jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 05.03.2010 Edition May 3, 2010

Posted by Toy Lady in random stuff.
Tags: , ,
trackback

And another month through!  Can you believe it’s MAY already?

Photobucket

Peeps has been very helpful in getting music loaded onto my i-Pod – I can just dig out a pile of CDs, and he’s more than happy to “rip” them onto the computer, “convert” them to i-Pod format, and “synch” them with the i-Pod.

While I know how to do it, it’s just so much easier when he does it, isn’t it?

Photobucket

Photobucket

We saw a bunny on this morning’s walk.

Then Peeps and I went to the bank, and what did we see on the sidewalk?

A duck.

That’s right.  Just hanging out there, catching some rays.

A duck.

Photobucket

I’m telling you, I felt like Elmer Fudd – Duck Season!  Wabbit Season!

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

So I picked up a couple of pork bellies at the market last week – one for Peeps and one for me.  I wanted us to try something . . . different.  Peeps cured his belly with simply black pepper, and I went with an Asian-style flavor.

Both turned out completely different – and completely awesome!

We love the black pepper bacon – imagine cooking a couple of slices of diced bacon and then sauteeing greens of some sort in it!

And as for the Asian-spiced bacon, well, just say you used bits of that as a meat – and a fat! – for fried rice.

Yeah, we’re happy with both versions!

Photobucket

Photobucket

We had to brush the dog this week – he’s really been starting to shed!

Unfortunately, he really REALLY hates being brushed.  So we’ve had to, um, get creative.

I hold about a Tablespoon of peanut butter in my (closed) hand – and Peeps brushes him.  He’s so busy sliming up my hand, trying to get to the peanut butter, that he barely even notices that he’s being groomed.

Heh.  That’s why we’ve got the thumbs – we know how to use them!

Photobucket

Photobucket

One thing we had to do this weekend was attend a wedding (and the associated reception).

It was a beautiful ceremony, held in one of those historic, ornate Catholic churches.

I just have to say one thing, though, for the benefit of the person whose cell phone kept ringing.  During the communion portion of the service.

DUDE.  Just watch for lightning bolts, OK?

Photobucket

However, it was quite thoughtful that they marked the path from the wedding to the reception with colored balloons, wasn’t it?

But you know, it’s too bad that the people who actually read the sign didn’t bother to try – the doors with the balloons in front of them were, in fact, not locked.

Read the balloons, people, read the balloons!

Photobucket

Photobucket

Early one morning, we heard the distinctive “vroom” of someone showing off his Harley Davidson.

Then it just . . . stopped.

Poor guy – 8:00 on Sunday morning, and he’s gotta figure out what’s wrong with his bike, eventually pop-start it, and probably drive it home to fix it.

I guess it’s true what I’ve always heard about Harleys – ride ’em and work on ’em.

Photobucket

Our irises are starting to bloom.

Photobucket

I wish they’d all blossom together, though – we’ve got white ones, burgundy ones and these gorgeous black ones, too.

Photobucket

PhotobucketWhen I paid my bills the other day, I saw, tucked inside the trash bill, a note about Give Your Stuff Away Day – people all over the country are participating.  Go ahead and check it out.  I’m thinking of designating next Saturday as either “clean out the basement” or “clean out my dresser” day – why not?

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  We’re still working on emptying the freezer – we’re getting there!  More and more, with spring, we use the weather forecast to help us plan for the week.  There’s very little worse than planning to grill something one evening, and having a downpour!

Photobucket

Monday – We’ve got a mess of salmon in the freezer that I’d like to finish up before it goes on sale again!  If it’s not raining, we’ll simply grill it, and if it is, we’ll cook it on the stovetop.  Along with that, we’ll use some of last fall’s corn and some broccoli I picked up at the market last week.

Tuesday – Chicken was on sale this week, so since it looks like Tuesday is going to be a nice-ish evening, we’re going to grill it – just a little olive oil, salt and pepper, then saute some broccoli rabe (probably with a little pepper-bacon!) and some stir-fried carrots and parsnips.  You see why we’re keeping the chicken simple?

Wednesday – On what appears to be the best day of the week, we’re going to grill Everything Bagel Crusted Pork Tenderloin, an “extra” online recipe from this month’s  Cook’s Country. THIS is why we’re working so hard to actually USE these magazines to which we subscribe!  Yum!

Thursday – If Wednesday is going to be the best-weather evening, it looks like Thursday is going to be the worst – so we’re actually going back to Food & Wine for a second recipe this month – a simple Bucatini all’Amatriciana based on a dish in one of Mario Batali’s restaurants –  Peeps brought home some marinara from work (how lazy am I?), and that should do just fine.

Friday – And it’s pizza night!  Isn’t that the best way to spend a Friday night?

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. anne - May 3, 2010

A duck. I saw a duck somewhere odd recently, too. Now, where was that?? I also had to stop for a pigeon walking across the road. He didn’t fly away as I got closer, just continued to walk. Pigeon 1 – Jeep 0.

You know what else does that? Skunks. They just take their sweet old time waddling along, almost daring you hurry them along. They know no one is going to want to run the down. 🙄

2. Leah - May 6, 2010

And again, I am envious of the veggies you have access too. Not one store carries Broccoli Rabe around here, and I have been dying to try it!

Hey, Leah! We are very fortunate to have the public market available to us here – though you might be able to find broccoli rabe in season? Maybe by a different name – rappini maybe?

Leah - May 6, 2010

nope 😦 And our farmer’s markets aren’t open yet though I didn’t see it last year, maybe someone will suprise me this year. I am going to look for some seeds though, we can grow broccoli and kalarobe around here so I should be able to grow broccoli rabe right?

I’ll bet you could – Burpee has seeds, and it looks like Amazon does, too. Certainly worth a try! I just planted fennel bulbs for the first time ever this year.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

