jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 12.21.2009 December 21, 2009

Posted by Toy Lady in Musings.
trackback

Photobucket

We did get our Christmas tree up – finally!  I think I’m always the last one in the world to put up my tree – traditionally, it goes up the weekend before Christmas and comes down on New Year’s Day.  Any longer, and it becomes  less special, I think.

Last year, the Charlie Brown tree worked out so well that we decided to get another potted tree this year – we’ll plant it in the yard some time next spring.

Photobucket

Poor kitty!

Photobucket

She’s just so put out when the dog comes back in from his walks!

Photobucket

PhotobucketSo Peeps picked up 2% milk the other day at Aldi.  We normally buy 1% milk, but Aldi doesn’t carry it, he was over there, anyway, and it wasn’t worth a stop at another store.

I never noticed this before, but it says it has less fat than “regular” milk?

Really?

Did he buy IRregular milk, then?

Photobucket

PhotobucketI picked up a bottle of bubbles.

Do you have any idea how much fun it is to watch the dog chase them around the living room?

Yes, I am easily amused, aren’t I?  You should see me with a laser pointer!

I wonder what would happen if I actually got him bacon-scented bubbles?  You know, besides the fact that he would lose his furry little mind!

Photobucket

The Christmas cactus is in full swing, which makes perfect sense, given the fact that Christmas is just a few days away.

PhotobucketIt’s so stunning when it’s in bloom, isn’t it?

Photobucket

Photobucket

OK, how about one more round of “Shopping With Peeps”?

While we were shopping, Peeps pointed out to me this “In Your Oven” chicken coating mix.

Look – it’s “New – Bakeable!”

Really?  Bakeable?  In your oven?  Great. . .

Photobucket

Photobucket

So we bought ourselves a proper candy thermometer (evidently meat thermometers don’t go high enough!) and  we tried our hand at candy-making this weekend.  You know, playing around with melted sugar at temperatures well above boiling. . . ooooh, fun!

“Why” is kind a long-ish story, so I’ll share it with you later on in the week.  And if you want to play along, just dust off your candy thermometer and check back – you’ll thank me later!

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  Can you believe that Christmas is this week?  What with the holidays and our uncertain work schedules and Surly Boy‘s coming home this week, we’re trying to keep things as simple as we can this week, that’s for sure!

Monday –  We’re going to try one last shot at the grill – we picked up a pound of white hots to grill, along with some baked beans and some variation of potatoes.  I guess we have to keep reminding ourselves that the snow won’t last forever. . .

Tuesday – Again, in the interest of quick and easy and clearing out the freezer,we’re going to enjoy another meal of our pork sugo.  Yes, I know we just had that a couple of weeks ago, but we really like it – plus it’s EASY!

Wednesday – Besides being swim class night, The Boy will be home that day, and since we don’t know exactly what time, and since it’s going to be cold snowy, it’s the perfect night for a nice soup!  I kind of started with this  Cooking Light recipe for Chipotle Chicken and Tomato soup and, well, I enhanced it.  Yeah, that’s what I did!

Thursday – We roasted a turkey over the weekend, and, as is prone to happening with whole turkeys, we had some left over.  I did stash away enough meat to do hot turkey sandwiches for lunch one day, but I’m also going to put together a turkey tetrazzini.  We’ll see how that works out, huh?

Friday – Well, here we are – Christmas!  We’ll be pushing pizza night off to Saturday (obviously!) and will spend the holiday with my family, enjoying rib roast, Yorkshire pudding (I hope!), and I’ll be baking fresh rolls (my food assignment).  Oh, yay.

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. sjbraun - December 21, 2009

I would love to go grocery shopping with you guys – you notice the most amusing things 🙂 Maybe it’s just Aldi, though – they do have some unusual stuff. I don’t get there too often.

Yes, your cactus is beautiful! Do you have to do anything to get it to bloom (ie put it into darkness 8 hrs a day or something like that)?

We’re “dogsitting” this week and I will remember to pull out some bubbles … 🙂

Merry, Merry Christmas to you all!!

Awww. . . that’s one of the nicest things anyone’s ever said. 😉 We try to do our shopping as early as possible, though – it just wouldn’t do to be too disruptive when the store is busy!

The Christmas cactus, actually, no, I don’t have to do anything special, which is just as well. 😕 I did read that they like to be root-bound to blossom, so I didn’t transplant it last summer, even though there was barely any soil left in the pot! I ended up loosening the plant and adding some fresh soil, though – I couldn’t stand it! Since it’s in the garden window, it seems to be very sensitive to the changing seasons and light – it usually starts budding right around daylight savings time (or is it standard? I never can remember!) – the house starts getting darker an hour earlier, and I guess the plant thinks it’s fall. Which, I guess, technically it is. 😀

2. SnoWhite - December 21, 2009

I was shocked when I saw white hots….! my hubby introduced these to me. we might just be having some this weekend too.

merry christmas!

Thanks, Snowy! 😉

You know, my Peeps had never heard of white hots either until I introduced him! Kinda makes you feel like you belong to some special club, doesn’t it? 😆

And a Merry Christmas to you too!

3. Rona - December 21, 2009

We drink 2% reduced milk. It took awhile for me to convert my whole milk husband but after 13 years he doesn’t miss it.
I love the color of your Christmas cactus.
You have a delicious menu planned!
I’m so glad that my husband isn’t working on Christmas Eve and Christmas. He really needs the days off.
Here’s wishing you and yours a Merry Christmas!

ps Please feel free to stop by my blog and leave a comment regarding “Do you still read the newspaper”?

Hey, Rona! You know, I grew used to REAL whole milk when I lived on the farm, and at first, I hated 2% – it may as well be skim! Then, when I started (trying) to lose weight, I switched from 2% to 1%, and I didn’t notice any difference at all. A couple of months ago, a farmer at the market had real whole milk, and THAT, you could tell the difference!

Best wishes for Christmas and the new year to you and your family, as well!

4. anne - December 21, 2009

I have a Christmas cactus just that color. Unfortunately it bloomed in November. 😕 I have another that I used to call my Martin Luther King Day cactus, because it was always late. This year it also bloomed in November. They sure do like NC summers for setting buds!!

You’ve mentioned that before – how very odd! Maybe the MLK cactus will bloom again?

I’ve seen Christmas cactus that are a gorgeous salmon color that I’d love, too, but I just don’t have any room for another (potentially) big plant. . .

5. judy - December 26, 2009

Enjoyed it all! The season has gotten to me and I am now tired. I used to do Christmas cactus too. I miss them. Love the Kitty for me and pat the Dog. I hope your family had a great holiday,

Good for Surly Boy. He must learn to navigate his world without you driving!

Hope 2010 is all you hoped for. Hugs to all.

judy

Hey, Jude! Relax and enjoy the rest of the holiday season – you deserve it! Even I’m trying to take it a little easy this week. . .


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

