jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 02.15.2010 Edition February 15, 2010

Posted by Toy Lady in Musings, random stuff.
trackback

My goodness, what busy weekend!  My office is closed for Presidents’ Day, so, rather than just relax, I tried to cram a whole other weekend’s worth of “stuff” into the 3-day weekend.

And one of the things I crammed in was to make up another batch of burritos for the freezer – this time using black beans and the last of the molé pork from last fall.

Photobucket

I also shredded about a pound of  cheese to go into the burritos while Peeps was walking the dog – it’s just easier that way.  I guess I kind of made a bit of a mess – I ended up with cheese all over the place.

But oh, my, look who’s just as much of a cheese junkie as her brother the dog!  Huh.

Photobucket

Photobucket

And Peeps had to stop by his job for something real quick, and he couldn’t resist pointing out some of his on-the-way-to-work scenery for me – a pawn shop.

Oh, but not just any pawn shop – oh no!

They “BUY and SALE.”

The really sad thing?  They “sale” across the street from the library.

Photobucket

PhotobucketWe stopped by James Brown’s Place for breakfast over the weekend, which is always nice.

But it was also nice, after nearly 5 years, to see the old Donuts Delite open again.  Gonna need to stop in there one of these days. . .

Photobucket

Photobucket

And a quick reminder – don’t forget this week is the Third Thursday of the month!  Please feel free to join us for this month’s Third Thursday event – just “borrow” a recipe, or anything else you’re working on, from someone else’s blog and tell us about it!

Complete details are here, and remember, the more the merrier!

Just wait till you see what I’m doing!

Photobucket

Photobucket

So I got up the other morning, and when the dog and I came back from our walk, the dining room light wouldn’t turn on.

Yeah, that’s what you want at 5:15 in the morning, isn’t it?  So I left a note for Peeps (“What’s up with the dining room light?”) and he decided that it was probably the switch.  Poor puppy had to eat his breakfast by the light of the living room lamp for a couple of days until Peeps was able to change the light switch – fortunately, he was right and that’s all it was!

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  It occurs to me that one of the reasons I’m having trouble losing weight is that we keep cooking food I love!  I mean, what, I’m going to pass up anything we’ve got planned?  Yeah, I don’t think so. . .

Monday – We spent the better part of Sunday putting together a lasagne bolognese – using a double batch of bolognese and some of the (frozen) fresh pasta I dug out of the freezer last week.  This is going to be SO GOOD!

Tuesday – I stumbled on this recipe for roasted chicken breast a while back, which I thought looked. . . interesting.  I’ll use fresh rosemary from the garden (under the snow, it’s ALIVE!) and, since I couldn’t find hazelnuts, I’ll have to substitute something else . . . pecans, maybe?

Wednesday – Wednesday – swim class – means soup night!  We cleaned out the fridge the other day, and found some bits and pieces of stuff that were still salvageable – Peeps put together a soup with meatballs made from a bit of the ground beef/pork left from the bolognese, the rest of a quart of beef stock, some gravy left over from pot roast, and a bunch of veggies – it’s gonna be fabulous!

Thursday – Several years ago, I cut this recipe out of the paper for “lentil loaf.”  I have no idea what I was thinking, but eventually, we found ourselves with a surplus of lentils (how does that HAPPEN, anyway?) and decided to try it.  The note I made on the recipe (when we decided to keep it) says “surprisingly good.”  Check back, probably next week, and I’ll tell you all about it!

Friday – And that brings us back to pizza night.  You know, we roasted a bunch of garlic (and by “”bunch” I mean “a bunch of bulbs”) a couple of weeks ago, and that roasted garlic is absolutely delightful smeared on the pizza crust before topping. . .

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. judy - February 15, 2010

I really liked the breakfast diner bit. The food looked wonderful. Of course kitties eating cheese off the floor made me smile! Did you spill some on purpose per chance?

Good stuff as always guys. Thanks.

judy

Well. . . she was hanging around, looking hungry, so I offered her a teeny-tiny piece of cheese. . . and yeah, some got kind of scattered on the floor accidentally-on-purpose. 😉

2. Alea - February 15, 2010

Isn’t it lovely to have someone who can fix things when they break?

I am looking forward to hearing about the lentil Loaf.

Alea – yes! As it was, the poor puppy ended up with breakfast mostly in the dark for a couple of mornings, and we ate dinner in the living room one night. 😕

I’m looking forward to the lentil loaf myself – it’s been AGES since we’ve had it! Check back next week for the recipe. . .

3. anne - February 15, 2010

I love the Buy and Sale sign. 🙂 I like to look for those signs, as I’m a bit of a perfectionist when it comes to things like spelling and stuff. I have two favorites:

Years ago, the Head Dude of our company was leaving. They made a huge banner, under which all 400 employees would assemble for a farewell picture. When they got the banner from the printer, it was rolled out on the floor in our hallway. Immediately I noted that it said “Good By Bob.” When I pointed out the missing digit to the party in charge, the response was “well, the banner wasn’t long enough.” :eyeroll: The Head Dude left anyway, so I guess it really was good by Bob!

There is a large office building near us, the kind where the company name is on a large sign mounted to the building. This particular large, metal sign written in an elegant script design, says “Someone and Someone, Attorney’s at Law”. Attorney’s what??

And which attorney? Seriously, I’ve found that lawyers are especially obnoxious about punctuation. Just because an apostrophe will FIT there doesn’t mean it belongs!

And yeah, I’d guess it would be good by Bob – I’d be happy to leave too with a sign like that!

4. sjbraun - February 16, 2010

Buy and Sale – sigh, you find the best stuff 🙂
And peeping in on the comment above – I bet a major frustration in being a paralegal would involve needing to take direction from attorneys who you KNOW are less intelligent than you are … not even to mention the difference in pay.

I’m fortunate with my boss – he really is very good at what he does, but yeah, I haven’t always been so lucky. And yes, it’s still frustrating – he’s got a “thing” with commas that, in all the years I’ve been with him, I haven’t been able to break.

And the pay – yikes! I also do his billing, so, again, yeah. 🙄


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

