jump to navigation

You Say Potato March 24, 2010

Posted by Toy Lady in Cooking, Food, soupe du semaine.
trackback

I say SWEET!

PhotobucketNow I know this may come as something of a surprise to you, given our Scandinavian heritage(s) and all, but we’re big fans of the potato.  We love the russets and the reds and the waxies and even the Yukons – and we love the sweets, too.

That’s right.  I said sweet potatoes.

Photobucket

Now I’m not talking about the canned monstrosities that are smothered in butter and sugar and buried under marshmallows on the Thanksgiving table.  Oh no.  (Pass the insulin, please?)

I mean, come on.  They have “sweet” in their NAME – do they really need yet more sugar?  Really?

I say no.  I say Respect the Sweet Potato!

Photobucket

Anyway.  A while back (um, 5 years ago?) I happened across a Top Secret Recipes website.  This was apparently before they started offering subscriptions – the recipes were free back then.  And I stumbled on the “Soup Nazi” section.

Did you watch Seinfeld?  I didn’t – not really.  I mean, I’ve caught a few episodes here and there – but I guess I was just never hip enough to “get it.”  (For what it’s worth, I don’t get South Park, either.)

Um, yeah.

Photobucket

We’ve made the decision, for the month of March, to NOT print any new recipes from the internet – which means we’re either coming up with original creations, relying on old standbys, or wading through the several years’ worth of recipes we’ve printed to try some day and actually, you know, trying them.

Which is much harder than it sounds, let me tell you.

I mean, you clip/copy/print something that seems appealing at the time.

Then you shove it in a box/drawer/file and glance at it every so often, and it still looks like something you’d like to try – one of these days.

Photobucket

Well, I guess this was “one of these days” (not to be confused with “one of THOSE days,” of which I have all too many).

We had a bunch of sweet potatoes piling up, a bit of half-and-half left in the fridge from . . . something, the thyme in the garden was starting to come back to life, and there’s always another soup night coming up.

We roasted a mess of sweet potatoes (about 3 pounds) and let them cool enough to peel.

Photobucket

Add some water, butter, tomato sauce, half and half (just a touch), salt, pepper and thyme, and one more thing.

A kind of bizarre thing – a cup of blanched cashews.

Cashews?

Yes, cashews.

And then cook the whole mess for about an hour.

Now this is where the original recipe ended, but let’s face it – it was weird.  And kind of gross – chunks of cashew nuts and hunks of fibrous sweet potatoes.  I mean, sure, it smelled heavenly, and it tasted . . . not bad.  But, well, you know – we eat with our eyes, right?

PhotobucketSo we blended the soup in batches in Peeps’s awesome Woot Blender.

Remember, when you’re blending hot soup, it’s safety first, you know.  Never fill the blender more than half full, and always use a towel over the top of the blender.  It’ll take about 2 minutes longer, and, really, where are you going anyway?

I’m going to be honest with you here.  This soup tastes like a sweet potato in (semi) liquid form should taste.  It’s earthy and sweet, creamy and rich.  We couldn’t decide whether to garnish it with something spicy and crunchy (chipotle-seasoned croutons would be awesome here) or with something kind of crunchy and sweet (cinnamon roasted pecans maybe?), so ultimately, ambivalence won out and we did, um, no garnish at all.

And you know what?  It was still freaking amazing!

So anyway, our printable recipe, as revised from the original (ahem) Top Secret Recipe, is right here.

Comments

1. Alanna - March 25, 2010

Aiii, I love those simple recipes. And I just might have some Armanac, oh wait, it’s bourbon. 🙂

Well, you know, I hear bourbon works just as well. . . 😉


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

