jump to navigation

March Third Thursday: No Geeks Here March 18, 2010

Posted by Toy Lady in Cooking Challenge, random stuff, Third Thursday.
trackback

Photobucket

Will you look at that – at this time last month, it was February and there were MOUNDS of snow on the ground – and look out the window now!  Does it seem like time goes by faster than it used to, or is it just me showing my age?

This month’s Third Thursday kind of took me by surprise – partly because we’ve committed not to print any new recipes from the internet this month.  Not one.  So that left me the archives to thumb through . . .

Photobucket

And I found a recipe that I printed I-don’t-know-when from a blog called What Geeks Eat.  Not that there are any geeks around here . . .

Pay no attention to the “Starfleet Academy” sticker on the back of Peeps’s Honda. It was there when he got it!  (Um, when he got it from me.)

Photobucket

So anyway, something called “crack muffins” sort of called my name on a Sunday morning.  And while we didn’t have any smoked pork jowl on hand (I wonder if the pork belly guy at the market has jowl too?), we did have some home-cured bacon that should stand in quite nicely, thank you very much.

Photobucket

So I diced a couple of thick slices of bacon and Peeps took care of browning them.  Actually, I diced about twice as much bacon as I needed, but we found a use for the rest of the diced, browned bacon, fear not!

After all, waste not want not, right?

Photobucket

While Peeps was browning bacon, I combined the dry ingredients:

  • 1½ c. flour
  • ½ c. corn meal
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp. baking soda
  • ½ tsp. salt
  • 1/4 c. shredded cheddar cheese

Photobucket

And we added the wet ingredients to the dry:

  • 3/4 c. half and half
  • 1/4 c. plain nonfat yogurt
  • 1 beaten egg
  • 2 Tbsp. maple sugar
  • the bacon grease from cooking the bacon with enough butter to measure 1/3 cup

If you’ve looked at the original recipe, you’ll note that we took a few liberties – we learned, when we made our Boeuf à la Bourguignonne about the magic that is butter and bacon fat.  And, you know, we had the bacon grease and all, so . . .well, fat is fat, and does it really matter if it’s butter or bacon?

No, I didn’t think so either.

Photobucket

So anyway, once the batter was mixed (lightly – we’re using the muffin method, man!), and the bacon stirred in, we divided it into 6 jumbo muffin tins – we could have used 12 standard muffins, but, well, I didn’t want to!  Bake at 400° for 15-18 minutes (less if you make smaller muffins) (obviously).

And while the muffins were baking (then cooling) I thought about the maple glaze.

You know, maple syrup and confectioner’s sugar seems awfully sweet, doesn’t it?  And, you know, I’d have to drag out the sifter. . .

Photobucket

How about a maple-cream cheese frosting?  Yeah, that worked. Though I could have spread it a little more . . . prettily, I guess.

And the verdict?

These muffins were good – very good.  The were your basic cornbread muffins, but they were light and moist (thanks to the yogurt) and, above all, slightly bacony!

Would we make them again?  Sure!  I do think, however, that I’d like to try the actual original glaze, though there is nothing wrong with cream cheese and maple syrup whipped together, especially when the cream cheese is really neufchatel.

If you’d like to play along, leave a comment with a link to (or description of) your Third Thursday project – tell us what you’re up to!  For loose guidelines, or if you want to check out some past Thursdays, they’re right here!

Comments

1. sjbraun - March 18, 2010

Yummm – my mouth is watering just reading about those! They sound great! I put up a post (it sneaked – snuck? – up on me as well). My cut and paste is on the blink, so just click my name to go to the blog.

I enjoy this each month!

It must be because February was all of 3 days shorter!

Here you go: chicken tacos

And thanks so much for joining in! 😀


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

