jump to navigation

On freebies and sharp things April 16, 2010

Posted by Peeps in Cooking, Home, random stuff.
trackback

As my wife mentioned last week, we’re going to be giving away a new chef’s knife.  And I’m going to talk about my love of sharp metal.

As long as I can remember, I’ve felt great fondness for knives.  I think that my very first knife was given to me by my grandfather.  It was a huge multi-bladed thing, very much like a Swiss Army knife.  Only old.  Really old.  It had a bone grips on the outside.  And among the many its many functions, it had a fork and a spoon that folded down along the outside of the handles.

It was very heavy.  Carrying this thing around was a serious commitment.  You’d start to lean after a while.  And the weight and folding fork would work together to ruin any pocket ever devised.  But the gift meant that I was responsible enough to have a knife of my very own.  It was something.

I soon started acquiring new knives here and there as opportunity arose.  And learning about them.

Blade making is an art.  And it can be a beautiful art indeed.  Form and function coming together to form something incredible.  It’s far too complicated for me to grasp fully, but even though I can’t cast a sculpture, I can appreciate how beautiful it is.

I soon began expanding my horizons.  Swords and axes and such started making their way into my home.  I don’t want to even think about how much money I’ve spent here and other such places.  It might even rival some of the bar tabs I’ve run up over the years.

One of the many things I learned about knives and other sharp things is that they frighten most people.  A lot.  And I’m not talking about threatening people with them, either.  Just having a large sharp piece of steel in the same room makes a great many people nervous.  When I used to work for a law firm years back, I would have new swords and such delivered to work.  And I had to open them.  Just to make sure that they arrived in good condition, of course.  And suddenly people would stop bothering me.  The day my double bladed axe arrived, people left me alone for three days.

I’ve always tried to pay attention to quality.  I don’t like shoddy workmanship.  Or anything gaudy or ugly.  Tacky annoys me greatly.  Spending a lot of money on a knife seems kind of silly.  But spending less money over and over to replace crap is way sillier.

I just love them.  There is something comforting about having a knife or two on my person.  They’re primarily tools, capable of so much.  But in a pinch, they can be a big help towards ruining someone’s day.  Even though I am seldom without a knife of some sort, the days I spent money to indulge my fun are pretty much over.  Except when we need a kitchen knife.

Toys mentioned that we’ve slowly been acquiring kitchen knives from Victorinox.  They aren’t perfect.  But they’re mighty close.  They’re inexpensive and well constructed.  And the company has been making steel sharp since 1884.  I can work with that.

That being said, it’s time to give someone the chance to learn the same thing.  And the winner of a brand new chef’s knife is:

PhotobucketCommenter number 4 – Nickoshi!

We’ve contacted Nickoshi and, once she responds, we’ll forward her contact information to CSN Stores, the kind sponsors of this, our first-ever giveaway, and Nickoshi will be the proud owner of a shiny new 8-inch Victorinox Fibrox chef’s knife!

And remember, even if you didn’t win, this knife is well worth the investment – I would urge you to go ahead and order it for yourself!

Comments

1. Mazco34 - April 16, 2010

Gee, you forgot to mention how you had to buy a hard-sided rifle case to carry your newly purchased rapier and main-gouche. That sort of amused me.

You also forgot to mention when you had my personal favorite delivered – the mace. That was a fun time in the office.

Peeps - April 19, 2010

I can’t mention everything. I’d be here all day. And I start grinding my teeth when I even think about the day my mace arrived at the office.

2. Nickoshi - April 16, 2010

woooo! i’m a weinerrrrr! er, winner 🙂

My husband is into swords and knives but we have to keep them stored in the closet for now… our children (1 year old and 3 year old) are way to curious for weoponry to be displayed right now lol.

I cant wait to try the new knife, if i really really like it, i just might buy the rest of the set!

Oh yeah, you’ll have to keep stuff out of their reach for a good long time! 😀

One great thing about the Victorinox line is that they’re so reasonably priced. We’re slowly working on filling in the gaps in our cutlery one by one.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

