jump to navigation

Cooking Light on Soup Night February 17, 2010

Posted by Toy Lady in Cooking, Fattiness, Food, soupe du semaine.
trackback

Well, look at that – I made a rhyme!  Well, that was fun, wasn’t it?

You may (or may not) remember how we were going to start actually cooking stuff from the (several) food magazines to which we subscribe, à la Zach and Clay.

Photobucket

Of course, it didn’t help that we just added Food & Wine and Cooking Light to the collection.

In my defense, my niece was selling “stuff” for a school fundraiser, and my options were magazine subscriptions or, I don’t know, $27 wrapping paper?

Hello Cooking Light!

Then, I scored my $1 leeks at the public market (I should have bought all they had – the next week, they were $3!), and right about then, I stumbled upon the Jamie Oliver Leek and Potato Soup recipe in January’s Cooking Light, and, well, like that.

Photobucket

And, since someone else has already gone to the trouble of posting that recipe on Recipezaar, I won’t bother.  Just go on over there and print it out for yourself.

So we took our nice, clean leeks (2 of ’em), and I sliced them a little thinner than ½ inch.  I wasn’t sure if Peeps was going to want to ultimately puree the soup or not, so I figured smaller was easier to puree, and it was also, well, smaller if we left it chunky.

Photobucket

I also enlisted my husband to peel potatoes – the recipe called for Yukon golds, but I’d picked up some red-skinned gold potatoes at the market, and, well, once they’re peeled, who’d know the difference, right?

My potato experience has essentially been limited to “baking” and “waxy” – you start flinging specific varieties at me, and my head might explode.  It’s a potato.  Sheesh.

Photobucket

Now that the potato question is settled, I chopped the rest of the veggies – about a pound of onions, a cup each of celery and carrots, and a couple of cloves of garlic.

Did I ever mention that “Santa” brought me a new santuko knife for Christmas?  I (heart) my santuko – and it’s nice that Peeps gets a chance to use his birthday knives once in a while.

Photobucket

So anyway, we tossed all the veggies in the Dutch oven to cook in just a bit of olive oil, partially covered, until they were nice and soft – about 20 minutes.

While the veggies were cooking, we heated 3 pints of chicken stock (which would be the same as the 6 cups called for in the recipe) in the microwave.

Do you know that a quart jar won’t fit in the microwave?  That’s kind of inconvenient, wouldn’t you say?

Photobucket

Once the vegetables have softened, add the heated stock and the cubed potatoes, and bring to a boil, then reduce the heat and cook, covered, until the potatoes are done, about 10 minutes, then salt and pepper to taste.

We did decide to leave the soup “rustic” – the veggies were chopped fairly small, so it made a nice chunky soup.

Photobucket

We reheated this soup later in the week – we always like to let soup sit in the fridge for a couple of days to marry the flavors – and this was no exception.  It was full of great, homey flavors – potatoes and leeks and homemade chicken stock.  I always know when a soup is a hit by how many days I have it for lunch – if no one else will eat it, I usually end up stuck with it, but if it’s good, I might get one lunch, then it’s gone by the time I get home from work the next day.

This one was gone before I got to it for lunch, so . . . I guess it’s a keeper, huh?

Comments

1. judy - February 17, 2010

Please send my quart by Federal Express. I will be watching. As an aside. the Fed Ex man on my route looks delicious too.

jiudy

Jude! You’ve gone and shocked Peeps! 😯

I’ll, uh, keep you and the FedEx guy in mind, though, next time I make a delightful soup. . . 😉


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

