jump to navigation

Kindling a new relationship January 22, 2010

Posted by Peeps in Home, What we're reading.
trackback

I love books.  I may have mentioned that once or twice here.

As far back as I can remember, books have always been the best friends I’ve had.  They take you to interesting places and show you the most amazing things.  They even smell good.  One of the most dangerous places I’ve ever been in was here.  The smell of old paper draws me in and the next thing you know, a couple hours have gone by and I’ve spent a ridiculous amount of money on a shopping bag or two full of books.

I don’t buy all the books I read.  On the other hand, I don’t buy all the books I’d like to, but I have a bunch of them.  Which is good, as the best branch of the local library is fifteen or so minutes away.  In a direction I seldom go.  So, I generally make do with old favorites that are in the house.

But on Christmas day, I got a huge surprise.  My sweetie got me a Kindle.  I was shocked.

I’d heard of electronic books before, but I was never really interested.  The very thought of the battery running out in the middle of the last chapter was enough to put me off such things.  Besides, I’m one of those people for whom reading is much easier on paper than on a computer monitor.

But as this was a gift from my wife, I decided to give it a try.  I let it charge Christmas day, while we were out doing the family thing.  The next day, I started to play with it.

After reading the manual, I was impressed.  It can hold up to 1500 books.  1500!  All in one little gadget that weighs less than a pound.  This could be just the thing for me.

I had just started a book a couple days before.  An old Tom Clancy, one I’d read several times.  But it seemed as good a test as any.  I bought the Kindle edition from Amazon.  It appeared on my new toy in less than a minute.  Wow.  The whole 700 plus page book.  This is mighty cool.

Okay, so I have a basic idea of how to work it, and I have something to read on it.  Time for one of my favorite things.

After just a short time, I got very used to it.  It makes reading with one hand very easy, as you can turn to the next “page” with either hand.  The screen is very clear to read.  Bright light doesn’t make the screen wash out in the slightest.  And you can lay it flat on a table to read while eating without losing your place.

The battery life is even pretty awesome.  I’d been using the Kindle for a little over a week before I got a low battery warning.  Sweet!

It does take some getting used to.  Turning off my book before going to bed is not something I ever thought I’d have to do.  And while it’s light, compact gadget, there were a couple times in the past that I’d had to tell people that I will swat them with a hard cover edition of something large to make them go away.  That’s a little tougher now.  I’d hate to damage it.

It’s too bad I don’t travel any more.  A fully loaded Kindle could get a person through the longest flights.  I’d laugh at delays.  Well, maybe.

And even though not everything I’d like to get for the gadget is available for Kindle, more things are becoming available all the time.

There may not be flying cars yet.  But the Star Trek universe just keeps becoming closer to reality.  I feel like Ben Sisko reading his PADD.  Except he’s all buff and bald and stuff.  And I’m not.

Comments

1. Mazco34 - January 22, 2010

Did you finally send your beloved book carrier/cover to the retirement home?
What about that killer bookmark?
Those are a couple of things that I would miss if I bought a Kindle.

2. Peeps - January 23, 2010

Nope, I still have both the book cover and page marker. Not everything I want is available for Kindle, so I still need them. But I did get a cool sleeve to keep the Kindle in.

3. Barb - January 24, 2010

We got one for our daughter Ana, who is the fastest reader I have ever seen. She took it with her to Europe when we went and we didn’t have to slog along a thousand books. It’s an awesome device. i wish I’d used her when I was on my Evanovich binge in January. I bought all of those books and I have no intention of rereading them. I sent them on to my mom but it would have been better (and cheaper) to have gotten them on the Kindle.

I have a new post up on the Getting Healthy blog. I am still slogging away. You still in?

Peeps - January 25, 2010

It’s a very cool toy, and I’m getting to love it. And if you don’t want the Evanovitch books, I’ll be happy to take them off your hands. I read them all a couple years ago and enjoyed them.

4. Barb - January 24, 2010

Oops, I was aiming that last comment at the ToyLady.

Here I am, Barb! I’m still in – as I sit enjoying my breakfast – a pineapple-cranberry non-fat yogurt smoothie. . .

Peeps - January 25, 2010

I thought so. No big deal.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

