jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 04.05.2010 Edition April 5, 2010

Posted by Toy Lady in random stuff, Shopping With Peeps.
trackback

I trust everyone enjoyed a lovely Easter weekend.

PhotobucketPeeps and I had breakfast at our favorite gramaticallyincorrect diner, where we saw the cutest thing.

Look at the two little doggies lying patiently in the back of the Buick, just waiting for their parents to finish breakfast!

Do you suppose we could train the Big Lug to do that – to sit patiently in the car while we enjoy a nice breakfast?

Yeah, I don’t really think so either.  Too bad, huh?

Photobucket

So how about another installment of Shopping With Peeps?

Photobucket

It was all he could do to keep me from spending $7 on a half pound of rainbow-striped pasta!  I mean, DUDE!  How Cool!

I mean, I understand that they’re just colored with beet and spinach juice, but still.

Striped pasta!

I think his boss should consider striped lasagna sheets.  Wouldn’t that just be awesome?

Photobucket

Ah, ’tis the season.

Photobucket

Picking seeds for the garden – some green beans, lettuce, spinach, chard, and fennel.  I’ve never grown fennel before.  We shall see.

Photobucket

PhotobucketPoor kitty.

She’s really mad.  She braved the kitchen – during the daylight hours! – and what happens?

That STOOPID dog comes back and starts sniffing around.  You can just tell – she may be silent, but she’s growling on the inside!  You can see it, can’t you?

Oh, no, wait a minute.

She’s growling on the outside, too!

PhotobucketYeah, she really hates the dog.

Photobucket

Photobucket

So I did some painting this weekend, and I have a question.

How do people actually paint when there’s a dog up their butt?

I no sooner got the trim painted and turned my back, when you-know-who decided that THIS would be a good place to lie down.  And roll over.

His tail is green, too.

Do you know how embarrassing it is to walk a “punk pup?”

Photobucket

PhotobucketYou know, he does have a bowl of fresh water in the house that he didn’t touch.

Fresh water with no bugs or dead leaves floating in it.

Nobody listens to me.

I don’t know – I guess outside water must just taste better.

I guess there’s no accounting for taste, huh?

Photobucket

PhotobucketYou will recall that Peeps got the cultivator attachment for his propane trimmer – and how thrilled he was about it.

Yeah, he’s less excited.  Even when it’s a cool attachment, tilling the garden is still hard work, though he did a beautiful job.

We incorporated most of the available compost, as well – a well-fertilized garden is, well, a well-fertilized garden.

And that’s a good thing!

Photobucket

And we got some early stuff planted – a row each of fennel, swiss chard, bibb lettuce and spinach.  It’s still another few weeks before we can think about the main attraction – tomatoes!

Photobucket

Photobucket

I picked up a piece of pork belly at the market last week, and Peeps has been curing it all week.

And the time has come for the cooking stage – and with the weather being what it’s been lately (um, that would be gorgeous!), Peeps dragged out the small smoker – after all, bacon is good, but smoked bacon is, well, it’s REAL BACON!

Photobucket

Ladies and gentlemen, we have REAL BACON!

Photobucket

It looks like our foxy friend from last year is back to lurking about.  I saw  something move in the shadows the other morning, then, as we walked by that particular shadow, it moved again – toward us – and I recognized the ears.

It kind of freaks me out a little – he follows us on our morning walks – just close enough for me to know he’s there, but far enough away that we can’t really get a good look at him.

I can’t help feeling a little sorry for him, though – I think he’s lonely.

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  Wow, after such a gorgeous weekend, the remainder of the week looks . . . less so.  We’ve got rain in the forecast for, essentially, the entire week.  It’s still going to be warm, just not grill weather, that’s all.   It’s all good, though.

Monday –  I cleaned out the freezer above the fridge last weekend and made a list of “stuff” that needs to get used.  First up – a single pie crust and the leftover sauce from our chicken and biscuits.  Hmmmm. . . how about recycling that, along with some random frozen veggies and maybe a biscuit topping into a pot pie?  Could work. . .

Tuesday – About a month ago, I made a huge batch of Chinese BBQ’ed pork, using a whole pork shoulder.  We stashed most of the meat in the freezer, and I’ve been DYING to make Pork Fried Rice – it’s gonna be wonderful.

Wednesday – We had a couple of other items on the “MUST GO” list – including some pasta sheets, alfredo sauce and marinara that Peeps has brought home from work.  Add that to the ricotta that we always seem to have on hand, and it’s starting to sound a lot like lasagna, isn’t it?  I thought so, anyway.

Thursday – And how about a pan of butter chicken?   We loved that so much, and we haven’t had it in so long . . . we’ll try mixing chicken breast and thighs – ya use what’s in the freezer, right?  Meanwhile, I’ve got to dig up a good naan recipe.

Friday – And it’s pizza night!  But we’ve got a bunch of ricotta in the fridge to use up, so this this week’s pizza is really going to be calzone.  That’s OK, though – that’s just as good.

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. anne - April 5, 2010

Stoopid dog. He scares the cat. And smudges the paint. Stoopid, stoopid, stoopid. And so cute, with those big brown eyes. The lunk is just irresistible, huh? I’m afraid he won’t fit in the rear window of the car.

I’m jealous of the garden. Last year I planted a bunch of veggies, and withing 24 hours, the deer had eaten everything but the zucchini. I guess they’re fussy. This year, though, I think I’ve outsmarted them. I hope to pick up my veggies this week, so if they last longer than 24 hours in the ground, I’ll be doing a happy dance.

Heh – they don’t like squash!

I think I read somewhere that deer don’t care for rosemary (Peeps suspects it might be because they taste good together) – maybe a rosemary hedgerow? At least the yard would smell nice. . .

2. Judy - April 6, 2010

Oh my Kitty! I can hear her growl all the way here. Great pictures and a great issue here. Thanks.

Thanks, Jude! You know, she must know that if she just stays quiet, he’d never even notice her. She just WANTS him to see her. 🙄

3. Leah - April 6, 2010

I am so glad we don’t have deer around here, just a vicious pack of tree rats that would tear up the garden if my ever so diligent and territorial cat would let them. But he wont, he doesn’t care for the squirrels any more then I do, but he does think they are tasty.

Wow, I can’t imagine not having deer! And as for the squirrel vermin – I’d love to imagine being without them.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

