jump to navigation

Don’t Call Me A Hippie April 20, 2010

Posted by Toy Lady in random stuff.
trackback

Just because I like love granola, that doesn’t make me a hippie, does it?

Photobucket

And really what, exactly, constitutes a “hippie” anyway?  I mean, when I think of hippies, I think of Hanoi Jane and Birkenstocks and hemp shirts and granola.

That is SO not me.

I just like oats and nuts and honey and peanut butter, that’s all.  Nothing wrong with that.  And there’s certainly nothing political about it!

So a while back, Michael Ruhlman blogged about his apple-cinnamon granola, and I said “huh.”

He uses fruit in place of part of the fat in his granola.

Huh.  I can do that.

Photobucket

I started by slicing up three apples – I think they were Empires.  After all, we are in the Empire state, aren’t we?

Meanwhile, I also melted some honey and peanut butter; together, they equaled about 3/4 cup.

I just nuked them for a minute or so in the microwave.

Hey, what’s the point of the space program if you’re not going to use the technology, you know?

Photobucket

The apples, honey-and-peanut butter, some brown sugar (about 1/4 cup), a splash of canola oil (maybe 2 Tablespoons?) and some cinnamon, nutmeg, salt and grated ginger went into the Woot blender.

(If your blender isn’t quite so heavy-duty, you can add a little liquid to help get things moving.)

You know how we love that blender – it will pulverize a couple of apples in short order.  That’s why we love it so.

Photobucket

So while I was blending apples and other stuff, Peeps was chopping nuts for me.

These are roasted, salted mixed nuts I got in the bulk section of the supermarket – about a pound.

They’re going to get a little more roasted, but they just don’t know it.

Photobucket

So the granola.  We started with about 7 cups of your basic rolled oats – nothing fancy, again, in our case, the stuff you get in the bulk foods department of the supermarket.

Add to that your coarsely chopped nuts and about 1/4 cup of flax seed.

Flax seed is supposed to be good for you – lowers cholesterol or something.  I happen to have excellent cholesterol levels.  Probably the yogurt and granola I eat for breakfast.

Anyway.  You can also add some wheat germ if you’re so inclined.  I forgot to.

Photobucket

Once the dry stuff is stirred together, I added the blended stuff – it was almost like a sauce.

Gently stir it all together and spread it out on two half-sheet pans.

It’s not going to quite be in a single layer, but it’ll be close.

Bung it into a 300° oven, and stir it every 20-30 minutes.

Photobucket

It’ll take about an hour, hour and a half, but it’s done when the granola is slightly browned and not soggy (from the apple pulp).

Let it cool completely before storing – I put half of it into a container and the other half in a baggie in the freezer.

Here’s what you need to know:

This granola is crispier than what you may be used to – that’s OK.  I think it’s because fruit pulp replaces a good bit of fat in the recipe.

It may be a little sweeter than you expect – apples are like that.

That’s OK, though – it’s still delightfully tasty, and you can rest smugly in the knowledge that your granola is healthier than that other hippie’s granola.

