jump to navigation

Thing #61 – The Four Seasons February 10, 2010

Posted by Toy Lady in random stuff.
trackback

When I was in high school, I was in the band.  (Big shock, right?)  I played the flute and the piccolo.  The great thing about the flute is that it works both in band and in orchestra – the bad thing is that they wouldn’t let me in jazz band.  And our (tiny) school didn’t have an orchestra – not enough interest in strings, I guess.

However, one thing I did learn in band was an appreciation for classical music.  Don’t get me wrong – I appreciated jazz, too, and still do, but there will always be a feeling of betrayal there – jazz rejected me, but classical music, that music embraced me.

Spring Equinox

And don’t even get me started on the Rock & Roll!  While I always thought some Jethro Tull was perfectly appropriate for a high school band, my band director, unfortunately, thought otherwise.

His instrument was the trumpet.  I guess brass players are like that, huh?

Summer

So it’s to be expected that, at some point, once I’ve included four seasonal photos on my 101 List, I’m gonna start thinking of Vivaldi.  After all, what says “Four Seasons” like Vivaldi, right?

I decided to take my ” 4 seasonal pictures of the same place” at the beach.

At sunrise.

Autumn

Sunrise has always been our favorite time of day, which is a pretty good thing, given our schedule, huh?

Have I ever mentioned that we were married at sunrise?  Yeah, it’s kind of cool, the stuff you can get away with when you get married at our age.

What I didn’t take into account was the fact that “sunrise” would be somewhat less spectacular when you’re facing over the water – which is north from here.

winter

But fortunately, the tree next to the trail down to the beach is a great reference point – and surprisingly, although the shots don’t seem like much of a deal individually, well, put them all together, and the difference is striking, isn’t it?

It’s amazing how things  change, and we just don’t notice.

Kind of the way it’s amazing that a rock band is actually playing classical music . . .

Comments

1. Mazco34 - February 10, 2010

Congratulations on your accomplishment!

Don’t ever complain about your photographic skills. You are very talented and have a good eye.

I love how you included the greenery to the left in the summer photo. Really warms it up (and I need that today).

BTW – tell Peeps DCF closed the office. Only the third time in 20+ years.

Why, thank you Maz, you’re far too kind. You should see how many photos were rejected, though!

So. . . how IS the weather down there? 😆

2. Melinda - February 10, 2010

and you are just picking away at that while i still don’t have it done.lol i wonder if adding a 101 to my blog would count as a 101?
these are great pictures i can see them on a scrap page with your blog from today ( to bad i can not add the music 😦 ) and them of course framing

It’s good to see you’re back to blogging, Melinda! And thank you for the kind words about the photos – I think it’s just amazing how different they are, even though they’re kind of all the same . . . I guess that was why I did it, huh?

You should go ahead and start a 101 List – why not?


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

