jump to navigation

Breakfast Night with Cooking Light March 9, 2010

Posted by Toy Lady in Cooking, Cooking Challenge, Cooking Light.
trackback

Another month, another magazine!

(And another bad rhyme.)

Photobucket

You will recall that Peeps and I have resolved to cook at least one recipe out of each of the cooking magazines to which we subscribe.  It’s actually a good thing – we keep looking through them and deciding to make this or that . . . one of these days.  Well, when your time frame is that nebulous, obviously, “one of these days” usually never comes.  Now we’re forcing ourselves to actually look through each magazine and choose something – then really cook it!

PhotobucketAnd really, I don’t think we should be penalized because Cooking Light published what is apparently a repeat, do you?  I mean, I understand the value of getting as much mileage as you can out of a winner!

I ought to understand it – did I ever mention that I recycled the same paper in college for 3 different classes?

Yeah, recycling – I’m green like that.

Photobucket

You know, long, long ago, before Peeps and I were married, he lived in the wilds of New Jersey.  He’d regularly fly up here to visit me – and I’d periodically drive down there to visit him.

I suspect that one of his favorite parts of visiting was the breakfasts – I’m a farm girl at heart, and I can put together a breakfast with the best of them, let me tell you!

Photobucket

But one thing I’d never tackled was whole wheat pancakes.  I mean, you know – pancakes should ideally be light, right?  And whole wheat, well, it has a reputation.  Besides being healthy and all, it does tend to weigh the baked goods down, doesn’t it?

Enter Cooking Light and their whole wheat pancakes.

Now, let me explain my philosophy of “light cooking.”

Photobucket

I am all for “saving calories” and using lower-fat versions – as long as I don’t sacrifice flavor.

Now I know, on the one hand, beggars can’t be choosers, and if I want to lose weight (which I do!), I need to be willing to make some sacrifices.

But that’s no reason to eat lousy food.   All that does is invite “cheating” and “binging” and other bad stuff – better to eat a little good food than a lot of crap.

I’m just saying.

Photobucket

It’s all about moderation.

I’ve tried several Cooking Light recipes and been quite pleased with them, on the whole, which, really, is the only reason I subscribed to the magazine.

Of course, I’m not about to make an entire meal of, um, one pancake.

I’m trying to lose a few pounds, not starve myself!

Photobucket

You know, this pancake recipe is surprisingly light for the amount of whole wheat flour.  Light AND fluffy.  It might have something to do with the extra egg white, but what do I know?

Maybe it was the baking powder or the buttermilk and baking soda, but these pancakes were actually LIGHT! and FLUFFY!

Photobucket

And, um, did I mention tasty and filling?  A single slice of bacon, a few hash browns, a teaspoon or so of butter and some real maple syrup – this is what breakfast for dinner is all about!

This may become my new go-to pancake recipe – buttermilk and whole wheat?

Where’s the bad?

Comments

1. judy - March 9, 2010

That breakfast looks SO GOOD. I can even smell the bacon! Thanks.

Hey, Jude! Definitely try the pancakes – they’re THE YUM! And Peeps just finished another slab of bacon, this time with maple sugar, and it’s even better!


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

