jump to navigation

Thing #56: I-Pod, You-Pod April 29, 2010

Posted by Toy Lady in random stuff.
Tags: ,
trackback

We all play our i-Pods!

Heh – it took me hours to come up with that!

PhotobucketSo anyway, I think I missed the whole Personal-Music-Player era.   I don’t know.  I mean, back when I was listening to AC/DC, KISS, and REO, it was on 8-track.  And as far as I know, no one carried an 8-track player around with them.

By the time the Walkman, then the Discman, came along, well, I was less than interested in wearing headphones and carrying an entire music collection with me.

I was carrying my flute, after all.  See, I was in the band.  That, and I didn’t really have a need for a portable music player anyway.  I mean, what, listen to my tunes while I was milking the cow?

Come to think of it, that wouldn’t have been a bad thing after all, would it?

PhotobucketI kind of got dragged, kicking and screaming, into the Digital Age.  I’ve still got a box full of cassettes in the attic – and not a small box, either.  Nothing to play them on, no, but you never know.

So, when I bought the Honda, I forced to convert to CDs.  Well, I say “forced,” but not really.  I still had the radio, after all.  But I bought a few CDs for those times there was no radio reception, and it was all good.  But I’m still not gonna try carrying a CD player around.  There’s nothing I own that I can’t wait until I get home to listen to, after all.

And I’m gonna be honest.

Until Peeps got me a fancy green i-Pod for Christmas, I’d never even worn a pair of “ear buds.”  And I don’t remember ever actually wearing any kind of headphones,  either, but   (and here’s a bit more honesty for you),  some of those years are something of a blur.

Photobucket

So anyway, I’m sure you’re wondering why I’m telling you these (obviously lacking) tales of my misspent youth, aren’t you?

Let’s face it.  “Getting an i-Pod” isn’t all that exciting to read about, however thrilling it might actually be in person.    And “Getting an i-Pod Four Months Ago” is, well, it’s borderline lame.

I know.

I could tell you about how (literally) five minutes after I got the i-Pod, the CD drive in my computer quit working and I ordered a new one from this online electronics store, NewEgg, and it turned out that the problem wasn’t the CD drive after all, but actually STUPID VISTA on my computer.  Or how I suddenly, out of nowhere, developed a PIMPLE inside my EAR which makes the earbuds less than comfortable.

Exciting stuff there, huh?

So I’m simply reporting that I’ve fulfilled yet another of my Things – and I’m wondering if it means anything that I’ve got four different versions of It don’t mean a thing, all by different artists, on my “Walking the Dog” playlist, and I don’t have this one?

Comments

1. Nickoshi - April 29, 2010

I remember getting my husband an ipod for his birthday a couple years ago because he kept mentioning he wanted one… to this day he has only used it once, which annoys me because he is really into music and drives me bonkers with it everyday when he gets home (we have very different tastes in music).

Peeps and I have different tastes in music, too – for SURE! While there’s some overlap there, there’s certainly some, um, what’s the opposite of overlap? That. 😉

2. anne - April 29, 2010

I’m still in the 90’s, technology-wise. Oh, wait, was that when CDs were invented? Whenever that was, that’s where I am. We don’t own any portable listening devices except our cell phones and a couple of very old Walkman style gizmos from college. I only ever listen to AM talk radio or NPR, so it seems rather a waste to have an ipod, don’tcha think?

And I’ll confess, my cell phone doesn’t have a camera. And I’m fine with that. It goes ringy-dingy and a voice comes out, that’s all I need. I’m so low maintenance!

I’m pretty sure my techie stuff does stuff I don’t even know about! My cell phone does have a camera (it was “free” when the Boy bought his a couple of years back, so. . . ) and I only just recently figured out that the camera has a flash. But I can never figure out how to use it. 🙄

3. sjbraun - May 2, 2010

I’m right there with ya. I just got an ipod (well, actually a $15 mp3 player) about 3 months ago as well. At home, I always have the radio or CD’s on. Really, i only wanted the mp3 because on car trips I am not fond of the lectures etc. my husband wants to listen to.

yeah, the earbuds are not working well for me, either. For one thing, they keep falling out of my ears (how would people jog with them??). And after awhile, even without a pimple, they make my ears hurt.

It’s funny because in some ways I have embraced technology, in others – not so much 🙂

I had to laugh – I said EXACTLY the same thing! HOW could anyone jog with those things? I was spending more time shoving them back into my ears than actually listening to them! 😆 Though it’s getting better – I’ve been using them every morning, and I’m starting to get used to fact that the earbuds don’t fit tightly – they just sort of rest in my ear. I think it’s supposed to be like that. 😕


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

