jump to navigation

It’s not that hard being green April 27, 2010

Posted by Toy Lady in random stuff.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Remember this?

Several years back, I actually tracked down what appears to be the ONE Ray Charles album that included that song. . . and I made one of my very first internet purchases.

Photobucket

My how things have changed, haven’t they?

Not the least of which is the thinking on pea soup.  Now we all know what I think of split pea soup with ham – it’s darned close to ambrosia, especially if you’re fortunate enough to have a husband with a smoker who’s not afraid to use it.

Photobucket

However.  My brother has been, um, crashing with us for a while – since he got lost first his job, then his apartment.

And Dear Brother doesn’t care for split pea soup.

Correct that – when we asked him if there was anything he didn’t like to eat, that was the one thing he said – he HATES split pea soup.

So, good hosts that we are, we went without.  After all, if you don’t like something, you don’t like it.  I can respect that.

Photobucket

And along came our current crop of cooking magazines.  We’re really working very hard to actually make use of the magazines to which we subscribe – for one thing, we’re paying good money for them.  Besides, I’m also a big fan of stepping – ever-so-slightly – outside our comfort zone.  And a good way to do that is to be presented, monthly, with a selection of recipes that we wouldn’t otherwise consider making.

Photobucket

So this month’s choices came from the May issue of Food and Wine – we each like to sit down separately with the magazine and mark recipes that appeal to us.  If we’re lucky, there will be some overlap, and we’ll choose something from that.

For instance, I was intrigued by the Pot-Roasted Eggplant recipe, but Peeps, well, he’s not such a fan of eggplant.  So I’ll get my eggplant fix some other time.

Photobucket

However, one thing we could both agree on – sweet pea soup.

Neither of us had ever had fresh pea soup – for my part, anyway, it’s always seemed like kind of a waste to turn sweet green peas into soup, especially when there are dried peas available.

But, well, that’s what the directions said to do, so that’s what we did (except we used frozen, not fresh, peas).

The peas are cooked and blended with fresh spinach.  Fresh peas aren’t as starchy as dried peas, and spinach, well, that makes anything taste, um, green, doesn’t it?

Photobucket

OK, I’m gonna be honest here – this soup was still definitely pea soup, especially with the addition of diced ham.  Yet it had a freshness of flavor that you just don’t get from dried, split peas.  And I even forgot the fresh chive garnish too – me with my chives almost ready to blossom already!

And the color – that is DEFINITELY not a shade of green you’re going to get with split peas!

It is . . .green!

Comments

1. sjbraun - April 27, 2010

Oh, my goodness – yep, that’s green! I would like to try it; the kids, I’m betting, would not.
Had to also give a commiserating “awwww!” for your comment at my place on ADHD, etc. I’m so sorry you had to go through all that mess with your son. And to think *you* would be labeled as well is just unbelievable! (well, sadly, maybe not so unbelievable. But sad, nonetheless). After going through a bit of it myself, it makes me re-think a lot of the stuff I may have thought and said when I was teaching myself …

Aw, thanks. I will admit (again) – it is a bit of a sore spot for me. 😳 I guess we were fortunate that I was as uncooperative as I was – I wouldn’t let myself (or the boy) be bullied into doing something I knew was wrong for him. This school district hated that. 🙄

2. limewire - April 30, 2010

dang fun stuff dude.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

