for, literally, years.   This should be interesting. . .

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. judy - December 7, 2009

A local vet attended today’s Pearl Harbor remembrance. First time back for him. He was very emotional. My father worked in a “critical” job (was a milk man – who knew) so the draft determination was who had the most children at his plant. He had more than his work mate Kenny so Kenny was drafted. My father always felt badly about that and was so relieved when Kenny came back ok.

What time is lamb being served? My most favorite meat for all my life. My mother always let us kids pick what we want to eat for our birthday meal. My choice was always lamb. Now I can’t afford it but I still remember how good it is.

Kitty – patting your little head and scratching your belly. Oh, you never expanded on Surly Boy’s visit! Or did I miss that.

Have a good week you guys judy

Hey, Jude. Lamb is probably some time Sunday – it’s going to take all day, and I’ve got cookies to bake Saturday. (And this one, we picked up on quick sale, so it wasn’t as painful as it could have been!)

You don’t want to scratch the kitty’s belly – I’ve got the scars to prove it! And as for The Boy’s visit, well, there wasn’t much to expand on. He evidently spent a lot of time catching up with his dad and all his friends, which, to him, is pretty much what matters, I guess. He did give me a hug before he left, which is something. 😉

2. anne - December 7, 2009

About the coinage thing, check with your bank or credit union. My CU has a change counter right out in the lobby You dump, it sorts, then you take the receipt to the counter and get real money back. I just did that today, my coin jar was full. It’s slightly smaller than a quart mason jar, and when it gets full it’s worth about $75. Free money!!

It’s either that, or Wendy’s gets 488 pennies, which they hate in the drive-thru! 🙂

I know one of our local banks does the coin thing (at least in some of its branches) but not our credit union. Probably because there’s a coinstar machine on practically every corner now . . .

And heh – I remember those years when I was buying packs of cigarettes with pennies – 50 or so of them. 🙄


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

