jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 02.08.2010 February 8, 2010

Posted by Toy Lady in random stuff.
trackback

Happy Monday!

Did we all survive that football thingy in one piece?  I thought so . . . good.

Photobucket

When I made my bi-weekly trip to the public market last weekend, I picked up a bunch of leeks.

Actually, two bunches, which really is a bunch, isn’t it?  The leeks were in bundles of three, and they were a buck a bunch – how could I pass them by?  Heck, I should have bought more than two!

So I finally cleaned them, and this time, I got smart and decided to save the dark green parts – they went into the freezer to ultimately end up in a pot of chicken stock.

Heh – I’m not so dumb, am I?

Photobucket

Photobucket

Speaking of the freezer.

The only reason I had room for the leek-leaves was that I finally couldn’t stand it anymore and cleared the freezer out above the fridge.  Stuff just ends up getting . . . shoved in there, and before you know it, you’re trying to make a fruit smoothie for breakfast, and you can’t even find your frozen bananas because of all the other junk that comes sliding out and lands on your foot.

In addition to a bunch of stuff that just got tossed, I found three packages of lasagna noodles (three!) that Peeps had brought home from work, as well as half a box of phyllo dough, two containers of alfredo sauce and a lone pie crust.  These items must be used, and used soon.  This week, or next at the latest.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Well, well, well, will you look at that!  It’s daylight and the kitty is in the land of the living!

We (try to remember to) open the kitty door when we walk the dog in the afternoon so the cat has the run of the house.

Apparently, though, she recognizes the dog’s step on the porch – and it’s time for her to do her subterranean disappearing act . . . one of these days she might find that kitty doors closed and she’ll just have to deal with the dog, that’s all.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Remember how I braised that pork belly a couple of weeks ago?  Well, I don’t know what I was thinking, but I bought a 3-pound hunk of pork belly, when all I really needed was a pound, which left me with 2 pounds of orphaned pork belly.

Fortunately, pork belly is the cut of meat that’s mostly used for bacon – and, as you know, Peeps has a fondness for bacon – so he went ahead and tried another batch of bacon.

This actually tastes more like real bacon than most of what you can buy in the store . . . I’m just sayin’.

Photobucket

PhotobucketSo last weekend, I made some Chinese stock – chicken and pork stock.

This stuff is AMAZING – sure, there was a little extra fussing with it, but ultimately, it’s probably one of the most flavorful stocks I’ve ever made – and heaven knows we had plenty of pork and chicken bones to use!

The flavors are a little different than traditional chicken stock, (I am loving star anise!) but this will be perfect with any kind of Asian cooking we want to do – I can’t wait to try a pork-noodle soup!

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  I have GOT to get the fridge and these freezers cleared out, so we’re just taking it one at a time . . . what’s got to go first.

Monday –  Well, it only makes sense to deal with the fresh produce first, right?  And since one thing we need to use is the leeks I got at the market this week, well, how about a Greek-style leek pie?  As a bonus, I’ll also use the phyllo dough that’s been in the freezer for I-don’t-remember-how-long.  Yay!

Tuesday – Another Got-To-Go thing from the freezer – Peeps periodically brings home extra sauce from work, and there are a couple of containers of alfredo sauce in the freezer that have been there for a few weeks – what say we cook up some of his homemade bacon, add some of that sauce, and toss the whole mess with some fettucine and steam some broccoli?  Yeah, I thought it sounded good too.

Wednesday – Soup night.  You know, you’ve got a bunch of leeks, and what do you do with them?  The first thing that actually comes to mind (for me, anyway) is leek and potato soup . . . and hey, what do you know, Cooking Light did an interview with Jamie Oliver last month, and they published his leek-and-potato soup recipe, and so why not?

Thursday – OK, all of our meals so far this week have been essentially meatless, and I know, if I don’t do something, I’m liable to have a rebellion on my hands. So we pulled some pork chops out of the freezer and will bread and pan-fry them – the panko-crusted pork chops are always a winner, especially with some roasted sweet potatoes and tossed salad.

Friday –  Yay, it’s pizza night!  We so look forward to the chance to kick back, and enjoy some pizza and a Kong toy.  Plus the dog loves the leftover pizza crusts in the morning!

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. Nickoshi - February 9, 2010

that is a lot of leeks… lol, and that is a cute kitty!… just wanted to say hi, im new to blogging and just bumbling around trying to find interesting people to talk to 🙂

Hi, Nikoshi, and welcome!

2. Jaz @ Odd Mom - February 10, 2010

That leek-potato soup sounds so delicious. I have a leek in the fridge that was earmarked for an onion soup. Hmm…

Hmm. . . indeed. 😉

3. judy - February 11, 2010

Good looking cat you have there lady! Thanks as always for a pic.

judy

Hey, Jude! Yeah. . . we made too much noise coming in, and she made her dash for the basement!


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

