jump to navigation

The Sum of its Parts March 16, 2010

Posted by Toy Lady in random stuff.
trackback

Have you ever heard that expression?

The whole is more than the sum of its parts.

Of course you have – you don’t live in a cave, right?

How can such a thing be?  I mean, the nature of “whole” is the “sum” of “parts,” right?

What does that even mean?

Math is hard enough – I hate when people screw with it and make it more confusing that it is, don’t you?

Photobucket

So here’s the thing.  Peeps and I agreed that for the entire month of March, we (mostly me) would not print any new recipes from the internet.  We’re trying to work through our piles and stacks and files of existing recipes – we’ve got to either use ’em or lose ’em.

So we decided to try a recipe that one of us (probably me) printed on 12/14/2005 – and had not yet tried.

Photobucket

Oh, boy.  Barley and beans and tuna fish.

I’m actually not sure what I was thinking when I printed this recipe 4 and a half years ago.

Doesn’t it sound, um, well, healthy. That’s what it sounds like – healthy!

Photobucket

But fear not!  We may have healthy beans and sustainable tuna (tuna is sustainable, right?), but we managed to redeem ourselves with plenty of cheese.

How bad can a mess of cheddar cheese be, after all?

We’ve got the good beans, tuna and barley, right?

Photobucket

I think I’m going to invent Food Karma –  if you eat enough disgustingly healthy food, you can eat as much cheese as you want and it won’t affect your thighs.

That’s fair, right?

So anyway.

Mix all the healthy stuff together, then sprinkle with lovely, lovely cheese.

Photobucket

So let’s recap here.

We’ve got barley, beans, tuna, and cheese.

And we baked it all together.

Do we have high hopes for this?

We do not.

Yet.

The finished dish is creamy.  And cheesy.  And a little beany.  And not at all fishy.

It was amazing.

Actually – it was more than the sum of its parts – who knew?

The only thing we’d do differently would be add some black pepper – but that’s us.

This recipe will easily feed 4 – maybe 6, if you’re having salad and dessert with it.  (And if your family eats like a family of birds.)

This is definitely a pantry meal that’s worth a try – a printable version is right here – if you try it, let me know what you think!

Comments

1. sjbraun - March 16, 2010

You know, that’s the kind of dish we eat around here – my husband loves that disgustingly healthy stuff. And I … love the cheese part 🙂 Actually, I’m not sure the tuna part would go over. Anyway, I will have to print that recipe (I totally know where you’re coming from with having way too many recipes printed and stacked) and try it, or a variation thereof. Thanks!

You so cannot go wrong adding cheese! 😉

And surprisingly, you wouldn’t even actually notice the tuna – it was more creamy and cheesy than, um, tuna-y. But I’d definitely try it with cooked chicken, too. And, of course, plenty of cheese. 😆

2. anne - March 16, 2010

Hmmm. DH won’t eat canned tuna, besides the fact that we eat vegetarian. Wonder what this would be like if I just left it out? Or, I guess if I had to, I could substitute 6 oz more cheese. 😉

Actually tuna was kind of a “question mark” for us, too – but surprisingly, it did was . . . unobtrusive. We also considered using chicken in its place (which wouldn’t help you much, would it?) – hey, what about that pretend meat? The stuff they use “Not Dogs” or “Boca Burgers” or whatever that faux breakfast sausage stuff is? 😉

Of course, more cheese is never a bad thing, is it? 😀


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

