jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 01.18.2010 January 18, 2010

Posted by Toy Lady in random stuff.
trackback

Photobucket

I had to make a quick run out to the herb garden this weekend, and, although I shoveled out the rosemary and thyme last weekend, I didn’t go anywhere near the oregano.

It must have sensed the recent above-freezing temperatures and revived its plans to take over the world. . . yikes!

Photobucket

Just incredible.

I mean, really?  Um. . . two bucks for the ability to DRAW A PICTURE when you’re being sarcastic?

Really?

Photobucket

Photobucket

We picked up some Extra Virgin Olive Oil, which is good, but, unfortunately, it seems that it won’t fit in the proper cupboard.

Our options seem to be: either pour some of the too-tall bottle into a smaller bottle to use in the kitchen (pain in the neck!) or store it in the only cabinet in which it will fit (above the stove – bad idea!).

(sigh)

Photobucket

Photobucket

Although I haven’t been participating in Home-Ec 101’s Fearless Fridays lately, I’ve still be following along.  Last week, Heather explored rutabagas, a vegetable new to her, and to me too.

So I picked some up at the market this weekend and have no idea what to do with them.

Rutabagas are also called “swedes.”  I’m not really sure how I feel about that, though.  Kinda strikes me as culturally insensitive, don’t you think?

Photobucket

Now this explains a lot!  Any guesses as to how long it’s going to be before they start blaming the Bush administration for this, too?

Photobucket

Photobucket

Dude.  You have not experienced a PEST until you try to de-bone two freshly-roasted chickens with a 106-pound dog underfoot.  I had to banish him from the kitchen. . . he’s still trying to figure out how far “out” he has to be to count as being “OUT,” though – before I know it, he’s back under my feet, with his tongue trying to reach the counter again!

Photobucket

Have you ever not realized how much you’ve missed something until you get it back?

Leverage is back!  And while Gina Bellman is still on maternity leave, Seven of Nine is “helping out.”

We love Leverage!

Photobucket

Photobucket

Don’t forget this week is the Third Thursday of the month!  Please feel free to join us for November’s Third Thursday event – just “borrow” a recipe from someone else’s blog and tell us about it!  I’m testing recipes for my Thanksgiving food assignment – this should be fun!

Complete details are here, and remember, the more the merrier!

Photobucket

PhotobucketAnd once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  Last week, it seems that I didn’t read one of my recipes completely when I was menu-planning, so we had to do a last-minute swap – instead of the bolognese, which would take upwards of 4 hours to cook, we pulled some burritos from the freezer and saved the day!  Meanwhile, we started the bolognese sauce over the weekend and will finish and enjoy it this week instead.  It’s all good. . .

Monday – Did I mention I’d roasted some chicken this weekend?  Yeah, well, now that we’ve boned it and made stock we have a bunch of, well, chicken to use up.  Most of it went in the freezer, we made stock, and Peeps is going to make a chicken pot pie.  The perfect Monday food, if you ask me!

Tuesday – We’re going to try the spaghetti bolognese again.    It’s mostly done now – from here, it’s just a matter of heating it back up and letting it simmer for a couple of hours, which Peeps will take care of when he gets home from work.  I am very much looking forward to it.

Wednesday – It’s swim class – which means soup night.  I found a Spicy Fava Bean Chickpea Noodle Soup recipe that looked intriguing – though we’re going to lose the noodles, I think.  And a couple of other changes. . . I’ll let you know.

Thursday – Breakfast for dinner!  We’re going to be enjoying French toast.  But not just any French toast – Eggnog French toast!  I know, I know, the holidays are over and eggnog is so . . . last decade.  But just you wait – you’ll see!

Friday – If it’s pizza night – it must be Friday!  Such a great opportunity to relax, catch up on some TV and watch the dog make a fool of himself over his Kong toy!

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. Heather Solos - January 18, 2010

Eggnog french toast sounds fabulous. Try roasting the rutabagas. Peel, cut into a large dice, toss with olive oil and whatever herbs are in your main dish. Cook at 425 or so until the outsides just start to brown and they are fork tender.

Thanks, Heather – that was kind of the direction I was thinking – there’s no veggie that can’t be improved by roasting! 😉

2. Mazco34 - January 18, 2010

Do I know how much I mIssed something? Heck yes, Burn Notice is back on Thursday!

Whew – you had me worried there for a second about just WHAT is was you’d missed. . .

And yeah, Chuck is back last week, Burn Notice and White Collar this week, and Psyche next week – yay! AND we just got the DVR mostly cleared out, too. 🙄

3. sjbraun - January 18, 2010

Okay, did I hear you say you’re testing recipes for Thanksgiving? As in, November 2010? You are way too organized!!

Oops! Looks like I copied and pasted the wrong bit of text. 😳

And THAT is just the kind of day THAT was. Thanks for the catch, S!

4. anne - January 18, 2010

Yay, I missed a couple of Third Thursdays, so you’re going back to November so I can catch up. Thanks!!!! 🙂

THAT’S what it is! I’m looking forward to seeing your cranberry sauce, Anne. . . 😉


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

