jump to navigation

Have I mentioned that I love my peanut butter? January 7, 2010

Posted by Toy Lady in Cooking, Food, Holidays Countdown, random stuff.
trackback

Yeah, I do love me some peanut butter.  Not that icky Skippy, either, or, heaven forbid, that disgusting “natural” crap.  Jif.  Choosy moms choose Jif, and I’m a mom, and I’m obviously choosy.

How sad would it be to have one of those kill-you-dead-if-you’re-in-the-same-room peanut allergies? You know, I just might go for it anyway, because I’m not sure life would be worth living without my Jif.  I love peanut butter that much.

Remember how much I loved the peanut butter pie we ended up taking to the family Thanksgiving?  Well, I love peanut butter cookies even more – it’s peanut butter you can eat with your hands!  Add to that the fact that we decided to build anti-Christmas cookie baskets this year, and, well, it’s almost a no-brainer, isn’t it?

Photobucket

How would you like to try a couple of Cook’s Illustrated Big, Super-Nutty Peanut Butter Cookies?  While I can’t actually share the cookies themselves with you (they’re long gone!) I can share how much fun they were to bake.  I made exactly 28 cookies from this recipe.  (The original recipe said 3 dozen.   I probably could have used a smaller scoop, but whatever.)

Start by preheating the oven to 350°.  Sift together the dry ingredients:

  • 12.5 oz. (2½ cups) flour
  • ½ tsp. each baking soda and powder
  • 1 tsp. table salt

Then beat, in a stand mixer, 2 sticks (or ½ pound) of unsalted butter until it’s creamy, then beat in 1 cup each of white death (granulated sugar) and dark brown sugar, then beat until fluffy.  Add 1 cup of  peanut butter.  Good peanut butter.  Extra-Crunchy Jif, if you love your ultimate cookie consumers.  (I’m just saying – good peanut butter – peanut butter that tastes good – it shows your love.)

When the PB is fully incorporated, beat in an egg, then another, then 2 teaspoons of vanilla extract.

Photobucket

In the meantime (probably while your stuff is mixing in the stand mixer and you’re adding stuff one ingredient at a time), you’re going to want to haul out the food processor, too.

Hey, the number of appliances you use is a measure of how much you love your cookie recipients, right?

Grind 1 cup of roasted, salted peanuts (the snacking kind – get a big jar!) until they’re about the coarseness of bread crumbs – this will help add “super-nutty” flavor.

Photobucket

So back to the mixer.  You’ve got your peanut butter-plus-other stuff mixture going on, and it’s smooth and incorporated and everything.  You’ll want to gently stir in the flour mixture.  We all know what happens when you just throw flour into a stand mixer, don’t we?  Is there anyone here who doesn’t know what happens?

No, I didn’t think so.

Then gently stir in the chopped peanuts.

PhotobucketAnd step over the dog, who is lying in the middle of the floor waiting -intently- for you to drop some peanut butter.  As if that’s going to happen.

Photobucket

Roll the dough into “large balls” – the original recipe says 2 Tablespoons at a time.  Me, I used a #24 scoop, which may or may not be slightly larger than 2 Tablespoons.

Then, using a dinner fork, do your basic PB Cookie Indentation – the cross hatches that tell you, without tasting or smelling, that THIS is a peanut butter cookie.

Then just bake them, until puffy and slightly browned, about 12 minutes or so.  Yes they look a little undercooked – but they will firm up on the cookie sheet – let them sit for about 5 minutes before transferring to a cooling rack.

Photobucket

‘Cuz if you’re the impatient sort, and you remove the cookies before they’ve completely set, they’re too soft.  One or two might break while you’re trying to transfer them.  THEN what would you do?

Cool completely before storing.

I wrapped each cookie individually in plastic and froze them.  That works.

PS:  If you have a habit of wiping your hands on your pants while you’re cooking, be warned.  If you smell even faintly of peanut butter, the dog will lick your pants.  All day.  And into the evening.  And even the next time you wear those same pants.  It’s actually kind of weird.

Comments

1. Mazco34 - January 7, 2010

My mother was a Skippy buyer. What are you implying about her?

It’s been Skippy forever in my house. My father has old Skippy jars nailed to shelfing for storing all sorts of miscellaneous junk.

And I understand about the pants. I made that mistake with Doritos and the dog kept licking my knee ALL DAY.

I would never imply anything about someone’s mother! I’ve always though Skippy tasted more like peanut shells than peanuts, that’s all. But if that’s how you like your peanut butter. . .

And about the dog, it’s like “get away from me you pervy dog!” 😆


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

