jump to navigation

Living through December December 18, 2009

Posted by Peeps in random stuff.
trackback

For a very long time, I haven’t liked December.  It’s not so much the holidays, it’s just bad things have a way of happening during December.  For instance, I’ve had two cars broken into, both times in December.  I could list a dozen more examples, but you get the idea.  It makes a person a little wary.

Last weekend, my wife and I were walking the dog.  We were on Ridge Road, a busy mostly commercial street.  We were the only ones on the sidewalk and we were just walking along, not bothering anyone.

Suddenly, I heard someone shout a very rude thing from a passing car.  Whoever it was shouted out the “N word”.

Now, at the best of times, I don’t approve of that word.  And I certainly don’t approve of it being hurled in my direction.  And most definitely not without any sort of provocation.  But of course, it’s December.

The last time I heard someone shout that word from a passing vehicle was almost thirty years ago in a little town in Colorado.  That time, I took a detour because I saw the gun rack in the back of the truck.  Which turned out to be a prudent precaution, as they turned around to say or do something else.  I then ran like hell.  I can be very fast when I’m frightened.

But it’s the Twenty-first Century, folks.  Shouldn’t people have stopped doing this sort of thing a long time ago?  I mean, I realize that stupidity never goes away.  It never will.  But are we ever going to get past this sort of thing?

Whatever.  If that’s the worst this December throws at me, I’ll consider it a victory.  But I’m not counting on it.  I only have to get through two more weeks, and I’ll feel a lot safer.

Oh, and as my nod to the holiday season, have a happy whatever you celebrate.  Here you go:

Comments

1. Mazco34 - December 18, 2009

Some one called you “Nice?”

It’s good to have you back, my grumpy friend!

2. Peeps - December 19, 2009

Yeah, right after they called me a good influence.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

